Scab Dates - The Mars Volta
Scab Dates Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This live set from the neo-prog outfit was recorded on the road between May 2004 and May 2005.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Exhausting, self-indulgent, and also kind of awesome. [18 Nov 2005, p.134]
  2. One of those rare live offerings: a document that actually complements the band's catalog. [#12, p.95]
  3. Marvellous. [5 Nov 2005, p.45]
  4. At its best, it's a fantastic album, with amazing musicianship that's emotionally striking. At it's worse, it's empty.
  5. Scab Dates does an adequate job of capturing what is best experienced in the flesh.
  6. 40
    The songs get lost in waves of wah-wah long before a long, slow fade into random-noise oblivion. [Dec 2005, p.149]
  7. Wading through the next 70-plus minutes of wandering noise and blank hissing for the gems was painful, to put it mildly, because when I got to them, they were played off-key and incredibly quickly, as if the band wanted to get it over with and get back to banging on the guitars and making nonsensical noise.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. MaxG
    Nov 22, 2005
    10
    These reviewers are idiots. The raw energy and talent contained in this album is unmatched, and definitely is a step forward. Comparing it to These reviewers are idiots. The raw energy and talent contained in this album is unmatched, and definitely is a step forward. Comparing it to studio albums is a step backwards in reason. If you like TMV in any regard, you will love this album. Expand
  2. TristanL
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    Fantastic. Takes a long time to get into, but once you do its well worth it. Lovely stuff. Bit ear bleeding at times, but lovely.
  3. kylel.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    if you don't like this album its because its over your head. the closest our generation will ever get to led zepplin
  4. JB
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    I'm sorry to say this, but Miss Machine, you are an idiot. Obviously you have never seen a Mars Volta show. It's one of the most I'm sorry to say this, but Miss Machine, you are an idiot. Obviously you have never seen a Mars Volta show. It's one of the most energetic and entertaining concerts both musically and visually. This record is a great introduction to The Volta's live performences. I admit it does get a little lost at times, but thats the only way to listen to them. You have to be able to lose yourself in the music. Expand
  5. BenjaminR
    Nov 28, 2005
    8
    Only for fans of the group. Some of the arrangements are truly mesmerizing, but some seem relatively self-important. If, however, you Only for fans of the group. Some of the arrangements are truly mesmerizing, but some seem relatively self-important. If, however, you can't get enough of the Mars Volta and have literally played the tracks off of their first two albums (my "Frances the Mute" is in pretty bad shape), this is a good supplement. It just lacks the cohesiveness that comes with a studio album. Expand
  6. Richard
    Oct 4, 2006
    6
    I intensly adore the mars volta. Frances the mute is amoung my all time favourite albums, deloused in the commatorium and the new I intensly adore the mars volta. Frances the mute is amoung my all time favourite albums, deloused in the commatorium and the new amputechture are not far behind. The problem i have with this alubm is that strangely, they sound better live. That may sound strange, seeing as this is a live alubm, but the mars volta live sound a thousand times better than this album. That is not so much a criticism of this album as it is a testement to their actual live performances. Expand
  7. MissMachine
    Nov 19, 2005
    0
    Complete garbage. Mars Volta is not a live band and this is evident in this record. They completely fall apart onstage. Garbage.

See all 20 User Reviews