Rave Age - Vitalic
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    70
    At times, Rave Age feels like it's missing some of the spark of Vitalic's previous work, but Arbez manages to pull off a lot of changes on this album while retaining enough of his playful atmosphere and kinetic rhythms to keep fans engaged.
  2. Rave Age is an awkward half-step in a couple directions for Vitalic. It's texturally half-baked and predictable.
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    60
    While there certainly are some massive tunes in here, there are too many other instances that make you wonder what might have been.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    60
    For whilst Rave Age isn't as bad a set of tunes as the title would have you believe, it is undoubtedly more of the same yet less of a coherent album.
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    60
    For a man who was once so adept at innovation and seeking new creative paths much of Rave Age is a disappointment, the sound of a man content of tread over old ground.
  6. Vitalic's third album retreads the same gleefully maximal path as the records that came before it.
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    47
    Rave Age makes you wish you were listening to other songs.
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    60
    Arbez keeps things interesting by twisting the formula. [Jan 2013, p.113]
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    The french producer, Pascal Arbez, always brings some freshness to electronic music. This third album is different if you compare with his first or second work, but that's exactly what making music is about: to make new sounds.

    With less vocoder and more natural voices, a touch of pop, disco, and the soul of a raver, we got an amazing production from head to toe. Give a few listens and it will definitely find a place in your heart.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    Vitalic is one of the most underrated music artists i have ever come across. Hardly anyone i know has heard any of his music, but the people who i have shown his music to have become instant fans. I have not met a single person yet who does not like his music and he is my one of my favourite current artists. Vitalics third album is different to his first two works, but the changes are not unpleasant ones. The variety of songs are impressive and i am personally fond of No More Sleep, Lucky Star, Under Your Sun and Next I'm Ready. It is a Fantastic album, i would have given it a 9.5 if the ratings sytem allowed it. Full Review »