Siberia

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveM
    Oct 15, 2005
    8
    I've been a Bunnymen fan from the beginning and can probably call them my formative band - the gold standard against everything else was measured. But, like a lot of other fans, I see everything post Porcupines a bit disappointing. Siberia, on the other hand, is absolutely wonderful. I never thought they'd be able to get back the special magic they pumped out in the Eighties, I've been a Bunnymen fan from the beginning and can probably call them my formative band - the gold standard against everything else was measured. But, like a lot of other fans, I see everything post Porcupines a bit disappointing. Siberia, on the other hand, is absolutely wonderful. I never thought they'd be able to get back the special magic they pumped out in the Eighties, but with this album they've cracked it. Don't expect it to be as raw as Heaven Up Here, but in it's own way it's almost as good. Lots of hooks, not too much sentimentality and, with Scissors in the Sand, a great amount of guts. Eight out of 10 for me. Can't switch it off! Expand
  2. BrentT
    Nov 6, 2005
    8
    Though some may say they're sounding too much like Coldplay, you have to remember who came first between the two. Echo and The Bunnymen, though on a slower note, retain their classic sound that keeps them distinguished from others. As for McCulloch's voice, it's contribution to their sound should never be forgotten... even on their newest album.
  3. VA
    Oct 29, 2005
    9
    Great great album. What a great album by the Bunnymen. This may be the best album I've purchased in 2005. Several cuts should garner radio airplay. However, in this age where crap dominates the airwaves, you'll have to buy this one and listen to it on your own. I love Stormy Weather, Parthenon Drive, & Of A Life. There's not a weak link on this album. Go buy it.
  4. Steve
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    This is the best thing they've done since they reformed in 1997. I was pleasantly suprised at how strong the tracks are, especially Stormy Weather and All Because Of You Days.
  5. JohnS
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    superb. still a class act both live and on record
  6. ChrisT
    Mar 17, 2006
    10
    Probably to most mature and well produced album ever created by E&TB. Simply LOVE this album, and their live performance in Austin last night was brilliant.
  7. AndyA
    Oct 23, 2005
    8
    Uniformly quite good is this - no epic & no filler. Best thing since probably Ocean Rain though.
  8. BrianB
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    One of their best since Evergreen. Hugh Jones helped them recapture their true sound! Fans will not be disappointed.
  9. DJAdequate
    Sep 23, 2005
    9
    Parthenon Drive is their best post-reconstruction song. And the whole album is beautiful, if a bit mellower than their early pre-brakeup records.
  10. TomB
    Sep 26, 2005
    8
    A stellar album. Loaded with tunes that don't leave your head.
  11. CarrollT
    Sep 26, 2005
    10
    astounding, surpasses anything from a veteran rock this year.
  12. Lynn
    Apr 16, 2006
    8
    I had very low expectations for this album, seeing as most "come backs" ultimately fail. This album is a glorious exception! Instead of singing about losing their baby, and all the things young people sing about, they're singing mature songs that are Echo 20 years on, and authentic. I can't stop listening to this album or singing it in my head, there are so many catchy and I had very low expectations for this album, seeing as most "come backs" ultimately fail. This album is a glorious exception! Instead of singing about losing their baby, and all the things young people sing about, they're singing mature songs that are Echo 20 years on, and authentic. I can't stop listening to this album or singing it in my head, there are so many catchy and honest tunes. If you're an Echo fan rush out and get this, and if you're just someone who appreciates mature, complex glorious music, you can't go wrong! Expand
  13. JorinR
    Nov 26, 2005
    8
    In their third proper album since they stopped calling themselves Electrafixion, Echo and the Bunnymen (aka Ian MacCulloch and Will Seargent) return after 4 years with Siberia. After having suffered through Mac's very boring Sideling, I was more then happy to download this and press play. Flowers was better then anything Electrafixion tried to accomplish (I have yet to hear In their third proper album since they stopped calling themselves Electrafixion, Echo and the Bunnymen (aka Ian MacCulloch and Will Seargent) return after 4 years with Siberia. After having suffered through Mac's very boring Sideling, I was more then happy to download this and press play. Flowers was better then anything Electrafixion tried to accomplish (I have yet to hear Evergreen), and I am glad to say that Siberia is solid and reminiscent of early Echo and the Bunnymen. The album opens with "Stormy Weather", which is a nicely crafted song reminiscent of "Bring on the Dancing Horses" but lacking the strong chorus. "All Because of You Days" and the closer, "What if We Are", channels U2. While Echo and the Bunnymen and U2 are contemporaries, this song could easily translate as a song off All the Love You Leave Behind. "Parthenon Drive" and "Of A Life", are no "Angels and Devils" or "The Cutter" but it comes surprisingly close and for that you have to be ecstatic. Seargent's guitar work as usual essential to Echo and the Bunnymen sound. Whether he is strumming an acoustic or playing rhythm guitar, he gives these songs life and they work well with Mac's voice which is less dramatic then it used to be yet slightly more effective. This is not just fro die hard Echo and the Bunnymen fans. Though I would be hard pressed to figure out a way to promote the band over Franz Ferdinand or Death Cab for Cutie. Still check it out Expand
  14. DavidR
    Sep 26, 2005
    8
    The album is a retread of some earlier work. You can hear segments of other songs often. However, the album is very solid. Its not very adventurous, but it is enjoyable to listen to. A must for Bunnymen fans, but unlikely to win over any new converts.
  15. PaulD
    Jan 31, 2006
    9
    Believe - the best thing they've done since Ocean Rain. Parthenon Drive, Scissors in the Sand and In the Margins are the best tracks, but there's not a bad song on here.
  16. linds
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    id give this album a 20 if i could
  17. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    Siberia is an excellent return to form for Echo & the Bunnymen and easily the band's best album post reunion. In fact I'd go a step further and say that this record ranks in third place behind Porcupine and Heaven Up Here. Excellent stuff!
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Even if it is a bit less adventurous, many of the tunes are right up there with anything the band has done.
  2. Call it an age thing, but Siberia makes total sense for where Echo and the Bunnymen stands 20 years on as a band.
  3. The band is seeming lackluster and suffers from it.