Reveal - R.E.M.
Reveal Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 'Reveal,' the Athens, GA band's 12th full-length album, marks the 20-year anniversary of the group. Operating as a trio for the second consecutive outing, R.E.M. offer up 12 new tracks, mainly of the mid-tempo acoustic guitar and keyboard variety. Guests include Joey Waronker, Ken Stringfellow (The Posies), and Scott McCaughey (The Young Fresh Fellows). Collapse
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. It's a landmark album for REM and the fans who stayed faithful, a shot in the arm for music in 2001 and - unless they're too foolish to accept it - a long-awaited treat for all the listeners who bailed out after Monster.
  2. The rock energy that drove much of their early career has given way to a perfect sense for texture and sound. Reveal is a lush, dreamy pop mood-piece that hovers in the realm of rumination and introspection.
  3. Whilst this comes closer to 'Out Of Time' than anything else they've done, it never once sounds dated.
  4. Reveal is billed as the band's return to form, and mostly it is.... But like 'Up,' much of 'Reveal' is haunted by an ennui that's curious for a band that made their name by talking about the passion. [18 May 2001, p.79]
  5. With the exception of a few tracks, Reveal is a remarkably cohesive album of intense beauty and heady wisdom that inspires with its passionate strength. [Jul 2001, p.79]
  6. On the plus side, the album sounds really nice.... The problem is, things get a little too lazy and hazy; Reveal's 12 tracks all move with almost the exact same dreamy, midtempo lope.
  7. Mike Mills's and Peter Buck's acoustic midtempo strummings and electronic ambience match 1992's Automatic for the People for lethargy, without the looming darkness or catchy sentimentality that made it compelling.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. DanielE
    Nov 25, 2003
    I was going through a break up at the time and this album struck a very heavy note with me as it related to what I was going through. Every song seemed to mirror my own situation. Michael Stipes voice and lyrics are to be commended. I would go as far as to say that this was their best album in many years. Expand
  2. C.S.Reed
    Feb 12, 2006
    a collection of torpid songs that taste like summer afternoon
  3. HenryG
    Apr 29, 2008
    Atrocious for an artist of her calibre. So dissapointing. 2, maybe 3 decent tracks tops. I love her too.
  4. BangkokDave
    Jul 30, 2002
    REM's best album since Automatic for the People & in many ways, its spiritual successor. At least half the songs would make excellent singles. Ironically, the only mildly successful single, Imitation of Life, is largely bland & nondescript. The fact that no one is playing this album is a sad commentary not just on the state of the popular music scene, but on the so-called alternative scene, now almost completely taken over by rap & nu-metal. Expand
  5. Aug 17, 2013
    One of best REM records in Warner's era. (In a 2nd row with Up, Monster and New Adventures after AFTP and OOT). Great BeachBoys tribute! Imitation of Life classic! Expand
  6. ErwinB.
    Nov 10, 2001
    A coherent album. Plenty of highlights.
  7. shakermaker
    Aug 16, 2001
    they always sound the same after all these years it's gettin boring

See all 23 User Reviews