Shrines - Purity Ring
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 86
  2. Negative: 3 out of 86

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 25, 2012
    10
    An outstanding debut, this sound so addictive and deepest more than ever! a surprising and well done job! one of the best new band actually! Ungirthed, Fineshrine, Saltkin and Belispeak are highly recommendable!
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    The Canadians have been on heavy rotation and recommended highly to friends.

    Incredible flow, catchy yet easily lost in the background - an amazing debut album.

    Grandloves and Loftcries are a favourite - Look forward to seeing them live!
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    wow i cant believe that the critic score has gone so low! Purity Ring's shrines is probably my favorite album this year, along with diiv's oshin. I hope they build on this album's success
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    This whole album is magical! Especially outstanding are the songs Lofticries, Obedear and Fineshrine. This is one more great Canadian band, apart from Grimes.
  5. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    Really outstanding, with some musics that will stick in the back of your head and don't even try getting them of. Shrines is a cohesive album from start to finish, with great attention to detail and various layers of texture. Truly amazing work by the Canadian duo.

    Still can't forget the "drill little holes into my eyelids" part. It's just so poetic and subtle.
  6. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    Definitely one of favourite albums of the year so far. It has a chilled groove the whole way through the album and is very easy to listen to. The album is heavy in punchy beats and warping synth sounds with cool electronic sounds interwoven in the melody. The vocals from the female sound sweet and innocent and compliment the heavy bass and synth sounds. I guess Purity Ring has taken some dub/club elements and made their own awesome unique sound. Strongly recommended! Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Purity Ring's disturbing lyrics are juxtaposed brilliantly with their glitchy, snyth-filled beats and innocent singing, disguising even the most depraved thoughts within catchy dance beats.
  8. Aug 11, 2012
    8
    I can't believe that an album that does nothing but talk about intercourse and love could be so addicting and fun to listen to! Seriously, I can't get the song Finshrine OUT OF MY HEAD!!!
  9. Dec 23, 2012
    7
    Solid debut. What it lacks in song-writing, it easily makes up for in great beats and great vocals. All In All, not in my top 10 for this year, but Shrines is a solid debut. Purity Ring can only get better, hopefully.
  10. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    Singer's overuse of the word "little" in practically every song regarding a part of her anatomy got on my nerves. Musically, very stimulating and worth listening to. Fairly solid release.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Sep 13, 2012
    89
    The refrain in "Fineshrine" ("Get a little closer, let it fold/Cut open my sternum and pull/My little ribs around you") sums up Purity Ring with creepy efficacy, consuming and surrounding the listener. And as sweetly chirped by Megan James, it never seems like a bad thing.
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    60
    [A] sense of distance permeates the music: dark, mutable, likably repetitive synth whirr that recalls artfully creepy bands like the Knife.
  3. Aug 10, 2012
    70
    The contrast between Purity Ring's two halves is special and compelling, but Shrines goes over best when Roddick's reverent sound and James' lustful fury synchronize and break you off properly, womb-stem-style.