• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Rival Dealer [EP] Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The three-track release for the London electronic producer William Bevan as Burial includes part of Lana Wachowski's speech when she received the Human Rights Campaign Visibility Award in 2012.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. 100
    Rival Dealer is only three tracks long but it’s as rich as many LPs.
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    90
    Rival Dealer has some of the most immediate music from the Burial project, but it's worth noting that this is also a noisy, dissonant work.
  3. 90
    Burial’s success has brought with it imitators, but with this EP he’s outwitted them all by introducing a gloriously widened palate to his music that is both instantly familiar and shockingly unlikely.
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    Wintry sonic atmospheres, a motley chorus of voices, and a life-affirming message of salvation--intentionally or not, Burial might have just released the best Christmas album of the year.
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    They function as compassionate anthems that rally against the wrought iron tempestuousness of youth.
  6. Dec 17, 2013
    80
    This is easily the producer's most emotional and story-like output.
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    50
    Rival Dealer might be an intrepid leap for Burial, but the music is ultimately obscured by his intention to share a positive message through the most glaring of means.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    This is what you call a masterpiece of music, seriously. The song "Come Down To Us" actually moved me like no other song ever has moved meThis is what you call a masterpiece of music, seriously. The song "Come Down To Us" actually moved me like no other song ever has moved me before. The best thing about Burials music if you ask me? It get's better each time you hear it. Just be sure to hear it with the best music system you got, because you'll want to hear every little aspect and bass, because only then it reaches its perfection it is intended to have. Expand
  2. May 15, 2015
    10
    Short and sweet, "Rival Dealer EP" is three tracks of pulsing, ambient and electronic heaven. Evocative, energising and deep, another greatShort and sweet, "Rival Dealer EP" is three tracks of pulsing, ambient and electronic heaven. Evocative, energising and deep, another great example of the musical flexibility of William Emmanuel Bevan, a.k.a Burial. Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    A masterpiece. I'm a huge Burial fan, ever since discovering Untrue in 2007. While I've loved everything he's done, this one has blown myA masterpiece. I'm a huge Burial fan, ever since discovering Untrue in 2007. While I've loved everything he's done, this one has blown my expectations up, and re-set everything I thought I could expect him. Simply a mind-blowing EP. Who even knows where he'll go from here. I for one can't wait to find out. Collapse
  4. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    Burial continues giving us epic mini masterpieces, in Rival Dealer he expands his sound through landscapes of honesty, human rights and lifeBurial continues giving us epic mini masterpieces, in Rival Dealer he expands his sound through landscapes of honesty, human rights and life problems 'You are not alone'. He now has a message for our ears and that message is to believe in ourselves. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    Burial's production has never been heard and the abstract element he inducts is unmatched. This is risky because he has used the same styleBurial's production has never been heard and the abstract element he inducts is unmatched. This is risky because he has used the same style for a while. However Rival Dealer just switches up every EP/LP and with another stellar sound created, this is by far his most ambitious work since the criticially acclaimed Untrue. He has given us an amazing Christmas gift and will be remember in years to come. Definitely a sleeper album. 9/10 Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2013
    8
    Burial does it again. With his usual busy, noisy and minimalistic productions, added on with what is his full emotions, making this his mostBurial does it again. With his usual busy, noisy and minimalistic productions, added on with what is his full emotions, making this his most meaningful EP. Downfall for me is that most of the samples are too soaked up and swallowes by cold, wet, reverb, causing a distraction to my ears. But overall, it is a good album to close the year! SO GET IT NOW!!! Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    2
    Сначала был уродливый Truant, затем и это порождение. Burial совершил большую ошибку, отклоняясь от своего старого стиля - в нем то и былаСначала был уродливый Truant, затем и это порождение. Burial совершил большую ошибку, отклоняясь от своего старого стиля - в нем то и была фишка, была самобытность за которую все и любили его звук.
    Нужно больше эмбиента и запитченных голосов. Еще больше.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews