Rolling Papers

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    70
    Just like any given Bone album, Khalifa's chilled and confused Rolling Papers is an acquired taste, and while it's misrepresented by its single and the mixtapes that surround it, it is purposeful mood music, perfect for bong loading or just hanging out.
  2. Apr 8, 2011
    72
    Call it mood music for the mindless.
  3. 83
    Marijuana may not be legal, but Rolling Papers surely will be enjoyed and passed around among Wiz's fans.
  4. 80
    Rolling Papers may be Wiz Khalifa's studio debut and his breakthrough record, but as far as mainstream rap goes, it's far from it.
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    70
    Maybe it's my lowered expectations for major-label rap debuts, or the fact that I never had Wiz pegged for out-and-out greatness, but Rolling Papers sure feels like a qualified success. The album's high points earn Wiz forgiveness for his mistakes.
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    80
    Thoughtful rap that deserves mainstream attention.
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    77
    On Rolling Papers, Wiz Khalifa's personality shines through: unobscured, stoned, brilliant.
  8. So make no mistake, Rolling Papers is unquestionably slick pop-rap candy, and there's nothing substantive to be found beneath the choking shroud of weed smoke.
  9. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    After Rolling Papers Wiz' fan base should expand significantly, as should the number of rap purists angry about his lack of rhyme skills, but complaining about his "rap" skills completely misses the point.
  10. Apr 7, 2011
    83
    In the end, the high points here are more than compelling enough to warrant repeated spins, and the weak spots are simply forgettable, not unlistenable.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. Dec 25, 2011
    1
    Tasteless garbage like most hip hop/Rap music is that literally talks about gang life, weed, and other stupid stuff. I honestly don't know whyTasteless garbage like most hip hop/Rap music is that literally talks about gang life, weed, and other stupid stuff. I honestly don't know why this trash is so popular these days we really need rock to be on top of the genres like back in the day. Full Review »
  2. May 16, 2011
    10
    this dude is absolutely amazing. yea his music is all about weed but there is nothing greater than an underground rapper coming into the lightthis dude is absolutely amazing. yea his music is all about weed but there is nothing greater than an underground rapper coming into the light and still being the same...dope. enough said Full Review »
  3. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    This album is alright. I was expecting Wiz to do better, but there are a few good songs on here. I wouldn't buy the album though. I feel likeThis album is alright. I was expecting Wiz to do better, but there are a few good songs on here. I wouldn't buy the album though. I feel like Wiz is more of a mix tape artist though, he should stick to those. Full Review »