• Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Jul 25, 2006
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 5 out of 54

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinG
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    Stunning.
  2. tupper
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    amazing! everything rock and roll should be.
  3. jonc
    Aug 10, 2006
    10
    Ali Farka Toure was a brilliant, powerful musician and great person. This CD captures his desert blues perfectly, adding other instrumentation to create new moods and dynamics, it's one of his best. I'm grateful he was able to create this before he left us.
  4. ShoisiaD
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Unbelievable! The music is so beautiful and moving. I can't stop listening to it
  5. BrettG.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Supremely magical, a triumph of revelation in the sober gray world of today.
  6. HorriM
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    I own most of the CD
  7. LizeH
    Dec 16, 2006
    10
    Concerning Savane, I've nothing to add to the description given by Horri M. I am very grateful to Ali Farka Toure for the superb and soul-healing creations, wisdom, humility and humanity that no amount of money can buy. If this is the work of a farmer for whom music was just a hobby, I wonder what we could have missed! A shining example for the overwhelming majority of today's Concerning Savane, I've nothing to add to the description given by Horri M. I am very grateful to Ali Farka Toure for the superb and soul-healing creations, wisdom, humility and humanity that no amount of money can buy. If this is the work of a farmer for whom music was just a hobby, I wonder what we could have missed! A shining example for the overwhelming majority of today's stars. Up there with the best of the best. Thank you louds & loudly and RIP ! Expand
  8. ReubenF
    Dec 18, 2006
    10
    "the DNA of the blues" - Martin Scorsese Organic & Soulful. Possibly his best album.
  9. LawrieC
    Oct 22, 2006
    10
    Forget about the desert blues tag, or that Ali is now dead; it's an unecessary distraction from the music. Toure was a brilliant musician - the grooves he dug in this CD make John Lee Hooker look catatonic. I've followed this career for a while, and was taken by surprise that his last two CDs were so comprehensively African and wonderful - never mind that he was near to death Forget about the desert blues tag, or that Ali is now dead; it's an unecessary distraction from the music. Toure was a brilliant musician - the grooves he dug in this CD make John Lee Hooker look catatonic. I've followed this career for a while, and was taken by surprise that his last two CDs were so comprehensively African and wonderful - never mind that he was near to death when he recorded them - they're brilliant on any scale. Penda Yoro, Soya, Savane and Fara are my current fave tracks - unbelievably soulful, cool and beautiful. You can keep the modern USA blues - Ali had the real stuff. Expand
  10. DerekD.
    Sep 18, 2007
    9
    Simply astounding roots music. Speaks to me even though I don't know his language.
  11. leiris
    Nov 7, 2006
    9
    Jimmy F said "Now if this is being ranked on a scale of African Blues Music, maybe then it would be at the top" I am asking myself what this kid meant by this? My conclusion is that he has no idea. I am glad that he can spit out legendary names, as can most people who really know anything about music, but to put this album down because it is not
  12. madsl
    Aug 28, 2006
    9
    a stunning, raw and exciting effort from the late desert blues king! perhaps his greatest album ever! As Ry Cooder has remarked, this is pure genius!
  13. SamH
    Sep 24, 2006
    9
    I am still working my way through this album. Each listening reveals a little more.
  14. RM
    Oct 24, 2006
    8
    Its ridiculous that this gets high reviews just because it is a genre that we don't listen to much in Western culture - you can never give this a twenty say without being accused of being narrow minded or racist, even if it is rubbish (it is now well in the top ten albums ever reviewed on metacritic). Still, I am glad I own the album for variety's sake and yeah, it's even Its ridiculous that this gets high reviews just because it is a genre that we don't listen to much in Western culture - you can never give this a twenty say without being accused of being narrow minded or racist, even if it is rubbish (it is now well in the top ten albums ever reviewed on metacritic). Still, I am glad I own the album for variety's sake and yeah, it's even quite enjoyable when you get into it. It would be handy if I could understand the lyrics (obviously not in English) because otherwise, the voice is just an instrument - at least it's a good one. Expand
  15. AladdynSane
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    I do have to agree with Todd W. that there's usually a love fest associated with recently-dead musicians. I reserve 10's for truly amazing, groundbreaking, listen to over and over again type of music. This album beats 99% of things out there today, but I would agree that this is no Pink Moon, Pet Sounds, etc. etc. Still, if this genre is your thing or you're open-minded I do have to agree with Todd W. that there's usually a love fest associated with recently-dead musicians. I reserve 10's for truly amazing, groundbreaking, listen to over and over again type of music. This album beats 99% of things out there today, but I would agree that this is no Pink Moon, Pet Sounds, etc. etc. Still, if this genre is your thing or you're open-minded enough to give this one a shot, I think you'll be very satisfied. Expand
  16. JD
    Jan 28, 2007
    8
    I count several very good tunes, 2 topnotch -- I don't understand the '0' votes -- a '0' vote should be reserved for kfed. Just because you believe it was rated too high, don't turn into a hater!
  17. RichardK
    Jan 8, 2007
    8
    I'm only mildly interested in blues, but I took a chance on this album based on the Metacritic rating and the user comments. And suprisingly I really liked this album. I'm often disapointed when I try a highly rated album outside my comfort zone, but this one really works for me.
  18. ChrisD
    Dec 22, 2006
    7
    I was excited to see that something has been rated so high, but i was left dissapointed after a listen. I can appreciate the album, its just not my cup of tea.
  19. JabezH.
    Sep 8, 2007
    6
    This is an OK album, but not nearly as good as 2005's "In the Heart of the Moon", or even "Talking Timbuktu". It certainly wasn't the best record of 2006, but worth it if you into the blues or a Toure fan.
  20. matta
    Oct 16, 2006
    6
    It doesn't seem fair to all the albums truly deserving of good reviews this year that this one gets kudos just because it's some posthumous release by an african dude that's supposedly a legend. Not god-awful, but not very memorable, and certainly not deserving of a 94 either.
  21. chik
    Nov 29, 2006
    6
    I regret downloading this. Definitely not a 94.
  22. JimmyF
    Oct 12, 2006
    5
    I've listened to this album multiple times and I still don't get the hype. Maybe this is the Buena Vista Social club Album of the year, but I know blues music, and this doesn't rank with the best. Now if this is being ranked on a scale of African Blues Music, maybe then it would be at the top, but I'm ranking it for what it is, and Savane isn't great. Get yourself I've listened to this album multiple times and I still don't get the hype. Maybe this is the Buena Vista Social club Album of the year, but I know blues music, and this doesn't rank with the best. Now if this is being ranked on a scale of African Blues Music, maybe then it would be at the top, but I'm ranking it for what it is, and Savane isn't great. Get yourself some Bukka White, Skip James, Lightnen' Hopkins, or John Hurt and hear the real thing. Track "Savane" is the best track - but still not even close to a 93/100. Expand
  23. ToddW
    Nov 1, 2006
    0
    This vote is not so much a rejection of this album, but the whole Dead Music Artist Releases Swan Song and Critics Swoon idea. See Johnny Cash and Warren Zevon, et al. I know they're probably just trying to be kind, which is fine if you happen to be at the wake, but call it as you hear it, not as your heart wants it in some Alice in Wonderland musical utopia. Perhaps I'm missing This vote is not so much a rejection of this album, but the whole Dead Music Artist Releases Swan Song and Critics Swoon idea. See Johnny Cash and Warren Zevon, et al. I know they're probably just trying to be kind, which is fine if you happen to be at the wake, but call it as you hear it, not as your heart wants it in some Alice in Wonderland musical utopia. Perhaps I'm missing something, but are you telling me this album is in league with "Astral Weeks," "Forever Changes," "Highway 61," "Pet Sounds," "Closer," "O.K. Computer," "In the Aeroplane Over the Sea," "Pink Moon," or "Spiderland?" I'm sorry, my condolences, but no. Expand
  24. RobertM
    Dec 22, 2006
    0
    Look, this is not revelatory music. It's the same crappy blues, this time played by an African musician. Give me Fela, King Sunny Ade, Youssou N'Dour anytime over this guy. It's sad that he passed, but that is no reason for this recording to rate a 9.4!! And higher than Waits and the others on the list???? Please!!! This is just misguided, overly-sympathetic voting.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. His unsentimental, voluptuously masculine, spirit-guided magic is captured at its best, for all time, in this magnificent farewell.
  2. One of his most accomplished recordings.
  3. "Savane" is without question one of the finest efforts in his legendary discography.