Save Rock and Roll

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Save Rock and Roll Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 149 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by Butch Walker, the fifth full-length studio release from the pop punk band is its first album since the quartet announced an indefinite hiatus in 2009.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Apr 17, 2013
    83
    Save Rock And Roll is the band’s most personal album yet, a tribute to being passionate and young when time makes the former difficult and the latter impossible.
  2. 80
    Admittedly, it takes a few listens for Save Rock And Roll to click, and some songs (“Alone Together,” “Miss Missing You”) are notably weaker than others. But overall, Save Rock And Roll is a blast of an album.
  3. Apr 18, 2013
    80
    It's business as usual, with slightly appeal-broadening knobs on. Quiet bits, then loud bits, and words about alienation wrapped up in catchy choruses to unite thousands.
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    70
    Save Rock and Roll isn't life or game changing but it's probably the album FOB needed to make--if only for themselves--and as an honest portrait of the roller-coaster ride that is FOB's career, it finds them on a high.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    70
    With the emphasis--ironically--more on “Pop” than “Rocky” it’s not as dynamic with contrast as the more accomplished Folie à Deux yet it’s a charming, convincing and much welcome comeback.
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    60
    The star power of the record's guests overshadows the album's best moments.
  7. 30
    I can only assume the title Save Rock and Roll is intentionally ironic on their part because even they should know it's quite a stretch to call this rock and roll.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 45
  2. Negative: 5 out of 45
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    They did a very honorable, risky thing and streamed their album days before the release date via soundcloud. I listened to it at least 10They did a very honorable, risky thing and streamed their album days before the release date via soundcloud. I listened to it at least 10 times and am going to get the physical copy ASAP. I recommend this album to anyone. The genre and moods range song to song and has something for everybody Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Amazing and long overdue... FOB brings a lot of new-ness to the scene that shows they can be relevant in 2013 while maintaining #1 on theAmazing and long overdue... FOB brings a lot of new-ness to the scene that shows they can be relevant in 2013 while maintaining #1 on the charts.

    An amazing album.
    Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    Their best album. Strong tracks ("The Phoenix", MSKWYDITD, "The Mighty Fall" and "Death Valley"), deep tracks ("Alone Together", "Just OneTheir best album. Strong tracks ("The Phoenix", MSKWYDITD, "The Mighty Fall" and "Death Valley"), deep tracks ("Alone Together", "Just One Yesterday" and "Miss Missing You"), one strong AND deep track ("Save Rock and Roll") and some groovy tunes ("Where Did the Party Go" and "Young Volcanoes"). Oh! And of course: One little mess in the middle to ruing what would be something perfect: Rat a Tat. The collaborations are all great (except for Courtney Love) and Fall Out Boy should definitely keep walking these roads. Collapse
  4. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    Full of solid arena rock tracks, Save Rock and Roll is far from a traditional rock album, and save rock it will not. But as an album of goodFull of solid arena rock tracks, Save Rock and Roll is far from a traditional rock album, and save rock it will not. But as an album of good individual tracks, it works. Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2013
    8
    A mixed bag that grows on you, this album is nothing if not a triumphant return to what these four were in the beginning: four guys makingA mixed bag that grows on you, this album is nothing if not a triumphant return to what these four were in the beginning: four guys making music they would jam out to themselves and could be proud of. The album has definite high points like the up-beat, instant radio jam "Young Volcanoes" and the classic fall out boy lines such as "The Phoenix's" Wearing our vintage misery/No, i think i looked a little better on me. There are also a few stumbles like the clunky and unsure "Death Valley" which washes out Stump's vocals and the unimpressive "The Mighty Fall" which proudly boasts unimaginative hooks and an ill-advised guest appearance from Big Sean which will probably not win over a lot of fall out boy's pop-punk fan base. Overall the album is both a bold experiment and a return to form for Fall Out Boy, that's sure to have Fall Out Boy fans hitting repeat and those looking for a unique sound checking them out. Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    7
    I give this a 7 only because to me it just doesnt seem like a Fall Out Boy album. I guess im old school when it comes to FOB I love Take thisI give this a 7 only because to me it just doesnt seem like a Fall Out Boy album. I guess im old school when it comes to FOB I love Take this to your grave and From Under the Cork Tree. They are a few song on this album that I do like alot but The whole album in general doesnt give me that full excitement. Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    There is no difference between this album and any other mainstream rock album that has been released in the past 5 years. It is typical,There is no difference between this album and any other mainstream rock album that has been released in the past 5 years. It is typical, uninspired and unoriginal. Have they changed? Yes. Is the change good? By no means. This album is an abysmal attempt music, if you want to listen to Fall Out Boy, stick with the old stuff. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews