Scarlet's Walk

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2002
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 112

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TanyaR
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    I think this is Tori's most prolific album yet. She certainly knows how to say all the things so many of us are thinking and feeling but unable to utter. I have given this CD to all the women I know. IT IS JUST FANTASTIC
  2. SteveF
    Nov 2, 2002
    9
    While not as angry or feisty as previous albums, which earned her a lot of fans, this is still an intelligent and thought provoking piece. It is calm and placid in many places , but not so much that it becomes boring. While some songs tend to blend together, notably Strange, Carbon and Crazy, they still stand on their own merit, and this blend is a positive thing, as it makes the disc While not as angry or feisty as previous albums, which earned her a lot of fans, this is still an intelligent and thought provoking piece. It is calm and placid in many places , but not so much that it becomes boring. While some songs tend to blend together, notably Strange, Carbon and Crazy, they still stand on their own merit, and this blend is a positive thing, as it makes the disc feel like one story, which was exactly what Tori was trying to acheive. Other songs have greater diversity such as the more upbeat Pancake, and I Cant See New York. The latter could have ended up cheesy and annoying as many topical news songs do, but it is pulled off with heart wrenching intensity and amazing lyrics. The lyrics and range are still way above the new clan of singer songwriters who have emerged this year, Tori has most certainly not lost her place in the heart of the majority of her fans. While many reviewers are negative about this album, it is often because they have always expected Tori to produce another Little Earthquakes. But if she did that then others would criticise her for being repetitive. Each album has something different to offer and this is why Tori has lasted so long in her field. Had she produced identical style albums, like many artists do, she would have declined into complete banalness. and treaded water. Instead I eagerly look forward to hearing each new effort from Tori. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Her best since Under the Pink
  4. annan
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    An amazing album and the best one shes done.
  5. AMiller
    Nov 1, 2002
    9
    It's a brilliant album. Tori did it again. =)
  6. TimS
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    This is maybe the greatest, most original work Tori has produced since Boys For Pele. Every song leaves an impression as the journey across America progresses. Its a complete album, and a complete story. Tori's originality and varied sounds and styles only make her more exceptional, who would like her if after 10 years, she was still churning out Little Earthquakes? If after a decade This is maybe the greatest, most original work Tori has produced since Boys For Pele. Every song leaves an impression as the journey across America progresses. Its a complete album, and a complete story. Tori's originality and varied sounds and styles only make her more exceptional, who would like her if after 10 years, she was still churning out Little Earthquakes? If after a decade she sounded the same, she would not have the strong fanbase that she does. The day that Tori sounds like her previous album, I will stop listening. Expand
  7. Dave
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    Eeesh. This album is fricking amazing, certainly a hell of alot better than LE, which is probably her most mediocre, self indulgent album, thank you very much. ;)
  8. jamesb
    Nov 6, 2002
    1
    don't trust any reviewer that thinks they're on a first-name basis with tori amos. here's the truth about this thing. it's about 10 songs too long. it's completely irrelevant. it will only appeal to her core fanbase and select members of the VH1 crowd who live for this kind of sentimental fluff. nobody needs to hear this. completely irrelevant.
  9. ArtW
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    I never thought anything would top Boys for Pele but she's done it. Amazing album. With the loads of crap coming out these days, I thank you Tori.
  10. DanTeaParty
    Jan 17, 2003
    7
    While a pleasant enough effort on Amos' part, the overall effect is bland rather than experimental. Fans of Amos' earliest work may see this album as a return to form, however, Scarlet's Walk lacks the delightful eccentricity of such previous releases as 1996's Boys For Pele. For those who prefer Amos at her more gentle, however, this is the ideal album. Overall a While a pleasant enough effort on Amos' part, the overall effect is bland rather than experimental. Fans of Amos' earliest work may see this album as a return to form, however, Scarlet's Walk lacks the delightful eccentricity of such previous releases as 1996's Boys For Pele. For those who prefer Amos at her more gentle, however, this is the ideal album. Overall a easily listenable but hardly exciting album. Expand
  11. AddieW
    Jan 2, 2004
    9
    Some of her better work since Under the Pink... it's nice to see her get back to the roots that I fell in love listening to (wasn't a big fan of Strange Little Girls). It's just nice to find an artist who does her own thing and has a fan base who deeply understands her. I've been a fan forever and will listen to her no matter what... but this able was a refreshing step Some of her better work since Under the Pink... it's nice to see her get back to the roots that I fell in love listening to (wasn't a big fan of Strange Little Girls). It's just nice to find an artist who does her own thing and has a fan base who deeply understands her. I've been a fan forever and will listen to her no matter what... but this able was a refreshing step back to all that is Tori Amos Expand
  12. RandyB
    Jun 20, 2005
    9
    This concept album about a girl named Scarlet (an alter ego for Tori I suspect) going on a cross-country road-trip is in so many ways pretty. Sometimes it
  13. TrixieL
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I love this album, nuff said
  14. DamienB
    May 20, 2006
    10
    an amazing album and is deff. one of my fav. tori albums expecially virginia and gold dust!!!! if i may say A may zing@!!
  15. Karen
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    I have read in several arenas the question regarding Tori's lyrics making sense. I have also seen them labeled as ramblings or another genius offering that she is simply trying to to keep the melody of the song in tact. I could not disagree more. What no one seems to offer is this; Tori is a person, a living human being with stories of her own. Do you NEED to know what Dahli was I have read in several arenas the question regarding Tori's lyrics making sense. I have also seen them labeled as ramblings or another genius offering that she is simply trying to to keep the melody of the song in tact. I could not disagree more. What no one seems to offer is this; Tori is a person, a living human being with stories of her own. Do you NEED to know what Dahli was thinking when he painted? Or can you just appreciate it for what it is - Art and nothing more. Beautiful, moving and powerful. I am inclined to believe these songs would make perfect sense to all if we were part of her everyday life. Consider this, if I were to tell you a short story relating to a relationship in my life using catch phases, cute names or local street talk would you know what I am talking about? Exactly! So why do you expect a few paragraphs offered in 10-12 songs every one or two years to be wrapped up in a pretty ribbon and laid at your feet in clear and concise terms? The underlying theme to all of her music is the passion behind it - you KNOW what she is trying to say or relate to us. Sorrow, happiness, silliness all easily read through in her lyrics. Even if I don't know who "Crazy" is, I understand completely. Catch the gist, the theme the message and forget everything else. I don't NEED to know why she was scared by paper tigers to understand what this song is about because I get it! Point taken. I relate. Perhaps she is writing for herself and is kind enough to share it with us. Has anyone consider this? She is first and foremost a human being the Star part came later. Expand
  16. amberwaves
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    best tori album since choirgirl. i can't see new york is one of the best songs she's ever written. not to miss.
  17. N.Scully
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Tori Amos is one "Strange Little Girl". You either love her to death or hate her with a passion. I love this album, and I like the fact that she isn't what you call main stream. She's an undiscovered discovery her fans have been aquainted with for years. I'm thankful for her music and her frankness albiet metaphoric in nature. Scarlet's Walk, as indulgent as it is, is Tori Amos is one "Strange Little Girl". You either love her to death or hate her with a passion. I love this album, and I like the fact that she isn't what you call main stream. She's an undiscovered discovery her fans have been aquainted with for years. I'm thankful for her music and her frankness albiet metaphoric in nature. Scarlet's Walk, as indulgent as it is, is brilliant. Expand
  18. Natasha
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part II...or Part II of just about any album she's made--don't hold it against Scarlet--and don't hold it against Tori--you should have stopped purchasing her albums at some point in 1998 for your own good! Expand
  19. MrZebra
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Amazing. Solid production,vocals, and songwriting throughout.
  20. MissyK
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    an absolutely and utterly stunning album
  21. Amy
    Nov 1, 2002
    8
    Great!! Very polished and relaxed sound. Virginia, Wednesday and Carbon are my top 3.
  22. Jonas
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    I agree with the reviewer below: this is her best work since Under the Pink, her best album to date. It's too bad SW has a disappointing metascore, but I remember reading a Spin review that gave it a 9. Why isn't it on here?
  23. DanielG
    Nov 4, 2002
    8
    An excellent album. I didn't know what to expect from this CD. I thoroughly enjoyed the first single, "A Sorta Fairytale", but had mixed feelings about the other tunes released with the sampler. When I got home and put the release version of the album into my CD player, I was pleasantly surprised to find myself still sitting listening to the album one full hour later. The last An excellent album. I didn't know what to expect from this CD. I thoroughly enjoyed the first single, "A Sorta Fairytale", but had mixed feelings about the other tunes released with the sampler. When I got home and put the release version of the album into my CD player, I was pleasantly surprised to find myself still sitting listening to the album one full hour later. The last quarter of the CD (there are 18 songs) does tend to drag a bit, but each song deserves its place on the track listing. The Scarlet's Web feature is a great idea, but ends up feeling more like a gimmick rather than an enhancement to an already great piece of artistic work. (This might change once Tori's tour kicks into high gear later this month) Do yourself a favor and check out this album for yourself. Ignore the absurdly low rating giving to the album by Eweekly. Tori continues to grow as an artist, and it's great to be able to witness that growth. Expand
  24. Coconut
    Nov 6, 2002
    9
    It's a great album from start to finish... but, uhm, Metacritic, you're forgetting a couple reviews here that might bring up the metascore (Alt Press, Spin, etc.)
  25. Eleanor
    Oct 29, 2002
    9
    Exceptional and riveting.
  26. hugojr
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    This EW review is one of the worst reviews I've ever read. Mr Tucker should review TV shows only. That's waht he does in EW. He's not a music critic. Scarlet's Walk is a masterpiece.
  27. hugojr
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    This EW review is one of the worst reviews I've ever read. Mr Tucker should review TV shows only. That's waht he does in EW. He's not a music critic. Scarlet's Walk is a masterpiece.
  28. borneos
    Oct 29, 2002
    1
    tori used to be fantastic but now she's just following the heels of the rising teenager stars that she obviously wishes she could've been. whoever thought tori amos would stoop to this? michelle branch has new competition and we've lost an original voice.
  29. jont
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    utter perfection!!!
  30. JS
    Oct 30, 2002
    2
    Tori's album "Little Earthquakes" is an album that had a profound personal impact on me, and I suspect many others like me. So powerful an impact that I have loyally purchased every subsequent Tori album, even as each new collection has testified to the steady and continuing decline in the quality of her songwriting. The lucid "LE" introduced us to Tori as a vulnerable survivor with Tori's album "Little Earthquakes" is an album that had a profound personal impact on me, and I suspect many others like me. So powerful an impact that I have loyally purchased every subsequent Tori album, even as each new collection has testified to the steady and continuing decline in the quality of her songwriting. The lucid "LE" introduced us to Tori as a vulnerable survivor with incredible pipes, piano playing chops and melodic sensibilities. "Under the Pink" was a more abstract, expressionistic work purportedly on themes of female vulnerability and security, and while it was inferior as a whole to "LE", it remained a serious work. Yet here we are, a decade later, and the person many believed was poised to make a significant contribution to music for years to come has descended into producing homogenized mediocrity. Since "Boys for Pele", and I have increasingly grown to dread the release of each new album, for fear that one day, she would release an album without a single song of merit on it. That day is here. I have just completed "Scarlett's Walk", and found, that despite having 18(!) songs on it, not a single track approaches the quality of even the lesser works of Tori's first two albums. The only good thing I can say about this album is that is has broken the spell for me- I will no longer be compelled to purchase her future albums. "Scarlet's Walk" is noteworthy only in its length, its self-indulgence (songs inspired by my tour of america after 9/11! yay me!) and ultimately, its pointlessness. Expand
  31. Chloe
    Mar 22, 2003
    9
    First of all, I should probably state that I am a "Toriphile", or "Ear With Feet", so this review will likely be biased. That being said, even if I wasn't an EWF I would still be very impressed with this album. When I first bought it, I was a little disappointed, to be honest. I thought that the songs were too similar, and too calm. However, each time I listened to it, my First of all, I should probably state that I am a "Toriphile", or "Ear With Feet", so this review will likely be biased. That being said, even if I wasn't an EWF I would still be very impressed with this album. When I first bought it, I was a little disappointed, to be honest. I thought that the songs were too similar, and too calm. However, each time I listened to it, my appreciation for it grew. Lyrically, this is probably one of Tori's strongest albums. It is a concept album of sorts, but it doesn't consist of just one tired theme. Musically, its simply beautiful. That's all I have to say. Expand
  32. Christian
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    Personally the best Tori album. Quiet, unhurried and intimately tied to places - very geographic indeed. And there are quite a few records dealing with places. A remarkable collection of wonderful songs that unearths greater depth as one listens more.
  33. JoeSixpack
    Jun 4, 2004
    3
    This album could be runner up to Rush's Vapor Trails as the most overcompressed CD released in the last few years. Large levels of dynamic compression sound fine, and even enhance the music, when applied to AC/DC. Squashing Amos' music utterly ruins it. All the instruments are squashed into a murky stew, and the drums sound utterly pathetic. The music is very dense and This album could be runner up to Rush's Vapor Trails as the most overcompressed CD released in the last few years. Large levels of dynamic compression sound fine, and even enhance the music, when applied to AC/DC. Squashing Amos' music utterly ruins it. All the instruments are squashed into a murky stew, and the drums sound utterly pathetic. The music is very dense and 'busy,' your ears never have time to rest. Compare to Pele's open, airy acoustics. The album has some fantastic songs, and complex, well written arrangements. OTOH, it seems overly long and borderline 'boring' when played in full. Part of this effect is the tiring compression. Music: A- Audio: D Overall: Sorry, not worth 20 freaking dollars. -Greg Expand
  34. Nicky
    May 14, 2005
    10
    This album is quality. My most treasured album is under the pink but excluding the older stuff this is one of my faves. It exudes colour and makes you think about your own personal and emotional journey through life.
  35. ChrisA
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Its the best album ever.
  36. AndreaN.
    Sep 25, 2005
    9
    Musically, this is unquestionably Tori Amos' best album since Under the Pink. Songs like "A Sorta Fairytale", "Taxi Ride", and "Virginia" are among the best she's every written. Personally, I love the fact that Amos's lyrics are often cryptic-- I don't consider her overly precious, and I suspect that she isn't really trying to make sense so much as contribute to a Musically, this is unquestionably Tori Amos' best album since Under the Pink. Songs like "A Sorta Fairytale", "Taxi Ride", and "Virginia" are among the best she's every written. Personally, I love the fact that Amos's lyrics are often cryptic-- I don't consider her overly precious, and I suspect that she isn't really trying to make sense so much as contribute to a certain sonic vibe. This is one of my favourite albums, period. Expand
  37. Stephen
    Jun 30, 2006
    9
    Tori's best album. I agree that there are problems with it: production, and at times, the lyrics. Wah wah, 9/11 = sad. But most of the time, she does pretty well, makes me feel like I'm traveling through America, both historically and physically.
  38. AdriJ
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    Despite not being a Tori fan prior to this album, and discovering it a whole 4 years after its release, I have heard no other album so completely enchanting and captivating as Scarlet's Walk. The wistfulness of "A Sorta Fairytale", the addictive sound of "Taxi Ride", the beauty of "Your Cloud" and the musical masterpiece "Gold Dust" would all move a heart of stone....
  39. Mark
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Several years after it's release I keep returning to this album. For those of you out there listening only to MP3's, do yourself a favor and get the CD and a good stereo. You'll be amazed at what you've been missing and how good the production is. On "I Can't See New York," the first crash of the piano after "Is there a signal there" lyric will take your breath Several years after it's release I keep returning to this album. For those of you out there listening only to MP3's, do yourself a favor and get the CD and a good stereo. You'll be amazed at what you've been missing and how good the production is. On "I Can't See New York," the first crash of the piano after "Is there a signal there" lyric will take your breath away. I rate this album as tied with Little Earthquakes as my favorite Tori album, but having a slight edge due to the quality of the sound engineering. Expand
  40. johns.
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    not brilliant but not bad either her 2 nd worst after the flop the beekeeper. a bit boring but still better than most overrated artists album. if you are new 2 her music give this a pass and buy the brilliant american doll posse. thats more like it! thanx heavens.
  41. JamesBlikesN'Sync
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    A remarkable achievement that live and breathes.
  42. RobbM
    Nov 1, 2002
    7
    I'd give this album a 7 for its catchy and moving tracks, like "A Sorta Fairytale" and "Your Cloud." However, much of the album is laborious and self-indulgent. The more tortured songs are indistinct from one another and the concept (of this conceptual "journey across America" album) is just downright pretentious. There are some stretches of music here that I will never listen to I'd give this album a 7 for its catchy and moving tracks, like "A Sorta Fairytale" and "Your Cloud." However, much of the album is laborious and self-indulgent. The more tortured songs are indistinct from one another and the concept (of this conceptual "journey across America" album) is just downright pretentious. There are some stretches of music here that I will never listen to again...in fact, I think I want 40 minutes of my life back after listening to them the one time. Luckily, however, it is a 70+ minute album and the highlights are worth it. Expand
  43. Eli
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    Her second best album, following Under the Pink. This album just gets better and better.
  44. GwenM
    Nov 1, 2002
    9
    A development from the internal to the external showing Tori's ability as a songwriter to be more than just the exploration of her own psyche... Bliss...
  45. Elliott
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Whiny babies like JS should stop blathering about how Tori never reproduced Little Earthquakes. She moved on, and did not continue to make the same album, like many artists try to do. Instead she has changed her style, her voice, her ideas. She has grown wiser, and her music has expanded. Scarlet is probably Amos's best album to date, and if anyone keeps saying that it's no Whiny babies like JS should stop blathering about how Tori never reproduced Little Earthquakes. She moved on, and did not continue to make the same album, like many artists try to do. Instead she has changed her style, her voice, her ideas. She has grown wiser, and her music has expanded. Scarlet is probably Amos's best album to date, and if anyone keeps saying that it's no Little Earthquakes, I'm going to beat them to a bloody pulp. Get over it - she's matured, and moved on, so should you. Expand
  46. md
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    tori is never going to reproduce "little earthquakes". get over it, and enjoy this cd for what it is: a well-crafted work of art.
  47. MichaelE
    Nov 10, 2002
    8
    Great pop album with a bit much in length and pretention to be poerfect, but still delightful. First album of Tori's I've bought, and a great incentive to go for more. And EVERYONE is on a first name basis with Tori Amos: I don't think I've ever seen her referred to as Ms. Amos in a magazine article or review. That sounds too formal for her. She reminds me of my former Great pop album with a bit much in length and pretention to be poerfect, but still delightful. First album of Tori's I've bought, and a great incentive to go for more. And EVERYONE is on a first name basis with Tori Amos: I don't think I've ever seen her referred to as Ms. Amos in a magazine article or review. That sounds too formal for her. She reminds me of my former bohemian drama teacher. Expand
  48. DanaL
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    Simply wonderful! I can't turn it off.
  49. JamesS
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    Without sacrificing her style, Tori Amos has evolved her music to one which allows for a wider listening audience. My parents even love it!
  50. SethH
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    When compared to what else is out today, I don't know how anybody can not appreciate Scarlet's Walk. This albume is brilliantly captivating, and I hope to hear more from her.
  51. AaronL
    Nov 19, 2002
    7
    I will say that this is her best work since "Under the Pink." Musically, it is her most simple and consistent. No bells or whistles or odd arrangments. Very straightforward and lovely. Lyrically, this is supposed to be a concept album. But the journey we take is one of frustration. Her cryptic references are truly annoying. Although I don't need to be smacked over the head with I will say that this is her best work since "Under the Pink." Musically, it is her most simple and consistent. No bells or whistles or odd arrangments. Very straightforward and lovely. Lyrically, this is supposed to be a concept album. But the journey we take is one of frustration. Her cryptic references are truly annoying. Although I don't need to be smacked over the head with simplicity (like a Phil Collins lyric), but I also don't want to take a literary class in order to get a feel for what she's trying to say. It's a good listen musically and vocally, just save yourself the anguish of trying figure out what it all means and enjoy it. Collapse
  52. MarkF
    Nov 24, 2002
    10
    I rated this a 4 on Amazon, and if I can, I will be changing that to a 5 (equal to the 10 I give here). After listening to this 100 times or so, I think this may be her best overall album. And LE is in my top 10 of all time. LE is still the best debut album ever.
  53. bradbrad
    Nov 3, 2002
    6
    Its an OK release, far from the greater Tori Amos releases of the first part of the 90's, but I do like it better than the last release. I agree with other reviews I've read, which lament that Tori continues to move further away from good old fashioned song enchantress and her piano, and continues to rely upon other delivery...I really prefer the simpler approach. Tori reminds Its an OK release, far from the greater Tori Amos releases of the first part of the 90's, but I do like it better than the last release. I agree with other reviews I've read, which lament that Tori continues to move further away from good old fashioned song enchantress and her piano, and continues to rely upon other delivery...I really prefer the simpler approach. Tori reminds me in a way of REM. REM was never the same after "Document," releases continued to come out, but they seemed to lose the 'repeat listen' magic. How many times have I listend to REM's last album, once? Tori hasn't declined that far, but I'll still be playing LE, UtP and a number of my 'burned' CD's with her B-sides compiled. My vote for her next album: Compile your old B-sides and sing 'em fresh...it will be far better than the last 2 efforts. Expand
  54. CharlesV
    Nov 4, 2002
    10
    I find it refreshing to have an artist such as Tori willing to break new ground with every album. Now as others have said in the past LE had a profound impact on me, but looking beyond what affect that had on me brings me through the shear rainbow of variety that comes from this redheaded goddess. Each album Tori has produced brought new light and new discoveries into her very soul. I find it refreshing to have an artist such as Tori willing to break new ground with every album. Now as others have said in the past LE had a profound impact on me, but looking beyond what affect that had on me brings me through the shear rainbow of variety that comes from this redheaded goddess. Each album Tori has produced brought new light and new discoveries into her very soul. Scarlet's Walk is no different. Although fundamentally very different than all of her past albums it bodes well for the vast variety of talents within Tori's songwriting ability. She is not afraid to try something different and true listeners are well rewarded for her efforts. To often these days we end up with band after band rehashing the same beats and rhythms. So try the new Tori on for size. Maybe she's for you, but maybe she not... Expand
  55. rosdalinai
    Nov 6, 2002
    9
    it's one of tori's best work..i couldnt get why some people claimed to be tori's most avid fan just cant feel what is she trying to say in scarlett. she moved into different direction..a concept album..but still maintain her classic work..somehow in the album. this album truly shows the genius side of tori..and i was so angry when some people said that she's trying to it's one of tori's best work..i couldnt get why some people claimed to be tori's most avid fan just cant feel what is she trying to say in scarlett. she moved into different direction..a concept album..but still maintain her classic work..somehow in the album. this album truly shows the genius side of tori..and i was so angry when some people said that she's trying to be younger teenagers like michelle branch that she can never be. can i just say hello???? tori is being herself..exploring the new side of her and the album never sounded like those bunch of yuppies. Expand
  56. AdamM
    Nov 7, 2002
    10
    This album is being way over criticized. This album has a mor somber sound then her previous releases but it is also a concept album. Tore is being raked across the coals for an 18-track albumn that has a consistent and cohesive sound from beginning to end. She learns from each album she creates and I feel pulls from each to create this epic. I find it more captivating with each listen.
  57. Katie
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    The more I listen to this CD, the more I love it! In Tori's new version of old music, she states her messages in ways normal, unplagued people can understand. Tori is so awesome!
  58. SarahB
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    This is her best yet!!
  59. DavidG.P
    Oct 31, 2002
    9
    By no means Tori's most groundbreaking effort, a tribute to her sound and a not-so-subtle storyline is eminent throughout the emotion-laden album. Tori fans will welcome this substantial brick in the Tori-great-wall. Who knows, someone just might discover what she's really after.
  60. CarrieP
    Mar 14, 2003
    10
    I love this cd. Every time I listen to it I hear something new. Some critics said that it was too personal to Tori to be considered a 'concept album,' but it was intended to be an acount of her person interaction with this country and her relationships in it. I think it's important to point out that this album would have happened whether 9/11 had happened or not. Her road I love this cd. Every time I listen to it I hear something new. Some critics said that it was too personal to Tori to be considered a 'concept album,' but it was intended to be an acount of her person interaction with this country and her relationships in it. I think it's important to point out that this album would have happened whether 9/11 had happened or not. Her road trip was not because of 9/11. I lose patience with the argument that the album was too long; if you don't want to listen to the whole thing in one sitting, then don't! The number of songs she decided to put on this cd does not add to or take away from each individual song's merit. I'd also like to add that I think it's good and healthy for an artist to experiment, which is what Tori has done in the past and continues to do. I don't think I'll ever get enough of Scarlet's Walk. It's simply beautiful. I can't wait to hear what she comes out with next. Expand
  61. MarceloM
    Mar 27, 2003
    10
    This conceptual album, reminds me the goods of "Little Earthquakes" and "Boys for Pele" albums. This trilogy is maybe the best way to understand the art - ist. Of course, I can added the live cd of the double "To Venus and Back". One thing: Tori, please make better videos.
  62. NgSzeWoei
    Apr 28, 2003
    9
    Once you've heard it, the tunes just get stuck in your head. It's a great album! Just perfect.
  63. JohnP
    Aug 25, 2003
    10
    Never a fan prior to Scarlet's Walk, a musically mature Amos has converted me with this stellar work. She has learned to use the studio to perfection, with an CD that is layered and complex without being overproduced. This work is emotionally compelling from start to finish. It's truly refreshing to hear an artist produce a work of this scope that remains strong throughout, Never a fan prior to Scarlet's Walk, a musically mature Amos has converted me with this stellar work. She has learned to use the studio to perfection, with an CD that is layered and complex without being overproduced. This work is emotionally compelling from start to finish. It's truly refreshing to hear an artist produce a work of this scope that remains strong throughout, rather than the usual one-or-two worthwhile cuts sandwiched between a bunch of throw-away filler. Expand
  64. IrinaA.
    Jan 17, 2004
    10
    This was my first tori album and I just love it! I think it's so beautiful and freeing because, for me, the album is about the fact the journeys you take; the people you meet, the places you go to and the things you see, can be more important than where you came from, or where you're going to.
  65. Bratt
    Jun 27, 2005
    10
    Contains some of her best material yet. The last track, "Gold Dust" is just that. Stunningly powerful. This album feels like a best friend. I don't feel her work has got the credit it deserves. There's so much here of value.
  66. RobbieC
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    A near perfect album. Powerful, beautiful tale-telling. I would give it a 9.5 if I could, but it isn't quite a 10.
  67. MarkS
    Aug 12, 2006
    10
    Tori lost me for a while. After Boys for Pele, I sorta gave up and it was time to move on from my "high school favorites" on the Little Earthquakes and Under the Pink albums. Just stumbled upon Scarlett's Walk on iTunes and decided to give it a go. I haven't stopped listening for two weeks--at work, at home and in the car. This CD brings me back to the initial infatuation I had Tori lost me for a while. After Boys for Pele, I sorta gave up and it was time to move on from my "high school favorites" on the Little Earthquakes and Under the Pink albums. Just stumbled upon Scarlett's Walk on iTunes and decided to give it a go. I haven't stopped listening for two weeks--at work, at home and in the car. This CD brings me back to the initial infatuation I had with Tori's musical prowess that I discovered in High School. Many of the tracks are simply dramatic. LOVE "Gold Dust"--it's incredible. "Strange" brings me back to Little Earthquakes. Every song in between is equally amazing. Good good stuff. Expand
  68. Jimmy
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    Possibly her best album. Her voice has matured and her sound is fuller, more alive. Sure it isn't as groundbreaking as she has been recently with each upcoming album, but this takes us back to the older days of Tori. It resembles Under the Pink, the other possibility for her best album, in many ways, but is not a recreation at all. Oh, and for all of you "Toriphiles" who are upset Possibly her best album. Her voice has matured and her sound is fuller, more alive. Sure it isn't as groundbreaking as she has been recently with each upcoming album, but this takes us back to the older days of Tori. It resembles Under the Pink, the other possibility for her best album, in many ways, but is not a recreation at all. Oh, and for all of you "Toriphiles" who are upset b/c she hasn't made Little Earthquakes part two, complaining that SW is too pretentious to enjoy... well, LE is easily her most pretentious work to date... just listen to it. SW deserves to be heard and to be respected. Expand
  69. JeffC
    Nov 16, 2002
    9
    This album, like the others she has put out, is very well put together and shows all the different kinds of musical thoeries that Tori possesses. Fantastic through and through. This also being the first album that has a song playing on airwaves and tv since "God"... Tori's efforts and success in this album are well deserving and glad to see the new album come out. :) Just like all This album, like the others she has put out, is very well put together and shows all the different kinds of musical thoeries that Tori possesses. Fantastic through and through. This also being the first album that has a song playing on airwaves and tv since "God"... Tori's efforts and success in this album are well deserving and glad to see the new album come out. :) Just like all the other albums, I hope to hear more of her work come out real soon cause i can't get enough of her powerful, but yet emotional voice. Expand
  70. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    Not only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world withNot only is she pulling off a great album with no filler tracks, she's pulling of a great 19-SONG album with no filler tracks. The album unravels like some classic road movie, and it certainly doesn't feel one second too long. I firmly agree with the user review by Karen - one of the things that makes Tori Amos so special is that she is simply sharing her personal and private world with us, unedited. The lyrics are definitely not mumbo jumbo, I'd rather say they're like a stream of consciousness in a similar literary vein to James Joyce, but where with Joyce the reader has to rely on intellectual effort, with Tori Amos this kind of literal understanding is not necessary because the music and the voice give so many emotional and spiritual clues to what the meaning behind the words is. I disagree with JoeSixpack's view that this album is overcompressed, let alone the most overcompressed of our times. I wonder if JoeSixpack has heard any chart pop over the past 10 years. No, this is a beautifully engineered album, as well as produced, written and performed. Expand
  71. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    There are songs that fail to attract my attention, such as "Do not make me come to Vegas" or "Sweet Sangria". The truth is that I care much about the rhythm of the tracks (even more so than the lyrics itself). From the time you hear "Taxi ride" or "Virginia" I consider them as treasures of the master tori-pieces.
  72. Apr 14, 2013
    8
    Beautiful voice, lyrics and arrangements. Other than being a piece of art, it is also a great road trip album! Personal favourites: A Sorta Fairytale, Mrs Jesus, Taxi Ride, I Can't See New York
  73. Jun 22, 2016
    7
    Tori Amos's tribute to America is probably the last great album that she put out for the better part of a decade. Very strong and beautiful lyrics, influenced by Native American, Gay and Southern cultures. Download: A Sorta Fairytale, Gold Dust, Taxi Ride
  74. Apr 21, 2016
    10
    I truly have no words, this album is a truly masterpiece, I Don't what words -more than beautiful- use to describe it. Probably the best by Tori, along with 'Boys For Pele' and 'From The Choirgirl Hotel'
  75. Mar 15, 2016
    10
    Road trip with Tori! Her best album before or since 2016! Dig it! New to her sound and frankly a devotee now. Seductive and relaxing.....really a relief from singers like Selena Gomez!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Walk isn't groundbreaking as much as typical Tori Amos--a dramatic menagerie of atmospheric tracks filled with manic piano, morose characters and so many literary allusions you'll need CliffsNotes to figure 'em out.
  2. 60
    Her message, so powerful when unadorned, tends to get diluted by the awkward arrangements that accompany it.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    The new album's themes show that Amos is energized with stories to tell once again - making Scarlet's Walk at once ambitious and also one of her most moving collections yet. [Nov 2002]