Scarlet's Walk

  • Record Label: Epic
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2002
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 112

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TanyaR
    Jan 10, 2003
    10
    I think this is Tori's most prolific album yet. She certainly knows how to say all the things so many of us are thinking and feeling but unable to utter. I have given this CD to all the women I know. IT IS JUST FANTASTIC
  2. [Anonymous]
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Her best since Under the Pink
  3. annan
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    An amazing album and the best one shes done.
  4. TimS
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    This is maybe the greatest, most original work Tori has produced since Boys For Pele. Every song leaves an impression as the journey across America progresses. Its a complete album, and a complete story. Tori's originality and varied sounds and styles only make her more exceptional, who would like her if after 10 years, she was still churning out Little Earthquakes? If after a decade This is maybe the greatest, most original work Tori has produced since Boys For Pele. Every song leaves an impression as the journey across America progresses. Its a complete album, and a complete story. Tori's originality and varied sounds and styles only make her more exceptional, who would like her if after 10 years, she was still churning out Little Earthquakes? If after a decade she sounded the same, she would not have the strong fanbase that she does. The day that Tori sounds like her previous album, I will stop listening. Expand
  5. Dave
    Nov 2, 2002
    10
    Eeesh. This album is fricking amazing, certainly a hell of alot better than LE, which is probably her most mediocre, self indulgent album, thank you very much. ;)
  6. ArtW
    Jan 13, 2003
    10
    I never thought anything would top Boys for Pele but she's done it. Amazing album. With the loads of crap coming out these days, I thank you Tori.
  7. TrixieL
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    I love this album, nuff said
  8. DamienB
    May 20, 2006
    10
    an amazing album and is deff. one of my fav. tori albums expecially virginia and gold dust!!!! if i may say A may zing@!!
  9. Karen
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    I have read in several arenas the question regarding Tori's lyrics making sense. I have also seen them labeled as ramblings or another genius offering that she is simply trying to to keep the melody of the song in tact. I could not disagree more. What no one seems to offer is this; Tori is a person, a living human being with stories of her own. Do you NEED to know what Dahli was I have read in several arenas the question regarding Tori's lyrics making sense. I have also seen them labeled as ramblings or another genius offering that she is simply trying to to keep the melody of the song in tact. I could not disagree more. What no one seems to offer is this; Tori is a person, a living human being with stories of her own. Do you NEED to know what Dahli was thinking when he painted? Or can you just appreciate it for what it is - Art and nothing more. Beautiful, moving and powerful. I am inclined to believe these songs would make perfect sense to all if we were part of her everyday life. Consider this, if I were to tell you a short story relating to a relationship in my life using catch phases, cute names or local street talk would you know what I am talking about? Exactly! So why do you expect a few paragraphs offered in 10-12 songs every one or two years to be wrapped up in a pretty ribbon and laid at your feet in clear and concise terms? The underlying theme to all of her music is the passion behind it - you KNOW what she is trying to say or relate to us. Sorrow, happiness, silliness all easily read through in her lyrics. Even if I don't know who "Crazy" is, I understand completely. Catch the gist, the theme the message and forget everything else. I don't NEED to know why she was scared by paper tigers to understand what this song is about because I get it! Point taken. I relate. Perhaps she is writing for herself and is kind enough to share it with us. Has anyone consider this? She is first and foremost a human being the Star part came later. Expand
  10. amberwaves
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    best tori album since choirgirl. i can't see new york is one of the best songs she's ever written. not to miss.
  11. N.Scully
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Tori Amos is one "Strange Little Girl". You either love her to death or hate her with a passion. I love this album, and I like the fact that she isn't what you call main stream. She's an undiscovered discovery her fans have been aquainted with for years. I'm thankful for her music and her frankness albiet metaphoric in nature. Scarlet's Walk, as indulgent as it is, is Tori Amos is one "Strange Little Girl". You either love her to death or hate her with a passion. I love this album, and I like the fact that she isn't what you call main stream. She's an undiscovered discovery her fans have been aquainted with for years. I'm thankful for her music and her frankness albiet metaphoric in nature. Scarlet's Walk, as indulgent as it is, is brilliant. Expand
  12. Natasha
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part Phenomenal! There isn't a bad track on this album! If you want a musician whose albums are all DIFFERENT from each other AND GOOD--here's your artist! If she had repeated what she did on Little Earthquakes--an album that is well over ten years old--over and over again--I'm pretty sure I would have lost interest in her. If you have been looking for Little Earthquakes Part II...or Part II of just about any album she's made--don't hold it against Scarlet--and don't hold it against Tori--you should have stopped purchasing her albums at some point in 1998 for your own good! Expand
  13. MrZebra
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Amazing. Solid production,vocals, and songwriting throughout.
  14. MissyK
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    an absolutely and utterly stunning album
  15. Jonas
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    I agree with the reviewer below: this is her best work since Under the Pink, her best album to date. It's too bad SW has a disappointing metascore, but I remember reading a Spin review that gave it a 9. Why isn't it on here?
  16. hugojr
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    This EW review is one of the worst reviews I've ever read. Mr Tucker should review TV shows only. That's waht he does in EW. He's not a music critic. Scarlet's Walk is a masterpiece.
  17. hugojr
    Oct 29, 2002
    10
    This EW review is one of the worst reviews I've ever read. Mr Tucker should review TV shows only. That's waht he does in EW. He's not a music critic. Scarlet's Walk is a masterpiece.
  18. jont
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    utter perfection!!!
  19. Christian
    Jan 28, 2004
    10
    Personally the best Tori album. Quiet, unhurried and intimately tied to places - very geographic indeed. And there are quite a few records dealing with places. A remarkable collection of wonderful songs that unearths greater depth as one listens more.
  20. Nicky
    May 14, 2005
    10
    This album is quality. My most treasured album is under the pink but excluding the older stuff this is one of my faves. It exudes colour and makes you think about your own personal and emotional journey through life.
  21. ChrisA
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Its the best album ever.
  22. AdriJ
    Jul 26, 2006
    10
    Despite not being a Tori fan prior to this album, and discovering it a whole 4 years after its release, I have heard no other album so completely enchanting and captivating as Scarlet's Walk. The wistfulness of "A Sorta Fairytale", the addictive sound of "Taxi Ride", the beauty of "Your Cloud" and the musical masterpiece "Gold Dust" would all move a heart of stone....
  23. Mark
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Several years after it's release I keep returning to this album. For those of you out there listening only to MP3's, do yourself a favor and get the CD and a good stereo. You'll be amazed at what you've been missing and how good the production is. On "I Can't See New York," the first crash of the piano after "Is there a signal there" lyric will take your breath Several years after it's release I keep returning to this album. For those of you out there listening only to MP3's, do yourself a favor and get the CD and a good stereo. You'll be amazed at what you've been missing and how good the production is. On "I Can't See New York," the first crash of the piano after "Is there a signal there" lyric will take your breath away. I rate this album as tied with Little Earthquakes as my favorite Tori album, but having a slight edge due to the quality of the sound engineering. Expand
  24. JamesBlikesN'Sync
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    A remarkable achievement that live and breathes.
  25. Eli
    Nov 11, 2002
    10
    Her second best album, following Under the Pink. This album just gets better and better.
  26. Elliott
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    Whiny babies like JS should stop blathering about how Tori never reproduced Little Earthquakes. She moved on, and did not continue to make the same album, like many artists try to do. Instead she has changed her style, her voice, her ideas. She has grown wiser, and her music has expanded. Scarlet is probably Amos's best album to date, and if anyone keeps saying that it's no Whiny babies like JS should stop blathering about how Tori never reproduced Little Earthquakes. She moved on, and did not continue to make the same album, like many artists try to do. Instead she has changed her style, her voice, her ideas. She has grown wiser, and her music has expanded. Scarlet is probably Amos's best album to date, and if anyone keeps saying that it's no Little Earthquakes, I'm going to beat them to a bloody pulp. Get over it - she's matured, and moved on, so should you. Expand
  27. md
    Nov 1, 2002
    10
    tori is never going to reproduce "little earthquakes". get over it, and enjoy this cd for what it is: a well-crafted work of art.
  28. DanaL
    Nov 12, 2002
    10
    Simply wonderful! I can't turn it off.
  29. JamesS
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    Without sacrificing her style, Tori Amos has evolved her music to one which allows for a wider listening audience. My parents even love it!
  30. SethH
    Nov 17, 2002
    10
    When compared to what else is out today, I don't know how anybody can not appreciate Scarlet's Walk. This albume is brilliantly captivating, and I hope to hear more from her.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Walk isn't groundbreaking as much as typical Tori Amos--a dramatic menagerie of atmospheric tracks filled with manic piano, morose characters and so many literary allusions you'll need CliffsNotes to figure 'em out.
  2. 60
    Her message, so powerful when unadorned, tends to get diluted by the awkward arrangements that accompany it.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    The new album's themes show that Amos is energized with stories to tell once again - making Scarlet's Walk at once ambitious and also one of her most moving collections yet. [Nov 2002]