User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 129

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 20, 2010
    10
    A very original album which incorporates several genres to make one unique and memorable track after the next. Considering Big Boi's track record, this should come as no surprise. I've listened to this album about two dozen times and I'm still enjoying it as much as I did on my initial listen. Great stuff! 10/10
  2. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    Cool, inventive, eccentric and powerful, this is the hip-hop album of the year or maybe it might be the album of the year. It retains Outkast's eccentricity and genre clashing tendencies but it completely launches Big Boi out of the Outkast area by being a completely fresh listen with creatively layered sounds and Big Boi's smart lyricism with an offbeat rhyming style and delivery.
  3. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    One of the best rap albums in a VERY long time.

    In an industry that focuses on simple, poppish garbage that emphasizes catchiness over quality, it is refreshing to hear half of the 'Kast deliver a stunning and fully accomplished solo album. Big Boi has delivered a monster that consists of irregular beats ranging from electro to classical that are laced with rapid fire rhymes from himself
    and worthy verses from guest spots.

    Although Andre 3000 is notably absent save for a track he produced, the album actually takes a much stronger stand. Big Boi has more room to express himself as an equally awesome musician. Taking it that way, Jive sort of gave a gift to Big Boi. Big OBi had been overshadowed long enough and finally gets his time to shine.

    Lyrically, Big Boi has improved miles-ahead of his previous material. He now pulls better punchlines and similes and metaphors than the simple gangsta-like rap he used to do. Even the people he chooses who from the outlook don't work well have each etched a significant place in the album. Gucci Mane usually is horrible, but he is the perfect fit on Shine Blockas. Jamie Foxx gives a soulful chorus full of pain and angst on a production by Lil Jon. Yes, the king of crunk.

    My only complaint (and this is a minor one) is that Big Boi's lyrical topics aren't varied and are solely braggadocio. Speakerboxxx featured some feel-good lyrics and some political rants. But nonetheless, Sir Lucious is a brilliant piece of work that is uncompromising and that chooses quality as the first priority.
    Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty is one of the best rap albums of the year so far. His hit Shutterbug is stand out for sure, and along with others he has made himself a critically acclaimed album. His lyrics make sense and his beats are incredible and unique, I enjoyed this album a lot and am anticipating the next think Big Boi puts out.
  5. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    I've been an Outkast fan for years. I always felt that an album with only Big Boi would disappoint. Speakerboxx didn't stand the test of time for me. I'm 100% confident this one well. I'm pleasantly surprised with what he has done here. I have listened to a lot of new music this year and this so far is my favorite album. I can't stop listening. It is great to see Organized Noise all over this one. Enjoy it folks. Totally worth it. Collapse
  6. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    A entertaining album with some great tracks, produced to the highest standard and all unique to one-another. Big Boi is lyrically clever and has a tight flow on the whole as expected but disappointingly stoops to gangster-esque pretentiousness in a few lines of a few songs. I would highly recommend it to anybody that listens to rap.
  7. Aug 24, 2010
    9
    Best Hip-Hop Album of the Year so far. It could had been the Best Album of The Year is The Arch Android did not exist. BIg Boi really displays his lyrical ability to progress as a solo artist without his affiliate Andre 3000. Also, he has a good ear for funky, soulful beats, which make the album sound very cohesive. The listener will surely appreciate everything this album has to offer.
  8. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    It's not on the level of Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik, ATLiens or Aquemini but still is one of the best hip hop albums of 2010. The album is original and fresh sounding. 9/10
  9. Aug 25, 2011
    10
    This is the most polished album from Outkast since Aquemini - yes, it's obviously missing Andre, but it has that same dirty south hip hop tradition they both spearheaded and perfected. And now it's stronger and harder-hitting than ever - the production is insanely catchy and yet complex, and there are only 2 tracks I skip over because they're not my style (Your DJ... and Follow Us are kinda weak, though not bad). Seeing as I'm the most picky music listener I know, that's quite a feat for any CD. The music and rhymes from Big Boi show him to be both a pro musician AND rapper who just loves doing what he does. That's an awesome combination, and he's come a long way since his ATLiens days. You'll be bumping this one 6 months after you buy it, and Big Boi is a musician whose music deserves to be bought, because it's truly a crime not to support music this good with your money. Expand
  10. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    This album is truly a masterpiece of modern times. It cleverly mixes fierce MC battle tracks (such as General Patton) with more mellow, soul-esque tracks (such as Turns Me On). All with some genuInely funny skits in between - a feat that is usually never achieved on hip-hop albums. 10/10
  11. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    The closest comparison for this albums would be a better version of B.o.B's "Adventures of Bobby Ray." It's not a class album, but it's very good, and has no weak tracks albeit there are no excellent ones either
  12. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    HIP HOP-GENIUS: Daddy Fat Sax is as intelligent a producer as much as he is a producer.
    A seminal masterpiece that I just can't stop myself from repeating over and over. The Train pt 2 sounds like it comes from the future and has the very sexiest of guitar riffs and alien ryhtyms. For me, the best album of the year. Owns the likes of Kanye Wests Fantasy album which sounds cheap and slow
    and just a little bit dumb in comparison with this. Expand
  13. Jan 2, 2011
    9
    An awesome original and unique album by Big Boi. This is of the better hip hop albums to come out in past years. Big Boi does a grate job of bringing his own vibe to this album. If you like hip hop get this cd.
  14. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    What an amazing piece of hip hop history. Big Boi shows us he still knows exactly what the hell he's doing, and commands attention. This guy does hip hop like miles davis does jazz. Intelegent and witty lyrics, perfect beats, and just purely enjoyable songs. Awesome for parties, but the depth of this album runs deep enough that you don't get sick of the songs, and you will find yourself listening to them outside of the party too. One of the catchiest albums that I don't mind being stuck in my head at all. Expand
  15. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    An incredible album imo, You get some of the best songs of the decade,so far. Shine Blockas is an instant classic, just bought this album, I had the songs downloaded, but I decided to buy it because it was that good. Best album of the decade so far.
  16. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    I'd rate this album in the top 3 hip hop albums of 2010 (along with The Roots "How I Got Over" and Kanye's "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy"). Big Boi stays true to his Southern Playalistic style without losing an ounce of relevance. From the lowrider-bumpin' intro "Feel Me" to the college band drum-laced "Backup Plan," Sir Lucious never misses a beat. Highlights include "Fo Yo Sorrows", "Night Night", "You Ain't No DJ" and "Backup Plan". Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. A succession of enjoyable songs with plenty to offer.
  2. Sir Lucious Left Foot: The Son of Chico Dusty isn't just an expertly produced and performed slab of brilliantly odd, futuristic dance music. It isn't just the best rap album of the year so far.
  3. 80
    Big Boi's absurd--and absurdly dextrous--verbiage knits it all together handsomely. [Sep 2010, p.85]