User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 232

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This is a prime example of why critics should be trusted more than users when it comes to music. Return to Cookie Mountain is one of my favorite albums of the past decade, hands down. Dear Science was excellent, but this will always be my favorite TV on the Radio album. The grainy static of this album creates the perfect atmosphere. The guitar work on this album is also incredible.This is a prime example of why critics should be trusted more than users when it comes to music. Return to Cookie Mountain is one of my favorite albums of the past decade, hands down. Dear Science was excellent, but this will always be my favorite TV on the Radio album. The grainy static of this album creates the perfect atmosphere. The guitar work on this album is also incredible. Some tracks are much slower than others, but when TVOTR decide to pick the pace up they really can shred their guitars like few bands can. All of this would mean nothing if it weren't for the emotional punch this album carries. If I had to pick one song that embodies the theme of this album it would be, "Province". On the chorus Kyp Malone bellows out that, "Love is the province of the brace", and that is certainly what this album is trying to get across. Love is pain, and TVOTR seem to understand that better than just about anybody else. To them though, love is worth the risk, and that only the brave seek it out. It's a powerful message that only grows the more you listen to this album. The opening track "I Was A Lover" instantly sucked me into the album. It's a fairly unorthodox rythm with stuttering drums, horns, and plenty of fuzzy guitars. Malone is also the vocalist on this song. Towards the end of the song he sings, "running on empty, bourbon, and god". As great as they are as a band, they may be even better songwriters, which is a bold statement I feel comfortable making. Malone proves on this album that he is an excellent vocalist. He shares roughly half of the vocal duties with Tunde Adebimpe, and they are a perfect balance. Adebimpe brings a powerful voice, and shows this in full force on "Wolf Like Me" which is one of the best songs TVOTR has in their entire catalog. The 2nd half of this song is an onslaught of guitars. "Playhouses" is another song where TVOTR flex their muscle and flat out jam. All of these songs I have mentioned are on the first half of the album, but amazingly the 2nd half of the album is every bit as strong as the 1st half. "Let the Devil In" and "Dirtywhirl" are both excellent tracks, as is "A Method". The two closing tracks "Tonight" and "Wash the Day Away" are the two most mellow songs on the album, particularly "Tonight" which is one of the more hypnotic songs I've ever heard. It's sad but beautiful at the same time. There really isn't any complaint I can make about this album. It's as close to flawless as you can get. Honestly, the only thing I didn't like were the bonus tracks. Not because they were bad, but because they were completely unneccesary. None of the 3 bonus tracks on the U.S. release are as good as ANY of the 11 songs on the album. Still, in rating this album I'm completely ignoring those tracks. After all, they are "bonus" tracks. Return to Cookie Mountain has held up very well, and it's been nearly 6 years since it's release. This album is the definition of a classic. Expand
  2. May 15, 2011
    8
    it was okay and good at the same time...................................................................................... they had some outstanding songs on here. Dear Science was an upgrade.
  3. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Heady, soulful, gritty, urgent, powerful, and beautiful. This is TV On The Radio's best album to date, and one of the best albums of the aughts. It takes some time to sink in, but it keeps growing with every listen, and it's one of the most rewarding, transportive albums I've heard in recent years. The first half is stunning, and the second half also fantastic, albeit less immediate.Heady, soulful, gritty, urgent, powerful, and beautiful. This is TV On The Radio's best album to date, and one of the best albums of the aughts. It takes some time to sink in, but it keeps growing with every listen, and it's one of the most rewarding, transportive albums I've heard in recent years. The first half is stunning, and the second half also fantastic, albeit less immediate. From the industrial haze of "I Was a Lover" to the fantastic closing duo of "Tonight" and "Wash the Day Away," this album is a unique, glorious listen. It deserves to grow into a classic. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    I really had to listen to this album to fully appreciate it but wow, this is a fantastic album. The opener "I Was A Lover" is fantastic. The moment that song ends, you know instantly what you're getting into. TV On The Radio is one of the most original bands I've ever had the pleasure to listen too and there skill as musicians and creativity really shows in this album. It's hard to swallowI really had to listen to this album to fully appreciate it but wow, this is a fantastic album. The opener "I Was A Lover" is fantastic. The moment that song ends, you know instantly what you're getting into. TV On The Radio is one of the most original bands I've ever had the pleasure to listen too and there skill as musicians and creativity really shows in this album. It's hard to swallow this album the first few times but you'll get really into it once you really start to pay attention to it. Every track tells a story and the lyrics are impeccable. All In All, TV On The Radio has crafted a unique blast of soul, psychedelic, jazz fusion, and a little bit of punk rock into Return To Cookie Mountain and it is definitely an adventure you have to listen too. A- Expand
  5. JamesB.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Great music isn't always easy to digest. This is an 11-course meal of gristle on which I happily dine.
  6. David
    Apr 29, 2008
    8
    Loved Wolf Like Me and I Was a Lover. And now getting into the album. This is great music - but don't expect to "get it" at first listen - if you want instant pleasure then look elsewhere. Dirtywhirl - what a great song. I'll give it an 8 now but I reckon it will improve with age like a fine wine.
  7. Jezz
    Feb 7, 2008
    9
    Brilliant. Beautiful, dark and dense music. Let the Devil In is the only letdown on a great album.
  8. AlexP
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    This is a stupendous fantasy for the ears. It's gorgeous rough and soaring. One of the best albums of the decade
  9. MaxM
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Trust me. I know music. This isn't some overrated crap that a lot of critics pour their hearts into. This is my favorite album from 2004-2007.
  10. MaxM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Definitely the best album I've heard in a few years.
  11. Sophie
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Wow.. I've been listening to this album for a while now, and I can honestly say that it was by far one of the best releases of 2006.
  12. RiccardoS
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    GREATEST ALBUM OF 2006
  13. alains
    Aug 3, 2007
    8
    I don't like it as much as Desperate Youth, but it's still very decent.
  14. KevinG
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    superb
  15. EricC
    Mar 23, 2007
    10
    They deserve all the Radiohead comparisons and all of David Bowie's adoration (you'll catch his vocals on one track, by the way). It's incredible, much easier to listen to than their previous releases (though I still enjoy them) while still being able to experiment with sounds and styles. No one has ever to combine drone rock, indy rock, hip hop, and flat out rock and roll They deserve all the Radiohead comparisons and all of David Bowie's adoration (you'll catch his vocals on one track, by the way). It's incredible, much easier to listen to than their previous releases (though I still enjoy them) while still being able to experiment with sounds and styles. No one has ever to combine drone rock, indy rock, hip hop, and flat out rock and roll like these guys (it sounds cheesy, but not exaggerated). I wish I could see them live, but I live in friggen' Jacksonville Fl, and no one goes on tour here except washed up bands like Def Leppord and Journey. I gotta get out of here. Expand
  16. MihaiV
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    There are some albums that you love for a week, then you like for another week and then you just stop listening to them. It's been a while now, and I have to say RTCM doesn't fall in that category. Like wine, TV on the Radio only gets better with time. A true classic.
  17. MichaelK
    Mar 14, 2007
    9
    Best album of 2006. By a mile.
  18. alanl
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    When you thought you had heard everything, this guys show you there's more to be seen. This is the Manhattan´s Ok Computer
  19. NabeelB
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    If you don't like this album you have bad taste in music.
  20. MikeS
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    One of the top 5 albums of the last year. It is surprising the number of people who seem to hate this album which is too bad considering the quality of the songs on it. A great album!
  21. FredDIsStupidMcGee
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Year's best CD. Hands down.
  22. JamesS
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    The hype on this album was unquestionably immense, and I approached it halfway hoping that I'd be unimpressed. Its half a year later and this is still one of the albums I listen to most regularly. The sheer density of harmonies, hooks and hidden bits of musical epiphanies is stunning. The best album of 2006 in my humble opinion.
  23. KEVIN
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    A wonderful musical, cultural, and global achievement. No wonder it's won so many Album Of the Year awards :)
  24. DavidE
    Jan 30, 2007
    9
    Awesome! It is always refreshing to see a band surpass the lofty expectations set by their debut. If you didn't like TV before, take another listen. You will very quickly change your mind.
  25. PhilipZ
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    This album gets better every time I listen to it, and that's after probably 20-25 listens. There are anthems here dying to get out, and TV on the Radio forces you to put them together for yourself. It's D.I.Y. rock for the listener, and it's pulled off perfectly. Hands down, the best album of 2006, and the best I've heard in a long time. Oh, and do yourself a favor, go This album gets better every time I listen to it, and that's after probably 20-25 listens. There are anthems here dying to get out, and TV on the Radio forces you to put them together for yourself. It's D.I.Y. rock for the listener, and it's pulled off perfectly. Hands down, the best album of 2006, and the best I've heard in a long time. Oh, and do yourself a favor, go see them live...incredible. Expand
  26. MWilder
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    "considering their demographics, are often very un-funky.:" Anthony C, as far as i can tell, what this means is, "I expect black people to make funk, this isnt funk, but its black people, what is going on here?" TV on the Radio's music is genius because it cant be pigeonholed like that, its greatness comes from the originality of the production and the multitracked vocals, and i "considering their demographics, are often very un-funky.:" Anthony C, as far as i can tell, what this means is, "I expect black people to make funk, this isnt funk, but its black people, what is going on here?" TV on the Radio's music is genius because it cant be pigeonholed like that, its greatness comes from the originality of the production and the multitracked vocals, and i trust that if you gave it some time, even you would enjoy it Expand
  27. J
    Jan 10, 2007
    7
    Good album, but not quite great. This is a grower for TV on the Radio. The lyrics really need work. Some of the songs (Dirtywhirl, A Method) are not very good at all, while others (I Was a Lover, Tonight) are pure brilliance. It's hard to tell where this band will go from here. They could end up like Radiohead and be truly great, or they could be the next Blur.
  28. AMaj
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    Absolutely fantastic. All around one of the best CDs I've heard in a while. Fantastic distant vocals multilayered throughout the album on top of powerful, driving rhythms with the occasional brass and other instruments make this album incredible. The only songs I thought were weak were Province and Playhouses, although the drummer does go insane on Playhouses, which i do love about Absolutely fantastic. All around one of the best CDs I've heard in a while. Fantastic distant vocals multilayered throughout the album on top of powerful, driving rhythms with the occasional brass and other instruments make this album incredible. The only songs I thought were weak were Province and Playhouses, although the drummer does go insane on Playhouses, which i do love about it. Province just lacked something for me. Expand
  29. Alex
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    Pure gold- definitely one of the best albums of 2006. And the genius who proclaims "Some of this sounds like 50s doo-wop", well, duh, it's supposed to be that way. It just shows who talented the band is, and able to integrate endless genres into a beautiful wall of sound, punctuated by amazing vocals. TV on the Radio is truly a great band.
  30. JoshE
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing album, lyrically amazing and original. Its unfortunate that so many dismiss this album because it doesnt sound like everything else they listen. Its truly sad that orginality is no longer valued by the majority. This album is beautiful and if people could truly open their ears they woudl understand why.
  31. SimonO
    Dec 31, 2006
    9
    "Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes" has a vitality that few records can match - this is one of those few. The development of the band's already eclectic sound, including Clouddead style beats ("I was a Lover"), results in one of the best releases of 2006.
  32. NastyR
    Dec 27, 2006
    10
    The most original rock album since god knows when. People who give it a low rating just don't have ears. It's not so difficult, just listen closer and you hear a great melodies. Apocalyptic art-rock in prime.
  33. DiabloP
    Dec 25, 2006
    8
    This album is very good - it is almost perfect. It is one of those albums you should listen to before you buy it. I loved it ,but it might not be everyone's cup of tea. I provides a different sound than the mainstream rock on the radio. That in itself might be a reason to purchase it.
  34. AntonioR
    Dec 22, 2006
    9
    great album
  35. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    Their sound is cutting edge: an innovative mix of free jazz, a cappella/doo-wop, trip-hop and electro; avant-garde without being obscure or unnecessarily difficult to listen to; and a worthy winner for the meta-critic Best of 2006.
  36. JasonH
    Dec 17, 2006
    8
    Beautiful. Melodic. Startling. And a bit on the dark side. Haven't heard anything else like it this year.
  37. DougS
    Dec 16, 2006
    7
    Perhaps I'm at a point in my life where "difficult" as a modifier for music no longer holds as much appeal, but I'm not feeling this one. Perhaps this album will have a similar effect on me as Wolf Parade last year, which I came to embrace slowly. But this sounds like a bad implosion of Prince, Radiohead and Sonic Youth. Great atmospherics, but the vocals are cloying at best. Perhaps I'm at a point in my life where "difficult" as a modifier for music no longer holds as much appeal, but I'm not feeling this one. Perhaps this album will have a similar effect on me as Wolf Parade last year, which I came to embrace slowly. But this sounds like a bad implosion of Prince, Radiohead and Sonic Youth. Great atmospherics, but the vocals are cloying at best. Certainly credit must be given for venturing further out of the mainstream than most "alternative" rock! I just don't happen to like it a whole lot. Expand
  38. Joey
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    This album has blown me away with beauty and meaning. It seems as though most people who rated this cd just don't understand it, which makes it even more rewarding for me in the end. One of the best cds this year by far.
  39. KyleM
    Dec 4, 2006
    9
    Dark, complex, rip-roaring at times soft at others, fantastic. Album of the year.
  40. kamil
    Nov 29, 2006
    9
    Best rock album since de-loused in the comatorium. Mind blowing, weird, seductive, dense, hypnotic and sometimes sexy future classic.
  41. sr
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    wow. i don't know why i like this album bbut something about the mood it sets is incredible
  42. Sean
    Nov 17, 2006
    10
    wow. it had to grow on me, but it grew very large.
  43. ashley
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    gets better with every listen, lyrics are genious, province is the best song of 2006
  44. paul
    Nov 3, 2006
    7
    there are two sides to this record. i really appreciate the artfulness involved in making this record - it truly does sound unique. and, there are a few tracks that absolutely blow me away - "wolf like me" being the clear standout. but, with that being said, this album isn't something i crave. sure, it's worth hearing but i don't think it deserves album of the year there are two sides to this record. i really appreciate the artfulness involved in making this record - it truly does sound unique. and, there are a few tracks that absolutely blow me away - "wolf like me" being the clear standout. but, with that being said, this album isn't something i crave. sure, it's worth hearing but i don't think it deserves album of the year alcolades. finally, i have to add that my opinion is slightly tainted because i saw them about a month or so ago in boulder and was completely underwhelmed. this is coming from someone who saw them right after their first EP and thought they were spellbinding. i think they have potential, but i think this album is overhyped and overrated. Expand
  45. IslaSoul
    Nov 2, 2006
    10
    Album of the year and the past years imo. I can picture me still bumpin this in a far away future... Soundtrack to my life right now... CLASSIC
  46. KurtD
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    Great album; good energy and amazing soundscapes. The production here is what really makes the album great, but the songs are pretty damn good, too. Second in 2006 only to Tropicalia (and maybe Toure...)
  47. JW
    Oct 25, 2006
    7
    Slightly overrated. Overall a good effort. Some songs just don't gel, but seem to have good intentions. The album never quite gets to the point of musical genius that the critics will have you think.
  48. matt
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    with only two months left in 2006, this album is the clear front-runner for best of the year...not quite a masterpiece like last year's Illinois, but an incredible work nevertheless.
  49. RicardoG
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    just an awesome work. altough,they cant give us the real energy on their live perfomance's, that are astonishing,the music in the album is experimental,very well produced,and the lyrics are f****** unbelivable. 10/10
  50. AdamT
    Oct 21, 2006
    10
    Easily the best of 2006, outdoing Arctic Monkeys and Mr.Dylan himself(this year at least).
  51. Brian
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Album of the year.
  52. Travis
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    I went into the music store not knowing anything about TVOTR besides I heard that it got good reviews on here. An hour afterwards I had a new favorite album of the year. Some of the songs that stand out are "Wolk Like Me" and "Dirtywhirl". But one of my personal favorites is the remix to "Hours" only available as a hidden track on the U.S. releases.
  53. PerspicaciousCritic
    Oct 4, 2006
    9
    What I like -- no, love -- about "Return to Cookie Mountain" Is that with each and every listen there's a track, that you previously thought as being so-so, that's, in fact, stellar. It gets better with each and every listen, and not in a Clockwork Orange, forcibly-keep-your-eyelids-open-and-watch-repeatedly-till-you're-converted kind of way. (You have to see the film to What I like -- no, love -- about "Return to Cookie Mountain" Is that with each and every listen there's a track, that you previously thought as being so-so, that's, in fact, stellar. It gets better with each and every listen, and not in a Clockwork Orange, forcibly-keep-your-eyelids-open-and-watch-repeatedly-till-you're-converted kind of way. (You have to see the film to get what I mean.) The best example of this, for me, is "A Method," a song that starts off with a whistle, and ends with a whistle (down an empty, drizzly, London street, circa 1950 ... sorry, the whistling paints a picture for me.) Granted, there are one or two tracks that have yet to grow on me, and may never do. But even the mediocre tracks contain impressive soundscapes. Plus the album is short, and tight, enough where you don't have a need, or feeling, to skip the sub-par tracks (that is, if there are, in fact, any sub-par tracks on this remarkable album). Expand
  54. Dork
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    A terrific, odd and experimental album. Solid songs throughout, but if one takes it as merely a collection of tunes the whole of the album is lost. Yes, "Wolf Like Me" and a few others are standouts, but this is an *album* more than anything else; a cohesive compilation of alt-rock beat poetry. Beautiful, fascinating and diverse, this is the best record of the year.
  55. CoryB
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Wow, talk about unexpected. I purchased this cd without knowing a thing about it. I could not have known how good this was. it;'s extrordinary, from song to song. Talk about a different sound.Totally original and exciting. Incredible harmonies, excellent lyrics and a drummer who blows my mind. The first listen caught me off guard. But by the third or fourth i was sold. This deserves Wow, talk about unexpected. I purchased this cd without knowing a thing about it. I could not have known how good this was. it;'s extrordinary, from song to song. Talk about a different sound.Totally original and exciting. Incredible harmonies, excellent lyrics and a drummer who blows my mind. The first listen caught me off guard. But by the third or fourth i was sold. This deserves all the rave reviews it is receiving and some. On some cd's if you kee the cd playing through tracks 26 (yes, that's right) from 27 to 30 there are three amazing tracks, what could be the best of all. One of the best listens of 2006. Expand
  56. Kza
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Moved away from indie for a while but best I've heard since Lambchops, Is A Woman or the most recent by Sparklehorse. Densely layered and influences too many to list. One for the times.
  57. ChrisA
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    A stunning, timeless, masterful classic.
  58. ToddW
    Sep 27, 2006
    9
    Like Prince on hallucinogens, these guys serve up a delicious and hot platter. It's one of those records that practically demands repeated listens, there's that much here. The music alone borrows from so many different genuses, it's impossible to absorb in one sitting. A very visual album, if Cookie Mountain is their Everest, sign me up for their trip to the moon.
  59. DecepticonPom
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    Fantastic.
  60. MattD.
    Sep 26, 2006
    10
    Groundbreaking and fun.
  61. ChrisP
    Sep 21, 2006
    9
    Abstract and atomspheric, and for once those aren't excuses for poor songwriting. TotR continue working with tan assortment of loops, drones and noise while Adepimbe's cynicaly romantic lyrics continue to be crooned out in the emotionally detached voice o his. I dont feel it's their masterpeice, but a fantastic album nonetheless.
  62. RainierZ
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    Best Album i've heard by far in '06. will probably be the defining seminal indie rock album of the year. Wolf in the Me-reminds of the indie angst I felt with "Banquet" in early '04. If David Bowie raves about it...who are we to argue?!!
  63. BryanW
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    One of - if not THE most interesting, creative and exciting record to come out in any genre this year. This is a band that made the record they wanted to and are out to prove that can still be a successful strategy. I hope buyers prove them right although a 6 months + internet leak probably won't help them make that point.
  64. RyanL
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    One of the user reviewers on here said that TV On the Radio failed to sound like U2. It's 2006 -- if that doesn't convince you to buy this album, I don't know what will.
  65. travish
    Sep 17, 2006
    9
    You ask, "why is Bowie on this?" Obviously he got what you don't.
  66. less_success
    Sep 17, 2006
    9
    This is a polarizing album. It's not a universal acclaim type release. I personally think it's pretty damn great, but make sure to listen before you buy.
  67. AdrianQ
    Sep 17, 2006
    9
    Is this love? Yes i believe it is.
  68. ChadS
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Fans of Prince who think his purple highness totally lost it after "Lovesexy" will love "Return to Cookie Monster". Without making any explicit references to the current presidential regime, this Brooklyn band really sounds like the right band at the right time. "Wolf Like Me" is the obvious single, but the real stunner is "Blues from Down Here". "Return to Cookie Mountain" is "Sign of Fans of Prince who think his purple highness totally lost it after "Lovesexy" will love "Return to Cookie Monster". Without making any explicit references to the current presidential regime, this Brooklyn band really sounds like the right band at the right time. "Wolf Like Me" is the obvious single, but the real stunner is "Blues from Down Here". "Return to Cookie Mountain" is "Sign of the Times"-redux. TV on the Radio matters. Being on television matters. I bought this after their blistering live rendition of "Wolf Like Me" on Letterman. Dave doesn't hand out compliments easily. He was impressed. Expand
  69. SenorDingdong
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Fantastic album, the best of 2006 by some distance. Incorporating various styles to create a truly unique sound. Visionary!!
  70. LeighG
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Words fail this album, buy and listen often.
  71. AramisG
    Sep 14, 2006
    8
    This album is a huge improvement over the last one. I just wish more of these songs had more dynamics to them (the good ones do). Less droning more chorus. But whatever my complaints their unique sound and energy keeps me listening to this band.
  72. Kristen
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    I didn't think it possible, but "Desperate Youth" pales in comparison. This album feels fresh, mature and simply smart. I cannot praise it enough.
  73. HeathR
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Much better than Desperate Youth, and a good follow up to Young Liars. The sound of the band is similar but they are maturing in ways that bring hope to their future projects. If they can caputer the energy of the album live on stage consider them one of the bands that does deserve the critic hype, and the fan boy hype. TVOTR is the real deal.
  74. Adam
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    If you F@#K to this album, you'll understand the genius.
  75. SchuylerL
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    This album blows me away; I'd consider it a strong contender for the year's best album. Both highly original and unquestionably palatable, its a huge step in the right direction from an already solid band.
  76. bibiane
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    if we can ever fall in love with a record. this is my love at first sight. absolutely perfect. there is nothing that should have been done better. guys... if you ever have the chance see them live. you'll never forget
  77. Andy
    Sep 3, 2006
    8
    Took a few repeated listens to fully grasp how good it is. One of my favirotes of the year so far and some of the most original music you'll ever hear.
  78. AlexC
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    As good and original an album as you'll hear all year!
  79. RobertG
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    This albums impresses me more and more with each listen. It most likely be my favorite album of the year. Track down the song Dry Drunk Emperor as well. Amazing.
  80. JustinM
    Aug 16, 2006
    10
    The best LP of 2006 so far if you ask me. They have perfected what they've been reaching for since Young Liars.
  81. SuperDonkey
    Aug 11, 2006
    8
    Hoped for more. Still an exciting listen. I think I like Desperate Youth a lil more. Cant wait to see them shine on live.
  82. DavidY
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    TVOTR are easily one of the most original bands in the world, and this record simply proves it even further. If you're looking for something incredibly different, incredibly bold and extremely well made then look no further than this truly brilliant band.
  83. GeorgeEverlasting
    Aug 4, 2006
    9
    Powerful and melodic, this album (and this band) has steam-rolled over me in a ocean of vibrating vocals and harmonies.
  84. JeffH
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    This album is absolutely stunning! I've never taken the time to rate any album on here or anywhere online before, but I just couldn't help myself with this one. If you're a fan of TVOTR, then you will love it. Even if you're not, this is a good place to start seeing as this is probably their most impressive album to date (next to the Young Liars EP).
  85. [Anonymous]
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    The best music is always ahead of its rivals. coolest sounding record in years
  86. VitorS
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    First listen was kinda disappointing, but then.. the most addictive stuff since crack.
  87. ryanf
    Jul 26, 2006
    9
    in a word, amazing.
  88. Branislav
    Jul 20, 2006
    10
    excellent
  89. thetourist
    Jul 20, 2006
    9
    A brilliant, uncategorisable album. Best opening track this year, easily.
  90. Systool
    Jul 19, 2006
    8
    An excellent album by TVOTR... Great melodies, voices and arrangements. The Album is heterogenous, hypnotic and dazzling, which makes its strenght. Not easy to get in at first listen, but if you give it a little time, the reward will be great.
  91. brianh
    Jul 18, 2006
    9
    try to listen to this as backround music and there will certainly be at least three times where you are interrupted by epiphanies. Those points in the album where you drop what you doing and say holy s*! they are doing a cover of my favorite song! but it is not a cover, it is just your new favorite song.
  92. Jerry
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    Stunning. Makes my world manageable and more colorful. Go see them live. Wow!
  93. AdamS
    Jul 16, 2006
    9
    Wonderful album, full of songs just waiting to grow on you. TV on the radio have built majestically on the past sound to deliver an utterly emotional and fufilling album.
  94. Mr.Hankey
    Jul 16, 2006
    9
    I was introduced to TV on the Radio by the famous Young Liars EP which was a piece of art that unfortunately didn't fully transpire to Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes. Young Liars was amazing, Desperate Youth was great but not up to Young Liars standards. Return to Cookie Mountain is definitely a step forward for TV on the Radio which I know many people will disagree with me I was introduced to TV on the Radio by the famous Young Liars EP which was a piece of art that unfortunately didn't fully transpire to Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes. Young Liars was amazing, Desperate Youth was great but not up to Young Liars standards. Return to Cookie Mountain is definitely a step forward for TV on the Radio which I know many people will disagree with me because as I have already seen many people don't like this album. Critics like it because most have them have been introduced to the sublime already. Now you can call this album horrible and I will understand but you probably haven't had an experience with a unusual album. This album is one of the best of the year and most of you will dismiss this album if you did the same with Scott Walker (Bit too weird...) and Destroyer (Best of the year). But this is a triumph for 2006 and I understand any charges that this is unlistenable because the music is atmospheric, driven, somber, and cold. But still TVOTR Fans rejoice you have a new favorite of the year. Expand
  95. someoa
    Jul 14, 2006
    9
    some awesome tunes on this one!
  96. TonyF
    Jul 13, 2006
    8
    not as good as their previous stuff, but great none the less. I recommend the first lp over this if you haven't heard them yet.
  97. JamalS.
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    I'd just like to point out to Max that black people played rock and roll before white people, so, besdies that comment being unnecessary, it was also wrong. TV on the Radio is an excellent band..
  98. CurryF
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Beatiful record. Give it a try at least.
  99. Matt
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    Fantastic. Wasn't a big fan of the last album, thought it was incredibly over-rated, but this is just sublime. All those haters ono here, really not sure what album you've been listening to. Music doesn't come much more joyous and gorgeous than this.
  100. Dusty
    Jul 12, 2006
    9
    Great album from start to finish. Peaks midway through, but goes strong through the end. A worthy follow-up to 2003's Desperate Youth, Bloodthirsty Babes
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. 80
    On their lush major-label debut, the haunting Peter Gabriel-esque yawlps of singer Tunde Adebimpbe are punctuated by singer-guitarist Kyp Malone, whose raspy falsetto provides a sense of deadpan panic. [Jul 2006, p.103]
  2. A warmer, more linear record than their debut... Spellbinding, frustrating, wonderful.
  3. 80
    Sitek's layered sonics have grown more immense... and almost none of these songs charts a predictable course. [Jun 2006, p.81]