Schizophrenic

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Feb 24, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 65
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 65
  3. Negative: 5 out of 65

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LoriA
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    I love that this album is so diverse and open to so many different genres.
  2. valeriec
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    finally, an album that dares to be fresh and different in the world of the cookie cutter albums. JC doesnt rely on big names ? just big talent. a must-own. you won't skip a single track.
  3. valeriec
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    finally, an album that dares to be fresh and different in the world of the cookie cutter albums. JC doesnt rely on big names ? just big talent. a must-own. you won't skip a single track.
  4. ShannonB
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    JC out did himself on this album! This baby is HOTT! Jace you have ONE forever fan!!!!
  5. Mark
    Feb 27, 2004
    9
    JC has impressed me wih his debut solo effort. Schizophrenic is an eclectic blend of pop, rock, r&b, and hip hop influenced songs. What would a review of JC's album be without a comparison with Justin's Justified. In my opinion, Schizophrenic is a much better album that is more daring and diverse that Justin's album.
  6. MarissaD
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    A great cd that shows a lot of versatility in styles and range. Highly recommended.
  7. CarliD
    Feb 27, 2004
    9
    I love the diversity and familiarity of this album. I think for his first attempt at going solo he's done a great job. It's off the hook.
  8. PennyH
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    Justin who? Schizophrenic is just that. It has a little bit of everything. JC shows that Justin is not the only one who can get his groove on. He also takes more of a risk with this cd than Justified did. He proves he has what it takes to bring it to the next level. With songs like "100 Ways" to "Shake It" to "Mercy" you will be impressed with his talent as a songwriter and a vocalist.
  9. TerriM
    Feb 25, 2004
    10
    This cd rocks....go out and pay it...even if you didn't really think (some girls) was that great...but the rest of the cd is cool. BUY IT!
  10. bethh
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    This is a MUST have CD! From the high energy, rockin songs such as "100 ways" and "Mercy" to the poetic ballads "Dear goodbye" and "Lose myself", you will not be short handed. JC Chasez did well above what was expeected from his first solo album. Congrats JC, for a job well done!
  11. InessaS.
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    I was waiting for JC's CD for years (since those times when he didn't even consider to make one ;)) I love his voice, I like his eclectic taste in music. His solo album exceeded all my hopes. My favorite songs are: 100 Ways, Shake It, Come To Me, Everything You Want. (It won't be released here (in Russia), so people have to buy his CD from Amazon though it would be much I was waiting for JC's CD for years (since those times when he didn't even consider to make one ;)) I love his voice, I like his eclectic taste in music. His solo album exceeded all my hopes. My favorite songs are: 100 Ways, Shake It, Come To Me, Everything You Want. (It won't be released here (in Russia), so people have to buy his CD from Amazon though it would be much better to have chance to bue it in one of the nearest stores...) Expand
  12. Daniel
    Feb 28, 2004
    9
    The album is good with only a few mess-ups here or there. The best song is "All Day Long I Dream About Sex" and "Dear Goodbye". The worst is "One Night Stand" but over all a good album. DEFINATLY BETTER THEN JUSTIN TIMBERLAKES
  13. amandas
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    I thought the album, was amazing.! I loved it, from a taste of electronica, to dance, to sweet ballads, JC proved that he could successfully go solo. Not that I had any doubt.
  14. ES
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    Great album!
  15. TeresaF
    Feb 28, 2004
    9
    JC proves his talent on this record! His voice is beautiful and he can sing along to ne top of song... rock or pop he can do it!!
  16. ClareH
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    Great album! Great music! Amazing vocals!
  17. KatrinaK
    Mar 1, 2004
    10
    It rox!!!! I understand that everyone has their own opinions, and this is mind. I will always appreciate how hard JC has to work to get out of the boy-band perspective, this album does that for him.
  18. TrinaG
    Mar 1, 2004
    9
    A pleasant surprise....sexy, vibrant and ecclectic (not the first time that word's been used here) so it challenges you to listen to it. As an artist, he outclasses JT because this CD sounds more like a creation; less an attempt to make hit records (good for you, JC). Chasez' vocals are better and more versatile than people think ("100 Ways", "Dear Goodbye"), so don't let A pleasant surprise....sexy, vibrant and ecclectic (not the first time that word's been used here) so it challenges you to listen to it. As an artist, he outclasses JT because this CD sounds more like a creation; less an attempt to make hit records (good for you, JC). Chasez' vocals are better and more versatile than people think ("100 Ways", "Dear Goodbye"), so don't let the first single fool you. He's just getting warmed up. Expand
  19. Yodaddy
    Feb 27, 2004
    8
    A fun album that crosses many boundries. A lot better than I was expecting.
  20. TarynF
    Feb 29, 2004
    9
    This album is a great one to listen to from beginning to end. All the tracks are so different, you could play it like a mix cd.
  21. MattH
    Feb 27, 2004
    7
    This is a pretty good solo project for JC. Its different than nsync, which is good. Its a good solo start for JC.
  22. JessaF
    Feb 29, 2004
    9
    The only negative thing I have to say about this album is that it does run a bit long. Other than that, this is an incredibly strong solo effort, full of fun, innovative songs that build upon the styles of the '80s, and translate them to the club floor of today. Chasez really proves that he can hack it alone, if he must.
  23. SophieC
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    It RULES!!
  24. summerevans
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    This album is the best thing i have heard in years . I can't believe the variety Jc is putting out It is wonderful
  25. veronicac
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    This album is very eclectic and has such a unique sound that will set JC apart into somethin new...Im definitely Lovin it.
  26. R.Padilla
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    It was with great anticipation that I went to buy Schizophrenic on the release date. Honestly, I had high expectations, but I was also a bit doubtful of JC, not because he's not talented, but because I KNEW he was going to be compared to the other *NSYNC member that released an album last year. That said, the album is AMAZING, and I'm not exaggerating. Songs like100 Ways, Build It was with great anticipation that I went to buy Schizophrenic on the release date. Honestly, I had high expectations, but I was also a bit doubtful of JC, not because he's not talented, but because I KNEW he was going to be compared to the other *NSYNC member that released an album last year. That said, the album is AMAZING, and I'm not exaggerating. Songs like100 Ways, Build My World, Everything You Want, Come To ME and Everything You Want are the highlights of the CD. Truth be told, there is not one song that you'd want to skip (maybe track #2), and that's something you don't get on every CD, especially now a days. So, it is with great pride and joy that I say, I AM A JC FAN, and darn it, I'm comfortable saying that, despite me being a guy. Expand
  27. TeriP.
    Feb 27, 2004
    9
    I didnt expect to love this cd as much I have. It really is an outstanding album.
  28. DawnR
    Feb 29, 2004
    10
    Varied and versatile. Cohesive vision of artistic growth. Aims high and soars! Perfect for getting your freak on!
  29. GitaW
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    The album is amazing. The album is electic and it has something for everyone and the ballads are wow, it gets me everytime i listen to it.
  30. danej
    Mar 5, 2004
    8
    No regrets in buying this CD. I love it!!!!
  31. SamiraJ
    Mar 19, 2004
    10
    High energy, sexy, and just makes you wanna get up and shake it!
  32. JohnnyB
    Mar 27, 2004
    0
    now honestly, who gives a .... about boyband members ? this cd sucks, its bubblegum not music
  33. CaylaD
    Mar 31, 2004
    10
    Okay, this album defines greatness. There is only one song that requires the skip button and that's "Mercy" mainly because it sounds so much like the others. But, "100 Ways", "Lose Myself". & "One Night Stand" are great! I'm always busting some moves to this cd!
  34. antoinetteg
    May 9, 2004
    10
    this album is fantastic! I just lose myself whenever I hear his songs! With his pure voice, good looks, ecstatic songs, who would ever resist him?? I love it... You rock JC! Forever!
  35. dzen
    Jul 30, 2004
    10
    Awsome dance album!!
  36. angied
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    jc's album schizophrenic is one of the best albums i have listened to in quite awhile. he takes so many different sounds of music and combines them into one giant masterpiece...
  37. KerryM
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    It's awesome!
  38. jc
    Sep 30, 2004
    10
    Just to set the record straight on some of the negative reviews on the top (especially the one referring to Chasez as Chavez). I found that this album is 500 times better than Justified! I was only pleased by 3 songs on Justified compared to all 17 songs on Schizophrenic. As a person who has been a fan of Joshua, I know that all the "sex" songs on the album are playful and have no meaning Just to set the record straight on some of the negative reviews on the top (especially the one referring to Chasez as Chavez). I found that this album is 500 times better than Justified! I was only pleased by 3 songs on Justified compared to all 17 songs on Schizophrenic. As a person who has been a fan of Joshua, I know that all the "sex" songs on the album are playful and have no meaning whatsoever. The title "schizophrenic" is used to describe the whole album. While many may see the album as "sex crazed", I for one see an album that has a diverse background. While JT decided to use Timberland, Stevie Wonder and the Neptunes, Joshua opted to use Bassment Jaxx, BT, Tony Lucca and Alex Griggs. I think that this album (unlike Justified where JT went after the urban crowd) is for people who love music that was around during the late 80's early 90's. The only reason JT got so much publicity was because he told people how Britney lost her virginity and the song "Cry me a river" accompanied by the video with a Brit look-alike. Unlike JT (who is obviously childish), JC didn't use his past relationships to gain publicity. He has more talent then 99% of what's "in" (the music scene). I for one see that this man will have a great voice for many years and a loyal following for even more. Considering I have been a fan of his since MMC (at 11 years old I discovered JC on MMC and still to this day support him in anything he chooses, and I've met him and I will tell you he treats all his fans, with so much love and attention its overwhelming at times). Expand
  39. hjiojop
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    It's awesome, alot of the song are real music. Take the time to listen to it and you'll realize that.
  40. MihaiP
    Mar 6, 2004
    10
    One of the most hippest albums up to date.... Jc covers a wide range of styles ... from 80's to 2004's ... Every one will find a favorite track on this album. Great album ... Great voice.
  41. lornah
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    its the best album i have ever heard
  42. annp
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    Different than what is out there today.Emotion is evident in the songs.This is a man where music is his life.I love this album.Awesome visuals in the songs and metaphors.
  43. SharisseJ
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    i love this cd! it fits what ever mood i'm in and it's just the best music i've bought in awhile.
  44. tawanas
    Feb 28, 2004
    10
    i love this album. my favorite songs on it are 100 ways, build my world & dear goodbye. i can't wait to hear jc is going to make another album, i love his music so much!!!!!
  45. shimas
    Oct 13, 2004
    10
    i love this album so much.it puts me in such a good mood everytime i listen to the song.
  46. Jenna
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    amazing!
  47. StephanieGilbert
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    this cd rock i haven't been able to stop listening to it.
  48. HeatherG
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    LOVE THIS ALBUM!! JC has really shown what he can do, and I absolutely adore it.
  49. [Anonymous]
    Feb 27, 2004
    7
    Honestly, joyfully derivative. Tunes you remember from way back when, but only because they were and still are good. The singing is great on ballads and adequate on most of the rest. Pretty good for a pop CD.
  50. BarbaraSmith
    Feb 27, 2004
    10
    this is one of the best albums i have heard in a long time! JC has come a long way since his MMC days! he appeals to a wide audience.
  51. SarahF
    Sep 18, 2004
    0
    JC Chasez should be castrated. He sucks; what a disgrace to music!
  52. tos
    Dec 30, 2004
    9
    You'd be crazy not to like this. 100 ways and ADDIDAS are some of the best songs I've heard ever.
  53. A.M.
    Jun 6, 2005
    1
    The only thing worse than the music is the embarrassingly bad album cover. What is the deal with 1) the straightjacket; 2) the four other images behind him; and 3) the awful haircut? I know it's supposed to relate to the album, but gimme a break, he looks like Little Nicky.
  54. RalicaD
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    It's awesome, just wonderful
  55. Anonymous
    Jan 24, 2006
    0
    The title itself is degrading to actual schizophrenics and people with mental illness. Obviously this lame prat thinks its cute, while not even considering that there are people out there with that disease who actually are suffering. But apparently he didn't bother to do his homework, based on the lack of gravity of the disease he possesses. Obviously he is not schizophrenic; making The title itself is degrading to actual schizophrenics and people with mental illness. Obviously this lame prat thinks its cute, while not even considering that there are people out there with that disease who actually are suffering. But apparently he didn't bother to do his homework, based on the lack of gravity of the disease he possesses. Obviously he is not schizophrenic; making his album title "Schizophrenic" is, in its truth, the equivalent of "Cancer Patient" or another severe disease. Schizophrenia is not an exception. It is a disease. So is cancer. People and their families suffer from it; so is the same with cancer. Also, Chasez promotes misinformation of what is already a highly misunderstood idea. And if JC, had, again, done his homework, he might actually know (and what a BIZARRE notion that is) that not all schizophrenics are locked up somewhere in straight jackets. Expand
  56. JS
    Dec 6, 2006
    9
    A surprisingly excellent CD. This is the CD Justified should have been...adventurous, eclectic, and sexy. Hopefully Chasez will follow it up soon.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. A smartly schizophrenic solo debut filled with the anything-goes dancefloor abandon of the ‘80s.
  2. Ultimately, all his genre-grazing makes him seem slippery rather than adventurous.
  3. On Schizophrenic Chasez attempts to reanimate early-80s electro, disco and new wave back into pop.