Show Your Bones

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 95
  2. Negative: 4 out of 95

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. cleopatraj
    Mar 29, 2006
    5
    I have to agree soomewhat with Todd L. While it's not bad, it's pretty bland. I forgot that it was on for a while. What I liked about them was their recklessnes and nasty sonic fun on "Fever..."--mostly because they were exceptionally good at it. I'm glad they didn't rehash the same formula, but unfortunately they're not nearly as interesting or inspired without I have to agree soomewhat with Todd L. While it's not bad, it's pretty bland. I forgot that it was on for a while. What I liked about them was their recklessnes and nasty sonic fun on "Fever..."--mostly because they were exceptionally good at it. I'm glad they didn't rehash the same formula, but unfortunately they're not nearly as interesting or inspired without the over the top attitude and style. Expand
  2. Rusty
    Mar 29, 2006
    5
    Five very good songs, five boring/average songs, and one terrible song ("Phenomena"). Disappointing.
  3. NickE
    Aug 23, 2007
    6
    I give this somewhere between a 6 and a 7. The sound is definitely more polished and the songs are more tamely written than most everything on "Fever to Tell". Which isn't to say that they're bad - some tracks, particularly the first few, are outstanding. But a lot of the really poppy flourishes fall flat. By the end of this album I felt like it could have been the score for the I give this somewhere between a 6 and a 7. The sound is definitely more polished and the songs are more tamely written than most everything on "Fever to Tell". Which isn't to say that they're bad - some tracks, particularly the first few, are outstanding. But a lot of the really poppy flourishes fall flat. By the end of this album I felt like it could have been the score for the movie "Reality Bites" had it come out a dozen years earlier. And I don't mean that as a compliment. Expand
  4. ryanr
    Mar 27, 2006
    6
    Ive never voted on this, but i felt i had to for this becaus the first cd rocked my face off. I had such high expectations for this and the rock is there but you have to be patient and listen to the cd for like 5 times before your realize it. There are some really good tracks on here but as for a follow up album it seriously lacks what Fever to Tell brought to the table. If this cd would Ive never voted on this, but i felt i had to for this becaus the first cd rocked my face off. I had such high expectations for this and the rock is there but you have to be patient and listen to the cd for like 5 times before your realize it. There are some really good tracks on here but as for a follow up album it seriously lacks what Fever to Tell brought to the table. If this cd would have came out first and then Fever to Tell this album would be genious but honestly this is pretty over-rated. Lasty Nick needed to step up the game not lose it for a stupid-ass acoustic guitar. Expand
  5. sarahg
    Mar 30, 2006
    6
    No one can accuse Karen O of being annoying on this record. For some critics, her newly refined, sometimes subdued vocals will indicate the band has grown up and improved. But I miss the popiness and all the moments that made me smile on Fever. I think this record gets as it goes on. It's at least melodic and tender in the seond half. The earnest, unfun, groove-based rock on the No one can accuse Karen O of being annoying on this record. For some critics, her newly refined, sometimes subdued vocals will indicate the band has grown up and improved. But I miss the popiness and all the moments that made me smile on Fever. I think this record gets as it goes on. It's at least melodic and tender in the seond half. The earnest, unfun, groove-based rock on the first half just doesn't seem that special. Expand
  6. AaronQ
    Apr 28, 2006
    4
    Totally boring.
  7. Betty
    Jul 1, 2006
    5
    Very sour sophomore album. Trying too hard to fit with other things that are popular right now. Karen may as well join Tegan and Sara, she sounds enough like them now.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Short answer: it’s good.
  2. Billboard
    60
    Much of the material on the quirky "Show Your Bones" is more intimate and, at times, tentative. [1 Apr 2006]
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Show Your Bones picks up where "Maps" left off, with the trio finding a middle ground between self-conscious primitivism and refined pop. [31 Mar 2006, p.60]