R.A.P. Music Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth album for Atlanta rapper Killer Mike was produced by El-P and includes guest appearances from Bun B, T.I., Scar, Emily Panic, and Trouble.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. May 18, 2012
    100
    With R.A.P. Music he's added a must-hear chapter to the hip-hop bible.
  2. May 17, 2012
    90
    It's his finest work yet, which is saying something, and the kind of record that will resonate for years not just because it's reveres history, but because it understands it and isn't afraid to demand answers from it.
  3. May 24, 2012
    90
    R.A.P. Music, a few slightly faulty hooks aside, is a definitive statement from Mike and a legacy changer for El-P.
  4. May 17, 2012
    80
    Killer Mike is the Jäger shot of rap: efficient, acrid and totally devastating.
  5. Aug 2, 2012
    80
    An inspired hook-up that brings out the best in both contributors [Killer Mike and El-P].[Aug 2012, p.109]
  6. Aug 22, 2012
    70
    El-P's production hand never disappoints and is possibly one of the project's strongest selling points. [#252, p.91]
  7. 50
    It's a set of two halves whose hands won't hold.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. May 27, 2012
    10
    THIS DESTROYS MAINSTREAM HIP HOP !!!!!!!!!!!! An amazing album! full of raw energy and politically charged lyrics. My fav track is def reganTHIS DESTROYS MAINSTREAM HIP HOP !!!!!!!!!!!! An amazing album! full of raw energy and politically charged lyrics. My fav track is def regan it's def the best song of 2012 so far. Actually this and el-p''s cancer for cure are the two best albums out right now,as far as I know. Buy it because if you don't you're missing out on great new music, and that's somethong you never want to do, because this is your time and era and you have to live in it. Collapse
  2. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    "ShumalumaDumaluma ShumalumaDumaluma even when I ain't sayin' sh*t got AK wordplay might put a pause in yo life just like a comma, B*tch.""ShumalumaDumaluma ShumalumaDumaluma even when I ain't sayin' sh*t got AK wordplay might put a pause in yo life just like a comma, B*tch."

    Very good album
    Expand
  3. May 25, 2012
    10
    First off, I'd like to state that NME can SMD (50, really?!)... If you're not sure what that means, just think it through. This album isFirst off, I'd like to state that NME can SMD (50, really?!)... If you're not sure what that means, just think it through. This album is phenomenal! Definitely the best rap album of the year, so far. Thank the sweet lord above for teaming Mike and El-P up. It seems they were meant to be together. This is where future and past collide. Expand
  4. May 18, 2012
    10
    I've heard of Killer Mike before this album, but had never listened to him knowingly...from that POV this album is remarkable. It feelsI've heard of Killer Mike before this album, but had never listened to him knowingly...from that POV this album is remarkable. It feels nostalgic and fresh at the same time. Heavy beats, sharp lyrics with gigantic flow, and an admirable conscience make this album the must hear of year for me so far in 2012. Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    An album tht for me at least, came way out of left field. I'm not the type of man to say that maainstream rap is dead and underfground albumsAn album tht for me at least, came way out of left field. I'm not the type of man to say that maainstream rap is dead and underfground albums are the saving grace of modern rap albums. But this is a **** brilliant album which is able to pump you up with classic rap brags and challenges on bigbeast but also generally make one feel the intense paranoia that big mike seems to feel on tracks such as regan is quite scary and makes you think. It's hard not to believe the convincing phrases that mike turns, It's legita fantastic 21st century undergroupound rap album Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I did not feel like a style from the 80's with great Public Enemy. The production is so fantastic to do almost envy of Dr. Dre, now remainedI did not feel like a style from the 80's with great Public Enemy. The production is so fantastic to do almost envy of Dr. Dre, now remained in prehistory. Killer Mike is increasingly becoming one of the greatest exponents of the genre thanks to his ability to interpret an album excellently produced by El-P. This album is proof that rap is not dead and probably a masterpiece that will be remembered for years. Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    7
    If you are looking for Southern Hip-Hop it is not here. This album has a very generic show to it, however me being a hip-hop aficionado, thisIf you are looking for Southern Hip-Hop it is not here. This album has a very generic show to it, however me being a hip-hop aficionado, this can work for that hardcore head bobbing experience. Also lyrically it was pretty good too so overall decent album. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.
  2. 2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2012
    Over the next two months (as we do every year), we'll collect the individual year-end Top Ten lists published by over 100 major music critics, websites, and other publications. Check back daily, as we'll update the overall standings whenever new lists are published.
  3. Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2012 So Far

    Midyear Report: The Best Albums of 2012 So Far Image
    Published: July 5, 2012
    With half of 2012 already in the books, we take a look at the best and worst albums released so far this year.
  4. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 31, 2012
    Looking for some good new music? We round up the best-reviewed albums of the past month, a list that includes new releases from Killer Mike, El-P, Saint Etienne, The Walkmen, and more. You can also listen to most of May's best albums in their entirety.