• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Jun 13, 2006
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexC
    Apr 10, 2007
    8
    I hate how critics always have to compare everything. I think comparing "Rather Ripped" to "Daydream Nation" is stupid. "Rather Ripped" is simply an excellent record, no need to compare Sonic Youth to themselves. How about instead compare "Rather Ripped" to other bands today.
  2. gregor
    Jun 26, 2006
    9
    testing at first, but all in all, awesome to the highest extent, sonic youth have found a new way to create music.
  3. ilichd
    Jul 4, 2006
    10
    sonic youth es una de las mejores bandas de todos los tiempos y este disco no hace más que engrosar su rica discografia que ya data de hace 25 años.
  4. nickw
    Jun 15, 2006
    8
    very strong considering that i'm still partial to the psychedelia of 'nurse'. however, it is a small step up in terms of overall album quality--and i'm always happy if they do anything other than what could be comparable to the drudgery of thier late nineties work: 'leaves' and 'nyc ghosts'--arty, but slow and lifeless.
  5. spence
    Jun 16, 2006
    9
    I'm not hearing the "Daydream Nation" comparisons, but def in the same vein as Murray Street and Sonic Nurse less the 3 minute guitar freak-outs and texture.
  6. CaptainWacky
    Jun 25, 2006
    8
    Sonic Youth's ass has aged like fine wine. Compare and contrast: Frank Black's new album.
  7. RodolfoS
    Jun 27, 2006
    9
    El mejor disco de Sonic Youth en lo que va de la decada
  8. ken
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    isn't it amazing how a collection of "good and great songs" from Sonic Youth could only garner a 60 rating from some people? either that's a testament to how amazing Sonic Youth's best stuff is, or it's just an idiot who is always going to compare Sonic Youth's latest stuff with EVOL, Sister, and Daydream Nation, nevermind the fact that they're all pushing or isn't it amazing how a collection of "good and great songs" from Sonic Youth could only garner a 60 rating from some people? either that's a testament to how amazing Sonic Youth's best stuff is, or it's just an idiot who is always going to compare Sonic Youth's latest stuff with EVOL, Sister, and Daydream Nation, nevermind the fact that they're all pushing or way over 50 and are still churning out great music. If that's only worth a 60 to you, then Sonic Youth will never make another album that'll satisfy you. Enjoy Rather Ripped for what it is, not for what it isn't. It's a great rock record. That's all that matters. Expand
  9. jyotirmayad
    Jul 4, 2006
    7
    It's a pleasant album, but it falls flat in places where it should soar.
  10. kellyw.
    Jun 13, 2006
    7
    A workmate of mine used to fantasize about the possibility of Michael Stipe writting lyrics for Sonic Youth (and S.Y. writting the music for R.E.M.). Every Sonic Youth album I hear in my adult years I yearn for the same scenario. "Which comes first...the music or the words?"
  11. Jo
    Jun 13, 2006
    8
    Not as good as Murry Street, slightly better than Sonic Nurse... Goes often back to the Daydream Nation era, but a lot poppier... Love songs like Reena, Sleeping Around (= vintage Sonic Youth, Dirty-era) and The Neutral... definitely not their best but overall another very good effort by one of the best bands still around
  12. sebastianjoykill
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    The concept is brillant, the new loud is quiet, the new unpop is poppy. Ripping sounds and riffs from early influencial pop bands and recreating them into new material with very personal themes which all at once gain a level of the personal and makes it universal; that is the goal of a true artist in any medium and to do this on their 15th album is genius and to make it enjoyable even The concept is brillant, the new loud is quiet, the new unpop is poppy. Ripping sounds and riffs from early influencial pop bands and recreating them into new material with very personal themes which all at once gain a level of the personal and makes it universal; that is the goal of a true artist in any medium and to do this on their 15th album is genius and to make it enjoyable even more so. This album is the perfect summer album and will be listened to for years from now. Classic. Expand
  13. NickK
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    It's SO satisfying to know that an old faithful like Sonic Youth is still capable of pure genius. This album, their 20th, is the definition of persistence. And DAMN is it a lesson well delivered! What a great surprise.... Thanks a lot.
  14. J.R.
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    Another great album in the Sonic's cannon. This is one for those that wouldn't normally get into this band's long expiremental jams since everything is laid out tight and concise this time around. Nice melodies and great tight playing - and just enough of that "otherworldliness" that the group is justifiably famous for. One of the best albums of 2006.
  15. DanF
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    This album is brilliant! I'd compare my introduction to Sonic Youth to what I wanted my introduction to Radiohead to be like. I started with Radiohead when I was 9 and it wasn't ever exciting like it should have been. Oh, to be virgin to Radiohead again! But with Sonic Youth, I've only barely listened to Sonic Nurse and Daydream Nation, so listening to Rather Ripped has This album is brilliant! I'd compare my introduction to Sonic Youth to what I wanted my introduction to Radiohead to be like. I started with Radiohead when I was 9 and it wasn't ever exciting like it should have been. Oh, to be virgin to Radiohead again! But with Sonic Youth, I've only barely listened to Sonic Nurse and Daydream Nation, so listening to Rather Ripped has been the best thing of the year for me. It kills Destroyer, Islands, anything else that came out and I doubt that anything will be able to top it. For a first timer, this album is amazing, so to knock it for not matching their previous super trio is ridiculous. Expand
  16. MatthewB
    Jul 5, 2006
    9
    Rather Ripped is amazing. I saw them live last week and they played the entire album, minus "Sleeping Around." Whoa. Sounded AWESOME. Spin really is grasping at straws these days, isn't it? I wonder what genius reviewer they hired who thinks giving a universally-praised Sonic Youth album a bad review would make them seem "relevant"?
  17. JohnO
    Jan 11, 2007
    8
    Yes! been waiting for SY to release an album like this for a while. Its well up there with Goo, Daydream & Dirty. Go find it people.
  18. DavidH.
    Oct 18, 2007
    8
    Compulsively listenable with a far more subtle quality to the arrangements and an altogether more organic feel than its predecessor; the ambitious, but inconsistent Sonic Nurse. Sonic Youth sound more confident than they have ever been since Daydream Nation, I'm not kidding. Having accepted their arrival into middle age, Kim and particularly Thurston no longer sound as if they have Compulsively listenable with a far more subtle quality to the arrangements and an altogether more organic feel than its predecessor; the ambitious, but inconsistent Sonic Nurse. Sonic Youth sound more confident than they have ever been since Daydream Nation, I'm not kidding. Having accepted their arrival into middle age, Kim and particularly Thurston no longer sound as if they have any hangups about still trying to sound like college kids anymore. From Goo up until Sonic Nurse, there has always something of the grunge era to Sonic Youth. Though these albums had standout tracks and they maintained a willingness to give us complex song structures, a sense of genuine sonic experimentation and , by turn, authenticity had been missing from their music. Although Rather Ripped could never be mistaken for anything leftfield (the exhilarating noise of "Helen Ljungberg" aside), it's unique among SY's discography. Though they might be accused of not trying very hard, they don't need to. It's not their most fun album, but hey, they're taking life at a different pace now and while Rather Ripped falls way short of being a classic, it manages to be both dignified and consistently enjoyable. Roll on the next album. Expand
  19. MikeC
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    This album made me very happy. Personally, I think it's their best since Washing Machine, even though I enjoy pretty much everything they put out. They continue to be the band everyone wishes they were in. IMHO, You can't get any cooler than Sonic Youth.
  20. Joe
    May 24, 2009
    4
    Hm, don't get me wrong. Sonic Youth is my favourite band, but this album just isn't that good. I find it pretty boring, and their worst album to date.
  21. djm
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    Yes, Sonic Youth is still good. I am giving this only an 8 because it is obviously not in the upper-ech of Daydream and Dirty, and I think that there are a couple of missteps (ie Rapture) that put it below Nurse and Murray. So it's about as good as Leaves. So yes, any other band this is a 9, but solely for differentiating between SY albums, it's an 8.
  22. DanM
    Jun 12, 2006
    7
    Rather Ripped comes off like a less dynamic version of Murray St & Sonic Nurse. I agree with Pitchfork that it is a grower of an album, and look forward to its long-term viability. Lots of Kim's songs. Pretty good overall.
  23. Bryan
    Jun 14, 2006
    10
    Near the top of my list of the best albums of 2006. This is a terrific album and a really great accomplishment for a band like Sonic Youth who has relied so much on noise and feedback in the past. Rather Ripped contains plenty of noise, but with this album Sonic Youth have fit their guitar freakouts into 3 or 4 minute pop songs. The results are frequently quite beautiful. As many of the Near the top of my list of the best albums of 2006. This is a terrific album and a really great accomplishment for a band like Sonic Youth who has relied so much on noise and feedback in the past. Rather Ripped contains plenty of noise, but with this album Sonic Youth have fit their guitar freakouts into 3 or 4 minute pop songs. The results are frequently quite beautiful. As many of the reviews have stated, the Kim songs are really great. "Incinerate" and "Do You Believe in Rapture?" are also two of my favorites. Overall, a terrific album and quite impressive when you consider the string of great albums Sonic Youth has put together starting with Murray Street. Expand
  24. MattD.
    Jun 21, 2006
    8
    It's rockin' Sonic Youth. Sometimes a bit like older R.E.M. I'm an open-minded listener, and the user review that said Scott Walker shouldn't be listened to by me is just plain wrong - I just don't like Scott Walker. Sonic Youth's Rather Ripped is much better if you want solid alternative that's not bad art.
  25. C.R.
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    Spin is pathetic. Nobody reads that mag anymore and they're trying to draw attention by giving this album a bad review because: 1. They're a bunch of old dudes who will never be able to relive their Sonic Youth early days. 2. They're too busy giving great reviews to the likes of Britney and boy bands.
  26. xavir
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    The 1st half is amazingly straight, austere and simple. Unexpectedly, the V.U. appears on "Rapture", Ramones' basis and Blondie's melody on "Waste"; Thurston sings beautifully on "Incinerate": They sound free, as if they don't have to prove anything. On the 2nd part they honor themselves (sounds from Mote, Sweet shine, Rain on tin or Stones are here). Another great album.
  27. StevenG
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    Yet another fantastic album by Sonic Youth! Whether you are a long-time fan, or just getting into their music, this is an essential album from one of the world's most tireless and important bands.
  28. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    8
    While not up to the standards they set on Teenage Nation (1988), Goo (1990), Dirty (1992), or Experimental Jet Set, Trash & No Star (1994), it nonetheless comes close, which is saying alot, considering the forementioned albums rank among the greatest ever released.
  29. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    For a group whose reputation has long rested on tremendous risk-taking, to make a risk-averse album can be itself risky: it stands to be denigrated as dull and half-assed by some critics who think that innovation can only go in one directionâ
  30. Jan 28, 2012
    8
    Rather ripped is a beautiful album that can still pack a punch. Every song is very beautiful and Incinerate could be the song of the decade. Sonic Youth is one of the only bands that can be thirty years old, but still have more life then most bands debut albums.
  31. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    I don't expect from Sonics repeating any of their hits like Daydream Nation or Washing Machine on this album. This all has been said and shut. This is just a compilation of really well-crafted *songs* (pretty much an innovation in Sonic Youth's music) with their old spice.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. It seems to complete a circle, to contain something of everything the band has attempted over the years.
  2. It's the arresting delicacy of the quieter, dreamier tunes that'll really rip up your emotions.
  3. Blender
    60
    Their songiest record in more than a decade. [Jun 2006, p.145]