User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeyB.
    Oct 25, 2007
    10
    A true masterpiece. This sements Krug as the most talented songwriter of his generation.
  2. AllanC.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    Simple amazing. Innovative, addictive and definitely should be considered best of 2007. I can understand if someone doesn't like it but this album is one of kind.
  3. T.Speaker
    Nov 10, 2007
    9
    I'll never understand the 76. This is such an ambitious, complex, coherent and fulfilling record -- it sets out to be an epic masterpiece and (mostly) succeeds. How "Shut Up I Am Dreaming" earned more praise is forever beyond me.
  4. Delboy
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    Spencer Krug is one talented guy. As a big Wolf Parade fan, this side project for Krug is top quality. Is their no end to his brilliance???
  5. ChrisB
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    They really need to remove Alternative Press from Metacritic. I think that magazine must be run by immature, testosterone-driven, maniacal, intellectually-challenged teenage boys who give 10s to bland, boring, whiny shit and throw out interesting, colorful, and intelligent music.
  6. Keane
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Brilliant stuff.
  7. SeanJ.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    The very best album of 2007. Krug cements his position as the best songwriter in the world with this release. Few more of these and he'll be shooting for legendary status. Very dismayed by the metacritic score though. It's as though a few writers who didn't give it a proper chance were enough to drag the score down. There's no doubt that Krug is a bit of a polarizing The very best album of 2007. Krug cements his position as the best songwriter in the world with this release. Few more of these and he'll be shooting for legendary status. Very dismayed by the metacritic score though. It's as though a few writers who didn't give it a proper chance were enough to drag the score down. There's no doubt that Krug is a bit of a polarizing figure, but like the Stylus review says, for those of us that are Krugian converts, this is easily one of the best albums of the 00s. Couldn't recommend it enough. Expand
  8. ToddW.
    Oct 25, 2007
    5
    What? Another Spencer Krug side project offering? I could have had a V-8! Spence, enough with the Frog Eyes, Sunset Rubdown, et al. Time to get back on the Wolf Parade.
  9. BrianH
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Album of the Year. I'll admit it's not an album for everyone. Sunset Rubdown's first release took a long time to sink in but I was never bored with it. As a super fan currently I couldn't have dreamed a better album than Random Spirit Lover. Simply amazing stuff that I'll never stop admiring. Spencer Krug is an important artist to be watched and experienced. Cath Album of the Year. I'll admit it's not an album for everyone. Sunset Rubdown's first release took a long time to sink in but I was never bored with it. As a super fan currently I couldn't have dreamed a better album than Random Spirit Lover. Simply amazing stuff that I'll never stop admiring. Spencer Krug is an important artist to be watched and experienced. Cath this band live if you can. Great stuff and a side project no more. Expand
  10. JustinB.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    wow! this is a great album. you have to listen to it 20 times before you can possibly understand all that is going on with this album. better which each listen, like most of krug's work.
  11. RS
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year. Haters will hate when they know deep down Krug is a better songwriter than their precious simple-minded favourites. But then again, there is nothing wrong with simplicity when done write either.
  12. David
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Poor Sunset Rubdown, they will never get the recognition they obviously deserve. Spencer Krug will always divide audiences due to the fact that he records his "dense" melodies in lo fidelity. Sometimes its a bit to take in all at once, but for those of us that have a little patience these songs soon reveal their true beauty.
  13. NadirtL.
    Oct 17, 2007
    10
    Anytime you have a piece of art that creates so many varied positive interpretations and understandings of it, I think you end up running the risk of potentially producing something that reaches heights reserved only for perhaps ceiling tiles of stadiums and shrines. You've never heard a song like Mending in your life, or like Courtesan, Peir, Taming, Trumpet... One of if not the Anytime you have a piece of art that creates so many varied positive interpretations and understandings of it, I think you end up running the risk of potentially producing something that reaches heights reserved only for perhaps ceiling tiles of stadiums and shrines. You've never heard a song like Mending in your life, or like Courtesan, Peir, Taming, Trumpet... One of if not the best albums released this year by arguably the best musician of our time... Expand
  14. ChrisD.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Incredible. A classic.
  15. bryans.
    Oct 23, 2007
    9
    in one song you hear more new and exciting melodies and hooks than most entire albums offer. this album is dizzying at first, but after a few listens your mind catches up to your ears and is deeply rewarded. props also to the BAND, about whom not enough credit has been given. but of course, this is spencer's vehicle, and he redlines it every chance he gets. another dense, cryptic, in one song you hear more new and exciting melodies and hooks than most entire albums offer. this album is dizzying at first, but after a few listens your mind catches up to your ears and is deeply rewarded. props also to the BAND, about whom not enough credit has been given. but of course, this is spencer's vehicle, and he redlines it every chance he gets. another dense, cryptic, dynamic, spooky and cathartic masterpiece from a precocious songwriter still exploring his craft with the enthusiasm and pasion of a child. Expand
  16. GuyH
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Anyone who posted a negative comment after less than 10 listens is completely missing the point of this music. This is not a pop record. Strangely I think the album runs almost in reverse quality order - I really rate the last 5 songs! Complex but perseverance pays.
  17. BrandonD.
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    A very worthy follow up to a fantastic album. Where Shut Up... was a compilation of fantastic songs, this is a fantastic record.
  18. matta.
    Oct 15, 2007
    7
    This is a pretty fair metacritic rating. Cokemachineglow's review is the most accurate, while Stylus and Alternative Press were both pretty off (although the Alternative Press comment about the album occasionally being brilliant but seeminly by accident is right-on). On this album is just feels like Krug has been negatively influenced by Frog Eyes bandmate Cary Mercer. Several songs This is a pretty fair metacritic rating. Cokemachineglow's review is the most accurate, while Stylus and Alternative Press were both pretty off (although the Alternative Press comment about the album occasionally being brilliant but seeminly by accident is right-on). On this album is just feels like Krug has been negatively influenced by Frog Eyes bandmate Cary Mercer. Several songs are pretty aimless and not in a "The Men Are Called Horsemen There"-good kind of way. That said there are some great moments, just not nearly as many as were on last year's wonderful "Shut Up" and not nearly as good as what Krug has given us in the past, and what he is capable of. Expand
  19. RobertD
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Every song on this album makes all the other songs that much better. this is an absolutely timeless piece of art. krug is king of the music world in my opinion.
  20. ChristianP.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Huge achievement for indie rock. bold, brave, daring, and dense. Keep listening.
  21. JimmyF
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    76?! Are you kidding me? This is not only the greatest release I've heard all year, it's one of the best albums I've ever heard. These critics need to pull their heads out of their arses long enough to let this album sink in. This isnt a record you play at a dance party, you need to sit down and absorb it track by track. Brilliant!
  22. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    I must say that it has been a long road for me to finally come around listening to Sunset Rubdown (and Wolf Parade for that matter), and I must say I am very impressed. This album is a beast to challenge no doubt. It is lengthy, perhaps a bit "proggy" in its pace anyhow, and downright complex and swirling for the most part. Its just amazing to me that heading into my twelfth or so listenI must say that it has been a long road for me to finally come around listening to Sunset Rubdown (and Wolf Parade for that matter), and I must say I am very impressed. This album is a beast to challenge no doubt. It is lengthy, perhaps a bit "proggy" in its pace anyhow, and downright complex and swirling for the most part. Its just amazing to me that heading into my twelfth or so listen there is still so much to uncover here, both in terms of melodies and downright amazing musicianship. Spencer Krug, after years of distant, uneducated, and vague disdain of his work, I can now proudly admit myself a convert. He's a brilliant songwriter, composer, etc...and this album is downright addicting and intoxicating if given the proper time and patience. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. With twelve songs running just about an hour in length, Random Spirit Lover really starts to wear out its welcome during the latter third to quarter. Fans of their past work will definitely find lots to love here, and they will likely gain a few converts, but I still wish they'd focus a bit more.
  2. It bears all the signs of an artistic statement, stretching for meaning even as it reconstitutes and tears at the corners of its component definitions. It is both complete and incomplete; logical and wayward; good and, yeah, bad.
  3. As with so many of rock's finer moments, the beauty’s in the overreach, and while newcomers to Krug’s idiosyncratic style may find it easier to warm to the more accessible leanings of the Wolf Parade record, for everyone else, this is essential stuff.