Second Round's On Me

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NatB
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    Its perfect.
  2. RalphI.
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    Real street rap. No gimmicks.
  3. JGlover
    Sep 13, 2006
    4
    Feel let down by this album. Can't believe its got glowing reports. Trice has gone from rapping with a smile to rapping about guns and all that rubbish. The only saving grace is Cry Now cos of the production, althought Obie does his best to ruin that one too. Shocker
  4. AntonN
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This album is a rap classic! Hands down the best rap album of the year! No dought that the album isn't getting the play it should becaue it is truly to hardcore to fit in with the common airplay. But for true hip hop heads this album is a must buy! Obie shows exactly why he's Eminem's first signee! Before 50!
  5. HotYoko
    Oct 17, 2006
    3
    Obie, you have GOT to get your shit together. After Cheers dropped, a lot of people were paying attention, and the high-profile kids you were running with seemed to be working hard just to keep up. For round two, unfortunately, you seem distracted by glam and hell-bent on celebrity. It doesn't look good on you, so take whoever told you to jock Jay Z and send him to the trauma center. Obie, you have GOT to get your shit together. After Cheers dropped, a lot of people were paying attention, and the high-profile kids you were running with seemed to be working hard just to keep up. For round two, unfortunately, you seem distracted by glam and hell-bent on celebrity. It doesn't look good on you, so take whoever told you to jock Jay Z and send him to the trauma center. It's okay, don't sweat it too hard. Everyone knows round three gets you laid. Expand
  6. joeg
    Oct 19, 2006
    10
    this was the best rap album in a while. it is a shame it isn't getting more respect then it has.
  7. joeyb
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    This was easily one of the best albums this year. Jesus, just because it doesn't sound like all the other garbage commericial rap, you guys trash it? Please. Obie has his own flow, his own true lyrics, and an absolutely ill sequel to Cheers. Fuck the haters. This one was a gem, "Obie Story" is absolute butter.
  8. mohitd
    Aug 17, 2006
    10
    this one the year gr88 albums............... my name is MOHIT DHAWAN.,..I live in,...india...NEW DELHI,.,,,,,, i heard the album it is awesome............ it is way much better than ,,his debut the production by EMINEM,,,,IS AWESOME,, my favourite,,songs r .. 1) everywhere i go feat. 50 cent (10/10) 2) obie story (9/10) 3)jamaican girl (10/10) 4)voilent (10/10) -- the best song on the this one the year gr88 albums............... my name is MOHIT DHAWAN.,..I live in,...india...NEW DELHI,.,,,,,, i heard the album it is awesome............ it is way much better than ,,his debut the production by EMINEM,,,,IS AWESOME,, my favourite,,songs r .. 1) everywhere i go feat. 50 cent (10/10) 2) obie story (9/10) 3)jamaican girl (10/10) 4)voilent (10/10) -- the best song on the album... 5) there they go (8.5/10) 6) intro --humurous 7)snitch --ok 8) wake up --good Expand
  9. spurioush
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    Great production, lyrics that flow well, hot beats. Can't ask for much more!
  10. Steffb
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    very good, deep metaphors, catchy lyrics, good beats, eminem, 50 cent....not sure about the reviews above, dont do the album justice...buy it
  11. DaveK
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    Better than the first, Obie can never live up to the hype of his lable, his Mentor or his own statements. Yet he does come strong with feeling and heart, more than you can say for most hiphop out right now. Obie stands on his own and is getting closer to breaking out, at least closer to breaking out as eminem's boy from detroit
  12. JamalW.
    May 11, 2007
    10
    The best album I've done herd!
  13. Mar 11, 2012
    5
    I feel like obie didnt try. This album has a couple songs that stood out but the rest were terrible his new album "Bottoms Up" is coming out soon and it need's to be better than this album or Obie is History
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    This round goes down like a cheap well drink. [18 Aug 2006, p.139]
  2. Vibe
    70
    Eminem complements [Trice's] sinister outlook with equally gloomy production. [Aug 2006, p.140]
  3. Blender
    60
    The anti-sentimentality gets a bit relentless over 18 songs. [Aug 2006, p.118]