Reincarnated - Snoop Lion
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 28
  2. Negative: 13 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    A whole new snoop, singing rather than rapping, reggae sounds instead of hip hop beats, and yet the masterclass artist has pulled it off magnificently.
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    0
    Much like will.i.am's atrocious solo LP "#willpower", Snoop Dog has failed to pretend. He's failed to pretend to be someone else. You know, I thought It was that artists should be original, and experimental on building their own sound, but most mainstream pop and hip hop is trying to knock off as many other popular new artists as possible. No snoop, you're not Bob Marley, and you're not the next coming of him, either. You're too high. Collapse
  3. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    All you haters just gotta hate. This is a fantastic new direction and Snoop deserves credit for growing his skillset and expanding his art. This is the most dynamic he's ever been, and Major Lazer's production is stellar. There's more feeling in this album then all Snoop's past works combined.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    2
    Just horrible. It's an improvement over his final rap album, Doggumentary, but that being said, it's not that much better. Many of the tracks, such as "Get Away", "Fruit Juice", and "The Good Good", are abominations to humanity. There are, however, some good songs, such as "Rebel Way", "No Guns Allowed", "Remedy", and "Harder Times", but other than those few songs, the rest is just trash.
  5. May 1, 2013
    8
    Well, this album was a surprise. First, there was the name change, then a confirmed duet with Miley Cyrus and then the announcement that the album was going to be reggae. Eh? Well, this bewildering collection of information resulted in one of the most surprising albums I've reviewed this year. Snoop has done a complete 180 and is suddenly all about peace and love in this album that's bursting with pure Caribbean sunshine. Starting off with the epic Rebel Way, already my expectations were high and were fufilled as track after track went by. There's traditional reggae tracks like Here Comes The King, So Long, Fruit Juice, La La La and Harder Times, more modern ones like The Good Good and a throwback to his old style (but much more peaceful) in the form of Lighters Up. I especially appreciate his heartfelt call for peace in No Guns Allowed. The only downsides were the Rita Ora and Miley Cyrus collaborations. Other than that, this was thoroughly enjoyable and put a big smile on my face. Definitely get the deluxe version as all the tracks there are good. Now, a lot of fans have come down hard on Snoop for this album, calling him fake and saying he's betrayed his fans by changing his style. Well, I agree that those collabs with popstars was a bad idea, but his conversion to a new way of life and making an album to coincide with that seems genuine. And I believe an artist should challenge themselves and their fans too. This album was risky and I keep seeing negative reviews everywhere and I think it's so unwarranted. Very few rappers make albums about happiness and harmony. It's refreshing to hear a mainstream rapper, especially Snoop, of all people, sing songs that have absolutely nothing to do with bragging about how much money and hos they have. If he keeps making albums like this, I might consider myself a fan and I know I'll be playing Reincarnated all summer. Make the music you feel like making in your heart, Snoop, and let the haters hate. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    5
    Snoop uninspired now, desperately seeking the lost success. Reincarnated is an album ridiculous regarding Snoop Dogg (aka Snoop Lion) and a sufficient one regarding the production.
  7. May 1, 2013
    2
    dis album is just hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! is snoop serious????? what da is he mixing with his weed??? i can't bare to listen to dis album cuz of his fake patios! its just hilarious and is a total fail!!
  8. Jun 29, 2013
    9
    Strictly speaking this album is not only a reincarnation but also an evolution and revelation on Snoop Lion's infinite talent. La La La...Snoop Lion laid this track down as if he was born to the roots of reggae. True roots reggae fans and true Snoop fans will love this album becasue it shows a more enlighend side to a truly talented artist. I was mostly impressed by the conscious lyrics of the songs portrayed such as "no guns allowed" When I heard this album I ran out and bought 10 copies to send to my friends that i know would appreciate this side of Snoop and It met all their expectations on more. I grew up listening to snoop and while this album is vastly different than anything he has ever done it does show that artists like snoop are not afraid of wanting more, showing more, willing to evolve and embrace various aspects of their talents. True, this album will take the regular fans by surprise but if given a chance to open up the minds it will take you to new places in the recesses of the mind and the aim of the artist. Big up! Reincarnated. The lion has returned and the light is truly shining! Expand
  9. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    This is not the Snoop Dogg everybody used to like, this is a Snoop Dogg trying to get a forced entrance into the reggae music. Unfortunately, it's not great but it sure has some really good songs. Like "No Guns Allowed" and "So Long" but there are also some awful songs like "Get Away" but most of them give the relax that reggae music is supposed to give, anyways, if you wanna listen to Snoop in his best, just listen to Doggystyle. Expand
  10. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    Reincarnated is awesome. This f*cking professional reviewers can't get through their tiny heads that this is not Snoop Dog! This is Snoop Lion, a complete different person. He is not supposed to be compared to his old work since this is practically a whole new music genre. The songs are just like you expect them to be, they are chill, encouraging, and touch on controversial aspects of this era. But sometimes they can be too chill and just playing weird. Most of the songs are unforgettable so that's why I give it a 8/10. Expand
  11. Oct 18, 2014
    8
    A brilliant introduction for "Snoop Lion" into the world of reggae, as he presents us with a vibrant, colourful album infused with hip-hop undertones, classic Snoop beats and a fresh Jamaican style that slithers its way through the entire album with ease.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    30
    The onetime rapper's new foray into Lionism deviates so far from the norm that its proprietor's been edged out, melded into a nonconfrontational reggae singer whose drops can't muster a single memorable moment.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    60
    Reincarnated is not the usual Dogg's dinner, nor is it a roaring revelation. [Jul 2013, p.85]
  3. May 24, 2013
    60
    As it stands, the album has some decent songs but doesn't hold together as an album.