Scale

  • Record Label: K7
  • Release Date: May 30, 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JayT
    Mar 29, 2007
    9
    Yes, some of the elements here are familiar, but anyone calling this abum predictable doesn't listen to anything but the most surface elements. It's a deceptively accessible and glitzy album with an increible amount of depth of arrangement and composition. Very close to being an absolute classic, but kind of loses steam in the second half.
  2. mattt
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    great and creative masterpiece, one of the best of 06. definitely deserves more listens in 07. I agree with Javier on the Knife and Junior Boys but I'm From Barcelona is by far one of the best new bands and has one of the best new releases.
  3. JavierM
    Aug 30, 2006
    0
    Probably the worst album of the year beside the I´m from Barcelona one...Matt, is that electronic?..C´mon!!! This is cheap and awful.There was a time when u used to be cool and good enough, but now u´re terrible. Forget the critics, this is bad and predictable music, created with the worst taste on earth. Please!! Do the critics listen to the music the review?, Do they Probably the worst album of the year beside the I´m from Barcelona one...Matt, is that electronic?..C´mon!!! This is cheap and awful.There was a time when u used to be cool and good enough, but now u´re terrible. Forget the critics, this is bad and predictable music, created with the worst taste on earth. Please!! Do the critics listen to the music the review?, Do they know anything about electronic?.. Check The Knife or Junior Boys new releases...Matt and the critics, you all just pull people´s leg... Don´t buy this album, just ignore it. Expand
  4. MattA
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    The sheer uniqueness of Herbert's methods in Scale is reason enough to praise this avantgarde effort, but it's the fact that such a bold concept ended up sounding so wonderful that makes this album shine and shine and shine. This is easily the best album of the year.
  5. AlexV
    Aug 21, 2006
    9
    I get chills listening to this album. It's as jazzy and soulful as ever despite the glitchy sampling.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Aug 7, 2006
    8
    more listenable than any of his previous releases, Scale is the quintessential blip on the radar indicating the approach of an ominous force.
  7. KarynW
    Jul 17, 2006
    0
    Initially boring but after a few listens the vocals make you want to tear the stars down from the sky and crush them.
  8. RH
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    Album of the year. Hands down. Listening to this in the car or on the train or bus or whatever in the middle of a bustling city is orgasmic.
  9. ThomasR
    Jun 24, 2006
    10
    An absolute masterpiece! Herbert's best album yet!
  10. MelissaD
    Jun 23, 2006
    5
    I can see the technical merit points, but overall I thought this CD was pretty dull. I was excited for a dance music album with such great reviews, but instead got what might be a Dance Music album played on NPR, or Dance music for the above 40 crowd. The vocals were very irritating.
  11. DavidR
    Jun 21, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums in decades. Totally unique, this is not an electronic album. A glitch-electronic-producer with 700-some instruments recorded with microphones, along with some amazing vocalists, lead us into brand new musical terrain... uncharted.
  12. AlanG
    Jun 17, 2006
    9
    I danced to it all day when I had the time to play it all day. If it makes you want to dance without thinking about what you are doing it has to be a good dance album. Right?
  13. captainferre
    Jun 8, 2006
    7
    herbert has mixed up his post big band style of "Goodbye Swingtime" with the "bodily functions" era sample cut ups and Dani Siciliano vocals, to fairly groovesome effect. Sadly there's a sense of drift and the album doesn't really chart much of a leap forward. Dani S's vocals are sweet but like the music are more texture than stand out. Despite Herbert's cute-formalist herbert has mixed up his post big band style of "Goodbye Swingtime" with the "bodily functions" era sample cut ups and Dani Siciliano vocals, to fairly groovesome effect. Sadly there's a sense of drift and the album doesn't really chart much of a leap forward. Dani S's vocals are sweet but like the music are more texture than stand out. Despite Herbert's cute-formalist sampling techniques and policies he's not really good with melodies or lyrics per se, and the lushness does little to hide this. Expand
  14. jacksonb
    Jun 6, 2006
    10
    i love this album!!! this is one of the greatest masterpieces of all masterpieces of all time. it will be done considered done a classic in done 30 years from done.
  15. Wojtek
    Jun 4, 2006
    10
    Smashing!
  16. DanS
    Jun 3, 2006
    9
    On Scale, Herbert delivers an incredibly rich sound, coating each layer with its own deep texture. A pleasure to listen to, which is convenient because I can't stop playing it.
  17. zeroselon
    Jun 3, 2006
    4
    this vocalist is so annoying. who is this music for? glitch - dico? yuck.
  18. gman
    Jun 1, 2006
    7
    I saw Herbert perform this album at the ICA and it was the most disappointing gig I've ever witnessed. Dani Siciliano was substituted by a session singer and the whole thing just sounded like naff soul-funk. I've now heard the album a few times and it certainly sounds far more interesting with Dani's vocals. The intricacies of the music are also more noticeable on CD but I saw Herbert perform this album at the ICA and it was the most disappointing gig I've ever witnessed. Dani Siciliano was substituted by a session singer and the whole thing just sounded like naff soul-funk. I've now heard the album a few times and it certainly sounds far more interesting with Dani's vocals. The intricacies of the music are also more noticeable on CD but I'm still not convinced it's a patch on Bodily Functions or Plat Du Jour. Overall, it's still a Herbert album and despite some songs venturing into sterile soul-pop territory, it's still worth parting with your money. Expand
  19. judej.
    May 31, 2006
    9
    What makes Herbert a constant engagment is his love of sound and inability to make a sequel: this is not "Around the House part II". Totally a lush and inventive album from a very progressive artist.
  20. kellyw.
    May 31, 2006
    10
    Best Album of the year; I wasn't expecting a album that overshadows 'bodily functions'. If this was Radiohead---it would be thier 'OK Computer'.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Though Herbert has outdone himself and matches his ambitions with his achievements, the songs are unmistakably his and Siciliano's, sounding like no one else, twisting and swinging and drifting with optimum vibrancy.
  2. Warm and quirky. Pleasantly bizarre. Sophisticated and daft. Herbert at his best.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Herbert sneakily subverts Scale's apocalyptic thematic thread into something warm and danceable. [2 Jun 2006, p.83]