Slipway Fires

  • Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2009
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoannaB
    Jan 23, 2009
    8
    I think this CD is absolutely underrated. I think it's great and much better and musically more mature than their previous one. the more I listen to it the more I like it.
  2. DJC
    Jun 21, 2009
    8
    I'm surprised how poorly this record was received they have made a very good album here. Sure, just as their last album was not war this is not the Joshua tree, but wire to wire is as soulful as tabloid lover is catchy (maybe a little cheesy but hey) it really boils down to a good record that is not getting the praise that it deserves.
  3. FelipeP
    Nov 11, 2008
    0
    What happened with them?? Anything of Barney's Pink is better than this trash, the worst album of the year, very boring!
  4. TheSheez
    Nov 13, 2008
    1
    Get every rock cliche in the world and you have Razorlight. A ridiculous talentless frontman robbing better artists iaeas and coming up with this tripe. Truly awful.
  5. JoeD
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    Great album, totally doesnt deserve the slating it's getting by most reviewers, i love this album, razorlight try something new every album and once again it's a success.
  6. DaanK.
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    The best album of Razorlight!
  7. Ianb
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    a razorlight album is always going to get bad reviews no matter how good it is i think this is a brilliant album they've topped what they did on their last album a must have.
  8. Apr 23, 2012
    5
    After 2 pretty solid albums and a progression from Indie band to chart toppers Razorlight seemed to have fallen between 2 stools on this one. They haven't built on the slickness of their "Razorlight" album, neither have they reverted back to their alternative Indie style. This is it's record with mostly mid tempo soft rockers. There are 2 or 3 good songs on this but for more than half theAfter 2 pretty solid albums and a progression from Indie band to chart toppers Razorlight seemed to have fallen between 2 stools on this one. They haven't built on the slickness of their "Razorlight" album, neither have they reverted back to their alternative Indie style. This is it's record with mostly mid tempo soft rockers. There are 2 or 3 good songs on this but for more than half the time it's an effort to stay awake. Johnny B takes his self indulgence to new levels here. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Slipway Fires is preposterous, and in a way I actually wish I liked it more.
  2. In simple terms, then, the third Razorlight album is utter, utter cobblers.
  3. It aims at U2, but winds up a ringer for their less-celebrated countrymen.