Rainy Day Music - The Jayhawks
Rainy Day Music Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh album for the Minnesota alt-country outfit features a smaller-than-usual lineup of songwriter/vocalist Gary Louris, bassist Marc Perlman and drummer Tim O'Reagan, joined by new guitarist Stephen McCarthy. Matthew Sweet and Jakob Dylan guest.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. With loads of acoustic guitars and the Jayhawks' winsome country harmonies, this album looks back to the sound of Crosby, Stills & Nash.
  2. To long-time Jayhawks fans, the new album -- almost entirely acoustic -- is a welcome return to form.
  3. 80
    It's all acoustic guitars, rich jangling melodies and heavenly harmonies. [May 2003, p.102]
  4. 70
    Louris' vision is still pretty much stuck in 1992. [#58, p.94]
  5. 70
    A gorgeous, streamlined piece of acoustic Americana, beautiful and fully realized. [May 2003, p.120]
  6. The problem with this kind of record is not that it’s hard to find fault with, but that it’s hard to get excited about.
  7. The first six tracks are all vintage Louris gems -- trembling and honest, with warm melodies and hooks for days. Unfortunately, the album stumbles in the second half.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. LoriJ
    Jul 21, 2003
    10
    I am completely blown away by the beauty and honesty of this album. I can't stop listenning to it!
  2. pablor
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    superb album full of brillant songs. Ican´t stop listenning to it!
  3. MikeH
    Apr 29, 2003
    9
    When I first heard this album a week ago, i liked it. I thought it was a little on the mellow side. I cant stop listening to it! Each song When I first heard this album a week ago, i liked it. I thought it was a little on the mellow side. I cant stop listening to it! Each song holds a poetic or melodic treasure. It hit me the same way the first counting crows album did. I would like to see a second album released soon called "save it for a sunny day" and let Gary go crazy on that Gibson like everyone knows he can! Expand
  4. ricocc
    Aug 12, 2007
    9
    An underrated album by all of the so called "music critics". While there may be other albums by the band with some better songs, this is An underrated album by all of the so called "music critics". While there may be other albums by the band with some better songs, this is definitely the Jayhawks' best from top to bottom. Very catchy, very melodic, very good harmonies and very addicting! Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    A very good album by Alternative Country and Pop-Rock band "The Jayhawks". In this album, the electric guitars, soundscapes and keyboardsA very good album by Alternative Country and Pop-Rock band "The Jayhawks". In this album, the electric guitars, soundscapes and keyboards hardly ever appear and the acoustic guitar becomes the lead instrument. Some very good songs like "Angelyne", "Save it for a rainy day" or Tim O'Reagan's "Tailspin" (or should we say Bob Dylan's) and other incomplete and even boring songs like "All the right reasons". Yes, it isn't as strong as the country-rock "Tomorrow the Green Grass" or the psychedelic "Sound of lies" but all Jayhawk, pop or acoustic rock fans should have a listen. ps: they have rejoined so I suggest you go and see them on their shows! Collapse
  6. IainT
    Jun 6, 2003
    7
    It's good,you can tell gary Louris' honesty and hooks a mile off. It's not as satisfying as Smile however, after that anyhting It's good,you can tell gary Louris' honesty and hooks a mile off. It's not as satisfying as Smile however, after that anyhting may be a bit a bit anticlimatic. Expand
  7. Blarfy
    Oct 1, 2005
    5
    Some nice tracks. but weighed down with lots of poor quality. Brilliantly average.

See all 13 User Reviews