Rhythm and Repose - Glen Hansard
Rhythm and Repose Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Thomas Bartlett, Glen Hansard returns after his success with Frames, the Swell Season, and the Once soundtrack/musical score, with his first solo album.
  • Record Label: Epitaph
  • Genre(s): Singer/Songwriter, Pop/Rock, Adult Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Contemporary Singer/Songwriter, Alternative Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jul 24, 2012
    90
    The production has kept the focus exactly where it should be: on the longing of his voice... it's given him a deeper, haunting sense of quiet that strips these melodies to their essential, fragile beauty, delivered with joy, grace, and a wounded wisdom. [No.89 p.60]
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    80
    In tone and approach it suggests the populism of a lost Cat Stevens classic ("High Hopes," in particular) but with enough interesting detours.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    80
    Rhythm and Repose [is] the superb solo outing from Glen Hansard.
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    67
    Rhythm & Repose is never boring or lacking in tension, but it also doesn't incite nearly as much excitement as it Hansard's previous work.
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    60
    Piano-led ballad rock songs tell their own story of heavy-duty emotional drag but Hansard's voice carries such weight you can forgive him. [Jul 2012, p.102]
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    Love = drama + melodrama on Glen Hansard's moonstruck solo debut.
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    50
    The album is slow and steady without ever finding its pinnacle.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jul 12, 2012
    10
    The soundtrack for the film Once is one of my favorite albums of all time, easily secured in my top ten. Heck, Once is my favorite film of all time. Half of this, of course, is due to Glen Hansard. I like The Swell Season, and The Frames are as solid as can be, but as a songwriter, Hansard does just fine on his own. From the first haunting notes on "You Will Become," to the close of "Song of Good Hope," it's impossible to not think that there is something special here, and there really is. Most of these songs have this gripping quality. They are memorable, they are haunting, and they are well crafted little gems. No, this is not anything genre-defining or groundbreaking. In place of something so majestic, this is a quiet little record that is poetic and beautiful. Definitely one of the better releases of 2012. Expand
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    At one point in my life I was a Frames and Glen fanatic - couldn't get enough of them until the mid 00's. The problem was that their output between 95 and 2003 was so unbelieveably good, it was a matter of time before the standard dropped. Of course not everyone agrees, that's the beauty of music but I felt Burn the Maps started to show creaks, the best stuff on The Cost were tracks that had been floating around for years. Then you had their side project The Swell Season, which had some great moments but also had some real mush and overall just didn't have the same fire and passion of The Frames at their best. After all that, I still have a grá for Glen and was always going to buy his first solo record no matter what. Thankfully, I've found Glen has rediscovered the spark. Rhythm & Repose is one of his most mature works, it feels heartfelt and bar one or two tracks that dip, it's consistently strong. He's done stuff here he couldn't have done with The Frames or Marketa (and thankfully there is limited backing female backing vocals and piano bits just for the sake of it, which I sometimes felt was the case with The Swell Season). Opener You Will Become is dark and delicate reminding me slightly of Mic Christophers "What A Curious Notion" and Marketa's vocals and piano are perfect toward the end. Over the next couple of tracks the album settles into it's groove nicely before the emotionally delivered "The Storm, It's Coming". "Lover Don't Leave Me Waiting" slips back into the folky groove we had earlier before the brilliant "What Are We Gonna Do", a kind of reowrking of Paddy Casey's "Sweet Suburban Sky", one of my favourite songs ever. This is followed up by an interesting and very well done version of the song "Races" which Frames fans will recognise from the early 00's. "Philander", the records penultimate track and my favourite on the album, is as far as we get from the Glen we're familiar with. It's a lovely song where the verses and chorus contrast in the feeling the give and the production of the track is faultless. Song of Good Hope closes the album on a sadly optimistic note, a perfect song to close this record. Well done Glen, this ranks up with your best work. Collapse