Set the World On Fire - Black Veil Brides
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    50
    Guitarists Jake Pitts and Jinxx are the showstealers here, riffing in constant harmony, and incorporating the speedy guitar pyrotechnics of similar-minded bands like Dragonforce and Escape the Fate while throwing in showy Zack Wilde pinch harmonics, and Yngwie Malmsteen sweeps.
  2. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Second album is polished, though its anthemic pop-metalcore suffers from thinking its better than it is. [Aug. 2011, p. 119]
  3. 70
    There's no question Biersack and the boys are making an active decision to go after the Rock On The Range crowd with lunkheaded hard rock and painfully bland ballads that are just dull enough to strike a chord with middle America. [Jul 2011, p.106]
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    80
    When Black Veil Brides have made an album as fist pumpingly anthemic and as downright fun as Set The World On fire is, you'd be incredibly foolish to bet against them doing just that. [18 Jun 2011, p.50]
  5. Jun 10, 2011
    70
    All in all, Set The World On Fire sounds a bit like a band having an identity crisis – the sound no longer matches the carefully-created image but the music's decent none the less.
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 2 out of 5
  1. Dec 22, 2012
    0
    Sounds worse than farting into a can. I can say this, because after I listened to one of their songs I made a wager with a friend that I could fart a better melody into a can than this band can write. The can gave my fart a rather nice natural reverb and delay effect, which boosted the low end of the sound, it also provided my fart with natural compression and made it very pleasurable to the ears. Full Review »
  2. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    Coming off a rather rough sounding album in We Stitch these Wounds with every track making more towards the sound that makes Black Veil Brides. Always worth a listen with Ritual, Savior and Rebel Love Song being the best sounds. Looking forward towards Wretched & Divine. Full Review »
  3. May 8, 2013
    2
    What's the point of this Evidently the group decided to drop the stereotypical "emo" image in favour of a more commercial one. There are songs on the record which were obviously conceived with radio airplay in mind and Andy Biersack sounds even worse (its like they broke the autotuner). Guitars are dull 80's glam metal rip-off riffs with boring overused solos on the formulaic songs. Drums and bass are also boring if anyone pays attention to them. Two things I have to say in conclusion; 1. It makes Music From The Great Elder sound like a masterpiece, and 2. I wish the image on the cover was a real image. Full Review »