Simple Math - Manchester Orchestra
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 20, 2011
    9
    Simple Math is easily ten times better than "Mean Everything To Nothing". Every song you felt and you can relate. Andy Hull has an extraordinary voice that just swallows you in. Simple Math is easily the stand out track. All In All. Simple Math is a terrific album. A-
  2. May 14, 2011
    10
    Don't go in expecting something musically that you've never heard before, but go in expecting to hear the shockingly honest lyrics that Andy Hull has become known for.
  3. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This and Goblin by TTC are the best indie releases of the year, amazing album, amazing wordplay, amazing instrumentals, nothing wrong with this album, perfect.
  4. May 22, 2011
    9
    Easily the best album of the year so far. Beauty and ferocity are perfectly intertwined throughout the album's ten tracks. The main highlights here are "Virgin," where they bust out the children's choir (always creepy) and horns to make a truly chilling masterpiece, and the title track as well as "Leave It Alone," softer, yet no less sublte tracks led beautifully by strings and fantastic melodies. Manchester Orchestra have really out done themselves with Simple Math, producing what may turn out to be a masterpiece in time. Expand
  5. May 13, 2011
    8
    Keeping in stride with their previous works, Manchester Orchestra works the same feeling into Simple Math. It has that low centre of gravity, powerful feeling that drives through you from start to finish. I immediately fell in love with the title track when they had previewed it and other highlights on the album for me are Pensacola and Virgin, all three songs have such a unique feel, which also blends easily with the other tracks. It's quickly becoming a favourite in my collection. Expand
  6. May 11, 2011
    9
    Before I listened to the new MO Cd I had listened to the new Sam Roberts Record which was a huge disappointment. Not expecting much from Manchester Orchestra either, I pressed play and I was automatically connected. Instantly catchy, but with amazing depth, Andy Hull hit it perfect with this album. A mix of prog and indie, it was amazing. From the strings section in the title track to the children's choir in 'Virgin,' this is an inspired album. In the first couple of seconds of Deer, I already knew this would be one of my favorite records of the year. With a lot of great bands coming out with music in May, go with Manchester Orchestra's. The only downer about this one is that it ended. Expand
  7. May 10, 2011
    9
    The few reviews I've read of "Simple Math" seem to focus on the progression of the band through its first three albums. While I have listened to "I'm Like a Virgin Losing a Child" and "Mean Everything to Nothing," neither have stuck with me like this one. It reminds me of several of my favorite bands while sounding distinctly original at the same time. I have listened to the streamed album over the last week and am glad it's now released in full downloadable form.

    It's fun to compare new music to bands we love, but maybe not completely fair. Anyway, here I go. The most notable tracks for me leave me with a desire to pull out The Format (Deer), Death Cab (Simple Math), Brand New (Virgin), and Wilco (Pale Black Eye). But, instead, I just replay "Simple Math" again. April Fool is perhaps the catchiest song I've found in 2011, perfectly flawed and relistenable. It's both haunting and fun, and is sure to put Manchester Orchestra on the map of those who write about music. Just not yet on the charts, leaving me wondering if they'll try too hard to sell records on #4. I hope not. I'm enjoying this too much.
    Expand
  8. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    Not as good as the other two albums, but definitely worth a few listens. I saw MO last year and would love to see them perform many of the solid tracks on Simple Math.
  9. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    A great and honest album by Manchester Orchestra that, in my opinion, improves a lot over Mean Everything To Nothing, but that's up to taste more than anything. The lyrics are great, and the depth of images and metaphors is so great, that it rivals the greatest achievements of english writing to date. Visibly Pink Floyd and classic rock inspired, the album doesn't bring any ''new'' sound to the table, but expands on what is already there, draws from many influences, and crafts them into great, extensive, non-generic songs. They always do what you'd least expect (The single Simple Math being the most linear of their songs).
    Concluding, I have to say this is my second favorite album of 2011, right behind Cage The Elephant's Thank You, Happy Birthday. Great Record.
    Expand
  10. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    The complex sound of this piece of the work of Manchester Orchestra, proved the development of ideas and senses that can by expressed through this music genre.
  11. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    They never disappoint , the end of a song only means another great one is coming . A absolutely great album. Andy hulls voice is something everybody should hear
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 31, 2011
    60
    The follow-up to 2009's Everything To Nothing crackles with energy. [Jun 2011, p.119]
  2. May 27, 2011
    55
    His belief in his own profundity is kind of endearing as Manchester Orchestra's driving force. It's hard to imagine something like the title track, which uses infidelity as a jumping-off point to question the entire basis of human existence, even standing a chance without it.
  3. 70
    Two years later, the five-piece returns with Simple Math – a concept album which, according to Hull himself, examines perennial hot button topics like marriage, love, religion, and sex. Again, not exactly revelatory material, but Hull has a gift with prose that turns even the most banal observations into striking reflections.