Return To Cookie Mountain - TV on the Radio
Return To Cookie Mountain Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 229 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: David Bowie guests on the highly-anticipated second LP (and major-label debut) from the distinctive NYC band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Yes, the journey is often challenging, but that's what makes it unforgettable. [Dec 2006, p.190]
  2. Maybe that's why this album has such an incredible pull: It doesn't make an atmosphere so much as a space to spend time in, and Adebimpe doesn't become a narrator so much as a witness.
  3. Return to Cookie Mountain sweats off most of the band’s more head-scratching impulses and leaves a manic, depressive, exhilarating album of experimental pop. [#15]
  4. The music beneath Cookie Mountain is an earthquake of nearly generation-defining proportions.
  5. 80
    Give up now, guys, because it rarely gets better than this. [Jun 2006, p.113]
  6. TV on the Radio is that rare band able to simultaneously identify the pitfalls of modern life and offer a spiritual alternative... That the band does so with music that's at once readily accessible and refreshingly unique is simply the crowning touch. [Jun/Jul 2006, p.118]
  7. As music for airports, the album hums along like a tension-age sedative, but if it was meant to be a grand artistic statement by an acclaimed band with a distinctive vision, it's pretty much static.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 148
  1. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Heady, soulful, gritty, urgent, powerful, and beautiful. This is TV On The Radio's best album to date, and one of the best albums of the aughts. It takes some time to sink in, but it keeps growing with every listen, and it's one of the most rewarding, transportive albums I've heard in recent years. The first half is stunning, and the second half also fantastic, albeit less immediate. From the industrial haze of "I Was a Lover" to the fantastic closing duo of "Tonight" and "Wash the Day Away," this album is a unique, glorious listen. It deserves to grow into a classic. Expand
  2. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    This is a prime example of why critics should be trusted more than users when it comes to music. Return to Cookie Mountain is one of my favorite albums of the past decade, hands down. Dear Science was excellent, but this will always be my favorite TV on the Radio album. The grainy static of this album creates the perfect atmosphere. The guitar work on this album is also incredible. Some tracks are much slower than others, but when TVOTR decide to pick the pace up they really can shred their guitars like few bands can. All of this would mean nothing if it weren't for the emotional punch this album carries. If I had to pick one song that embodies the theme of this album it would be, "Province". On the chorus Kyp Malone bellows out that, "Love is the province of the brace", and that is certainly what this album is trying to get across. Love is pain, and TVOTR seem to understand that better than just about anybody else. To them though, love is worth the risk, and that only the brave seek it out. It's a powerful message that only grows the more you listen to this album. The opening track "I Was A Lover" instantly sucked me into the album. It's a fairly unorthodox rythm with stuttering drums, horns, and plenty of fuzzy guitars. Malone is also the vocalist on this song. Towards the end of the song he sings, "running on empty, bourbon, and god". As great as they are as a band, they may be even better songwriters, which is a bold statement I feel comfortable making. Malone proves on this album that he is an excellent vocalist. He shares roughly half of the vocal duties with Tunde Adebimpe, and they are a perfect balance. Adebimpe brings a powerful voice, and shows this in full force on "Wolf Like Me" which is one of the best songs TVOTR has in their entire catalog. The 2nd half of this song is an onslaught of guitars. "Playhouses" is another song where TVOTR flex their muscle and flat out jam. All of these songs I have mentioned are on the first half of the album, but amazingly the 2nd half of the album is every bit as strong as the 1st half. "Let the Devil In" and "Dirtywhirl" are both excellent tracks, as is "A Method". The two closing tracks "Tonight" and "Wash the Day Away" are the two most mellow songs on the album, particularly "Tonight" which is one of the more hypnotic songs I've ever heard. It's sad but beautiful at the same time. There really isn't any complaint I can make about this album. It's as close to flawless as you can get. Honestly, the only thing I didn't like were the bonus tracks. Not because they were bad, but because they were completely unneccesary. None of the 3 bonus tracks on the U.S. release are as good as ANY of the 11 songs on the album. Still, in rating this album I'm completely ignoring those tracks. After all, they are "bonus" tracks. Return to Cookie Mountain has held up very well, and it's been nearly 6 years since it's release. This album is the definition of a classic. Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2011
    9
    I really had to listen to this album to fully appreciate it but wow, this is a fantastic album. The opener "I Was A Lover" is fantastic. The moment that song ends, you know instantly what you're getting into. TV On The Radio is one of the most original bands I've ever had the pleasure to listen too and there skill as musicians and creativity really shows in this album. It's hard to swallow this album the first few times but you'll get really into it once you really start to pay attention to it. Every track tells a story and the lyrics are impeccable. All In All, TV On The Radio has crafted a unique blast of soul, psychedelic, jazz fusion, and a little bit of punk rock into Return To Cookie Mountain and it is definitely an adventure you have to listen too. A- Expand
  4. May 15, 2011
    8
    it was okay and good at the same time...................................................................................... they had some outstanding songs on here. Dear Science was an upgrade. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2012
    4
    I applaud the experiment, but like most such projects, the results are mixed at best. Download "Wolf Like Me", "A Method", and "Dirty Whirl" but don't buy the entire album. Expand

See all 148 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?