Return To Cookie Mountain - TV on the Radio
Return To Cookie Mountain Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: David Bowie guests on the highly-anticipated second LP (and major-label debut) from the distinctive NYC band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Yes, the journey is often challenging, but that's what makes it unforgettable. [Dec 2006, p.190]
  2. Maybe that's why this album has such an incredible pull: It doesn't make an atmosphere so much as a space to spend time in, and Adebimpe doesn't become a narrator so much as a witness.
  3. Return to Cookie Mountain sweats off most of the band’s more head-scratching impulses and leaves a manic, depressive, exhilarating album of experimental pop. [#15]
  4. The music beneath Cookie Mountain is an earthquake of nearly generation-defining proportions.
  5. 80
    Give up now, guys, because it rarely gets better than this. [Jun 2006, p.113]
  6. TV on the Radio is that rare band able to simultaneously identify the pitfalls of modern life and offer a spiritual alternative... That the band does so with music that's at once readily accessible and refreshingly unique is simply the crowning touch. [Jun/Jul 2006, p.118]
  7. As music for airports, the album hums along like a tension-age sedative, but if it was meant to be a grand artistic statement by an acclaimed band with a distinctive vision, it's pretty much static.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 148
  1. Kristen
    Sep 14, 2006
    10
    I didn't think it possible, but "Desperate Youth" pales in comparison. This album feels fresh, mature and simply smart. I cannot praise I didn't think it possible, but "Desperate Youth" pales in comparison. This album feels fresh, mature and simply smart. I cannot praise it enough. Expand
  2. MWilder
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    "considering their demographics, are often very un-funky.:" Anthony C, as far as i can tell, what this means is, "I expect black people to "considering their demographics, are often very un-funky.:" Anthony C, as far as i can tell, what this means is, "I expect black people to make funk, this isnt funk, but its black people, what is going on here?" TV on the Radio's music is genius because it cant be pigeonholed like that, its greatness comes from the originality of the production and the multitracked vocals, and i trust that if you gave it some time, even you would enjoy it Expand
  3. JamesB.
    Aug 8, 2008
    10
    Great music isn't always easy to digest. This is an 11-course meal of gristle on which I happily dine.
  4. LeighG
    Sep 14, 2006
    9
    Words fail this album, buy and listen often.
  5. May 15, 2011
    8
    it was okay and good at the same time...................................................................................... they had someit was okay and good at the same time...................................................................................... they had some outstanding songs on here. Dear Science was an upgrade. Expand
  6. AnthonyC
    Dec 27, 2006
    6
    TV On The Radio has promise, since their sound is so unique. However, they have some big weaknesses which drag down the CD. The vocals, with TV On The Radio has promise, since their sound is so unique. However, they have some big weaknesses which drag down the CD. The vocals, with someone singing low and the other singing falsetto, sometimes sound muddy and indistinct. If they had more confidence in their lyrics or melody, they wouldn't do that. Sometimes their songs are tuneless, and considering their demographics, are often very un-funky. They have promise, but Cookie Mountain is hopefully not their peak. Expand
  7. MaxI
    Jul 8, 2006
    0
    Completely UNFRESH. Black people making music that black people aren't famous for making... oh my that's so novel. Let's make Completely UNFRESH. Black people making music that black people aren't famous for making... oh my that's so novel. Let's make it the cover story of every magazine in the country. OK but the music not there. Every musical idea in this band is completely stale. 10 years late. And the lyrics are cringe-inducing. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?