• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 29, 2011
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 59
  2. Negative: 21 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 25, 2011
    1
    Tasteless garbage like most hip hop/Rap music is that literally talks about gang life, weed, and other stupid stuff. I honestly don't know why this trash is so popular these days we really need rock to be on top of the genres like back in the day.
  2. Jul 5, 2011
    4
    Is there any song more annoying than "Roll Up"? The correct answer is no. Unfortunately, that isn't the lowest point here, and the best songs sound like filler material for better albums. As far as mainstream missteps go, "Lasers" is better.
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    3
    I love wiz khalifa but this album sucked Except For On My Level & When Im Gone. HE lyrics arent superior to his mixtapes and his old stuff. If you want to hear better wiz Khalifa go Listen To Show & Prove, Kush & OJ, B.A.R, all of his other Tapes. Wiz Plz Make O.N.I.F.C better than Rolling Pappers
  4. Jan 27, 2012
    0
    So he's just some greedy, sex-hungry pothead whose songs are always about the same subject: Money, drugs, and sex (which is what most rap artists today only care about). Ahh... the good old days where rap artists/enthusiasts/fans were not all potheads.
  5. Mar 25, 2012
    3
    Kush and OJ is a great tape and I made the mistake of expecting more or less the same thing when I listened to this. But, wow, this is a perfect example of mainstream garbage.
  6. Apr 3, 2011
    0
    Lyrics are bad... and since it's rap and rap is based on lyrics, this album is bad... Okay, the beats are catchy, but it's still crap. I can't believe Black And Yellow reached #1 -_-"
  7. Apr 2, 2011
    0
    This is nothing but garbage. Terrible lyrics mixed with cheesy cringe worthy hooks. Every song sounds the same. All he raps about is smoking weed, being rich and partying. It gets extremely boring. What happened to the Kush & OJ Wiz Khalifa. He sold out with this album.
  8. Mar 29, 2011
    5
    Neat, catchy, and well put together hooks and exceptionally good beat selection made the greater bulk of this album. Wiz Khalifa isn't a terrible rapper. His flow and delivery are very decent. Lyrically, he needs to tighten up. He has punchlines, ideas, and concepts all around, but he needs to sharpen and develop a more solid, constant method of bringing them out.
  9. May 16, 2011
    10
    this dude is absolutely amazing. yea his music is all about weed but there is nothing greater than an underground rapper coming into the light and still being the same...dope. enough said
  10. Apr 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. A return to the quiet rock.

    The year started well rock'n roll, with Arcade Fire dominating the Grammy, and the Foo Fighters made â
    Collapse
  11. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    Although many people would say the album is more of a poppy type of album it still doesn't take away from the greatness of it. Believe me people I love the hardest gangsta suff out there and Wiz can top the best of the them just look at on my level feat too short so Wiz can make a whole album hardcore and he has before so all the haters just looking at that get the heck out of here andAlthough many people would say the album is more of a poppy type of album it still doesn't take away from the greatness of it. Believe me people I love the hardest gangsta suff out there and Wiz can top the best of the them just look at on my level feat too short so Wiz can make a whole album hardcore and he has before so all the haters just looking at that get the heck out of here and quit leaving negative reviews just to be a troll. That being said Rolling Papers is the next generation of Wiz's talent and it is very good. Wiz is on his way to being a great rapper and the album is a perfect 100. Expand
  12. NJR
    Mar 29, 2011
    6
    First of all, let's please not all act as if we were expecting anything more than mainstream, radio, club sh*t because we weren't, right from the second he dropped Black & Yellow, we knew the score. Anyway, I would give the album 6.5 personally but 7 seemed too high for me so I rounded down. Lyricism for the most part was very predictable and mediocre, production very much the same story,First of all, let's please not all act as if we were expecting anything more than mainstream, radio, club sh*t because we weren't, right from the second he dropped Black & Yellow, we knew the score. Anyway, I would give the album 6.5 personally but 7 seemed too high for me so I rounded down. Lyricism for the most part was very predictable and mediocre, production very much the same story, although I loved the Rooftops and The Race's beats, classic Wiz. It's kind of sad that the highlight of the album for me was the one Curren$y verse, anyone else remember the days when those two were considered equals? Ha! How things change. Anywho, the biggest positive of this LP for me is the fact that it succeeds in doing what it set out to, be extremely accessible to the mainstream and to be honest, I would rather hear this on the radio 24/7 rather than Ke$ha or Pitbull or David Guetta. Overall an ok album, no better or worse than the majority of mainstream Hip Hop, seriously lacking substance but c'mon, if you're looking for substance then you really shouldn't be listening to an album called ROLLING PAPERS.... Expand
  13. Jun 30, 2011
    4
    This is an okay debut from Wiz sure to please many stoners as they form around the bong or wait patiently while the J's and blunts are rolled. There are some nice beats and interesting ideas that needed more time to manifest fully but the lyrics are mediocre at best and there seems to be no progression from Kush and Orange Juice.
  14. Sep 2, 2011
    3
    I use to be a huge Wiz Khalifa fan until this album. The album is very disappointing. Wiz is known for his good mixtapes and his Pittsburgh swag. In this album it was terrible lyrics, ok beats but mediocre production. Wiz Khalifa went too commercial on this album an let fans like myself down. Worth downloading but not worth buying at all.
  15. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    Not the raw, rapping wiz khalifa I wanted but I still respect and enjoy this album. I've seen him twice in concert since the release of this and I have more respect for the songs. I would probably give Kush and OJ a 8/10 and Rolling Papers just isn't as good.
  16. Mar 9, 2012
    9
    in my opinion, this was one of the best rap albums of 2011. every song on this CD is good or really good. Wiz Khalifa has a bright future and i hope he keeps doing what he's doing
  17. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    This **** Is So **** Wack. He's On some drug **** he's been smoking weed or crack on this album. wiz khalifa is so **** gay his lyrics are just overrated and the production. the hooks are ****g stupid. Along with lil wayne and drake and waka flocka, he's "THE HIP-HOP KILLER" so ****g wack dumb and ****g ugly. **** this **** ass mother****er's music. **** HIM
  18. Nov 13, 2012
    2
    Weed, weed, weed, and guess what? Weed. That's all he sings about, the only rapper out there who's a worse writer is Soulja Boy.

    Wiz Khalifa are one of the great examples gangster rap is dead, and rap overall is dying out. A real shame that wanna be thugs listen to this crap.
  19. Nov 3, 2012
    5
    what ever happend to the kid who made kush and o.j, cabin fever, flight school and prince of the city??? just pure crap, wiz is becoming famous for this crap... dis **** should go get his **** together and start back makin good music again... he really disappointed me, i still love this guy but plz start back makin those dope songs over those dope beats mah ****
  20. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    Crappy, talentless rap music that kids seems to dig this days. If you want to listen to the real Wiz Khalifa, go listen to his1st mixtape or his album.
  21. Sep 2, 2014
    3
    Rolling Papers was the latest album Wiz released after Cabin Fever which, in my opinion, is one of Wiz's worst mixtapes. Most of the tracks sound almost the same except for a few and they were the better tracks. Album and mixtape wise, 2011 was not Wiz's year.
  22. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    This album is alright. I was expecting Wiz to do better, but there are a few good songs on here. I wouldn't buy the album though. I feel like Wiz is more of a mix tape artist though, he should stick to those.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    After Rolling Papers Wiz' fan base should expand significantly, as should the number of rap purists angry about his lack of rhyme skills, but complaining about his "rap" skills completely misses the point.
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    If this is what we get - because this is what enough of us apparently want - the end of the music business cannot come soon enough.
  3. 80
    Rolling Papers may be Wiz Khalifa's studio debut and his breakthrough record, but as far as mainstream rap goes, it's far from it.