Robyn

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 88 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 88
  2. Negative: 4 out of 88

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasB.
    May 1, 2008
    2
    This album was almost... a complete peice of trash. I don't know how stuff like this gets good ratings, but I cannot argue against the system. As for the review: Awful lyrics, childish and non imaginitive, things rhyme but they are not even clever and some fail to make sense. It isn't even art anymore. The music is simple and... I ll just say it now, There just is not anything This album was almost... a complete peice of trash. I don't know how stuff like this gets good ratings, but I cannot argue against the system. As for the review: Awful lyrics, childish and non imaginitive, things rhyme but they are not even clever and some fail to make sense. It isn't even art anymore. The music is simple and... I ll just say it now, There just is not anything "great" about this album. Expand
  2. PaulC
    May 4, 2008
    4
    Utterly and completely over-rated.
  3. kk
    Jun 7, 2008
    3
    Overrated!
  4. Y'allBuyDevilBlood?
    May 5, 2008
    2
    Konichiwa Bitches is fantastic. One of my favorite songs. Unfortunately, the rest of the album sucks.
  5. SteveO
    May 31, 2008
    0
    Are you guys kidding me? the first time i think i saw her or heard of her was on letterman and she absolutely positively sucked... so either this is completely overatted, or she sucks. I think its a combination of both.
  6. EinarJ.
    Aug 14, 2008
    5
    really overrated, and very arrogant, boring, self-important lyrics. Some good songs, check it out.
  7. EricB
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Great songs from start to finish, it's one song that i skip, but it isn't really bad TBH. Lyrics are on point and I don't like it when a popsinger raps about a serious matter. Robyn choosed to rap, but rapped in a funny way. 10/10
  8. MarioV
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Really the best pop album of the last 20 years. It's Robyn's "Like a prayer". Definitely worth the wait. I guess this is what happens when musicians care more about artistry than money.
  9. JonR
    May 5, 2008
    10
    This is the best pop album of the 2000s. Seriously. Every song could be a single. Every ballad is heartbreaking. Every uptempo jam kills. If you are a fan of pop music, this is the must have album of 2008.
  10. JoshuaM.
    Oct 5, 2009
    10
    Probably one of the best albums that's in my CD case. Doesn't matter when I decide to put it on, it always sounds great! The one thing about Robyn is that she doesn't have a strong voice. But her emotion behind her voice conveys to every song on the album. Especially "Handle Me", "With Every Heartbeat", "Be Mine" and "Dream On". You can actually feel that she means it. As a Probably one of the best albums that's in my CD case. Doesn't matter when I decide to put it on, it always sounds great! The one thing about Robyn is that she doesn't have a strong voice. But her emotion behind her voice conveys to every song on the album. Especially "Handle Me", "With Every Heartbeat", "Be Mine" and "Dream On". You can actually feel that she means it. As a person who heard her in the 90's, and that's it, it's refreshing to know that there is pop music out there that actually has meaning. Kudo's, Robyn! Expand
  11. RAI
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    One of the best albums of the year. I believe some of the best track were not even released as singles!!!
  12. DuderonomyJones
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Totally lives up to the hype and well worth the wait for the domestic release. I'd heard several cuts on YouTube and other places, but was still shocked how consistently strong the whole CD is. Not a clunker in the bunch.
  13. Zain
    May 1, 2008
    10
    One the best albums ever! AMAZING album!!!
  14. MaryS.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Best pop album of the last 5 years.
  15. jorges.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Simple, the best pop album I ever listened!!
  16. yoriDd.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    flawless EVERY single song on this album is g.r.e.a.t! saw her live and show just matched the energy and quality her videos for this album are gems as well FEROCIOUS!!!! :)
  17. LukeS.
    May 6, 2008
    9
    This is a good album, no real dissapointments. The songs are very different from one another, Eclipse is a slow acoustic ballad, while anytime you like is a electro ballad. Should have known is a 80's RnB song, while Be mine! is a 80's pop song, and so on and on. This is a eclectic album for eclectic minds. Lyrics are on point as well, ranging from silly towitty to serious.
  18. Stangoni
    Jun 13, 2008
    10
    These guys are all right. If you don't like this album it's 'cause you don't like pop. I know it sounds arrogant, but this album is so well done, Juicy Pop.
  19. GillesB.
    Jun 18, 2008
    5
    Good songs (I especially enjoy 'every heartbeat'...) but let's not exaggerate: it's FAR from being one of the best record of the year!
  20. Gum
    Jun 7, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! Robyn has evolved into one of the most interesting artists of the decade.
  21. JodieB.
    Jul 24, 2008
    7
    Very catchy tunes.
  22. Bonnie&Clyde
    Aug 20, 2008
    6
    Nothing new. Good sound and pretty solid pop, that far goes Robyn. The rest is over used old pop structure, lack of actitud and easy lyrics. Might have been a good cd for the 90s but for 2008 is nice but weak.
  23. DavidG.
    Oct 19, 2008
    8
    Robyn and Annie are rightful heirs to Madonna's pop queen status. Youthful, posturing. . . There's no reason to pretend that artificiality isn't a big part of what makes pop music great, and both musicians demonstrate a very hip strand of artifice. Unfortunately, one of the songs on Robyn's album (which was actually completed in 2005!) reminds me too much of a terrible Robyn and Annie are rightful heirs to Madonna's pop queen status. Youthful, posturing. . . There's no reason to pretend that artificiality isn't a big part of what makes pop music great, and both musicians demonstrate a very hip strand of artifice. Unfortunately, one of the songs on Robyn's album (which was actually completed in 2005!) reminds me too much of a terrible Kid Rock song. Unnerving. When you consider the pop garbage that teenage girls tend to ingest, these musicians would probably leave a more positive impact, and maybe even a greater interest in music later in life. Expand
  24. ChuckS
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    THE pop album of the year!!!!!!!
  25. SimonC.
    May 12, 2008
    10
    A perfect pop album. Amazingly creative and rich. Poetic, witty, funny. A smash. Robyn is a complete artist. Superior.
  26. LudvigH.
    May 14, 2008
    10
    I've been listening to this album since it release in Sweden, 2005, and I'm still not tired of it. My favourite is Handle me. Love it!
  27. BTA
    May 15, 2008
    10
    robyn has brought it. for real. this is seriously the best album i've heard all year, and i expect it will keep that status for the rest of the year as well. i think it speaks to robyn's creativity, musical abilities, and long-lasting appeal that she wrote this album more than 3 years ago, and it still is the newest/best sound out there in pop.
  28. Josh?
    May 18, 2008
    10
    A breath of fresh air! It has completely taken over my Ipod. This is how pop music should be done. Look out for Bum Like You, Who's That Girl & Dream On. Huge Highlights!
  29. DeboA.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Pop perfection! I never thought I would here something so future-forward and fantastic in my lifetime! It's in my top 2 so far this year!!
  30. DZATX
    May 27, 2008
    10
    Just as devastating as it was three years ago, Robyn's new album is one of the strongest pop of the last half of the 2000's.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Robyn defines what she's all about. Even if it took a few years to put together the label and album (and a few more to get it released everywhere), this is the pop tour de force that Robyn has always had in her.
  2. 80
    The hooks come off-kilter and all killer.
  3. A record to throw yourself into with the same glee Robyn clearly has.