SMiLE

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 459 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 459

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffF
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    Imagine if this had been released in 1967 as originally scheduled. This would have been one of the groundbreaking albums of all time. As it is , it is still amazing. this guy is or was a musical genius with a very capital "G". its too bad his own family caused his descent into a 20 year drug addled and mentally ill stupor. This man deserves all the kudos given. an american treasure.
  2. PaulJ
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Wonderful, at last an L.P (!) to listen too
  3. TomP
    Jan 3, 2005
    10
    Unique and brilliant. I feel honored to have been able to see Smile performed live, and I bought two copies of the CD - one for home and one for my office.
  4. DougP
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Nobody's perfect; but this is as close as it gets.
  5. ACritic
    Oct 6, 2005
    6
    I enjoyed the CD. Some of it. The songs were very unique and experimental, and had very different affects to them. "Our Prayer" was harmonic and bright, "You are my Sunshine" has a very dark sound to it. "Roll Plymouth Rock" was beautiful. Although, some of the tracks (Barnyard, Mrs. O'Leary's Cow), were a miss for me. A real mix I would recommend for anyone to listen to.
  6. Bluebird.
    Feb 11, 2005
    10
    Truly awesome music/sounds! Puts a SMiLE on my face and in my soul each time I hear it. Brian Wilson's best!!! Rock, Rock, Roll.......
  7. AgatheM
    Mar 19, 2005
    5
    It's OK, but what's the big deal?
  8. Marillion
    Mar 22, 2005
    10
    Smile is quite simply the greatest triumph in the history of pop music! Bautiful! Thank you Brian! Welcome in Montreux this summer 05! A long time swiss fan!
  9. ryan
    Mar 7, 2005
    10
    I think most americans forgot how good pop music can be Ashlee Simpson should feel ashamed after listening to this CD
  10. MaciejW
    Apr 8, 2005
    9
    Plain and simple, it made me happy, it made me nod my head in appreciation and it made me smile. In essence, sometimes that is all music needs to do. Brilliant.
  11. VincentX
    May 11, 2005
    7
    An amusing anachronism brought to us with style. Though It all sounds a little too "thought-out" to me. I picture Brian Wilson in laboratory instead of a studio. I just can't listen to it in one go. For that it is all too much a musical disneyland. So, listen to this one for about 15 minutes and then switch to Hobo Sunrise by the Hunches as quick as possible.
  12. SamK
    May 12, 2005
    10
    I first bought this album in Feb '05 and believe it or not, I'm still listening to it almost every day, and it's the middle of May now! You'll either hate it or love it, but if you're open minded at all you'll see that this music is truly unique and YES it's WAAAAY more musically complex than anything the Beatles ever did. However, there aren't I first bought this album in Feb '05 and believe it or not, I'm still listening to it almost every day, and it's the middle of May now! You'll either hate it or love it, but if you're open minded at all you'll see that this music is truly unique and YES it's WAAAAY more musically complex than anything the Beatles ever did. However, there aren't catchy little songs about meter maids, or gettin' better all the time, so had it been released in 1967, I don't think it would have been that popular. This album demands several listens to get all the levels and nuances. It's really amazing that 40 years later, this album doesn't sound dated at all, and holds its own against anything musicians are doing today. Way to go Brian! Expand
  13. JoeD
    May 24, 2005
    10
    All I can say is wow. This is so much different than anything else I have heard yet it is still amazing. Congrats to Brian Wilson for finally realizing his masterpiece!
  14. Kev
    May 29, 2005
    10
    Best album ever recorded!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  15. anthonyr
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    total masterpiece from the opening our pray to the ending good vibes ... proves all along that it would changed the music scene and will do so now ... sgt what i dont think so... well done Brian and VDP .. and his bandmates a must cd to own musical history ... dig Anthony
  16. GregB
    Jun 24, 2005
    10
    Smile is an American classic. And Brian Wilson is among the greatest songwriters/ composers/ recording artists in American history. Right up there with Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin or Aaron Copeland. Right up there with Duke Ellington or Count Basie. Right up there with any of the greats in American rock. The fact that this album was released in 2004 truely crosses into the realm of Smile is an American classic. And Brian Wilson is among the greatest songwriters/ composers/ recording artists in American history. Right up there with Leonard Bernstein, George Gershwin or Aaron Copeland. Right up there with Duke Ellington or Count Basie. Right up there with any of the greats in American rock. The fact that this album was released in 2004 truely crosses into the realm of miracles. Huge kudos to Darian Sahanaja and the Wondermints. Their passion, dedication and patience made this album possible. And Kudos to Brian Wilson for having guts made of steel. In 1967, he took a 900-pound bullet by cancelling "Smile" to keep the Beach Boys together. And in 2004, he finally gave the world this wonderful gift by bulling his way through his darkest demons and fears. While we may never hear what Smile would have been if Brian had been able to finish it in 1966, who cares! Listen to "Wonderful" in 100-200 years and it will still sound fantastic.. Yeah there's some goofy stuff on the album. So what! Dare to be stupid!! Yeah, Good Vibrations has some changes. So what! They probably had to be done for legal reasons.. And if Brian Wilson's music just isn't your thing and/ or you don't see what this big deal is here, check out the Smile DVD. Watch the documentary first, then watch the performance. You will see a remarkable story of human beings' ability to triumph against adversity. And you will see absolute proof that beautiful music has profound powers. Expand
  17. GaryA
    Jun 6, 2005
    9
    Let me state something right up front, this is a superb piece of American pop music. With that said I am not ready to annoint this as the ultimate masterpiece. I have now listened to SMiLE about 10-12 times. All of us already knew how great "Heroes and Villains" and "Good Vibrations" were. And while there are cuts on this CD that rate among the greatest of all time, "Wonderful" comes to Let me state something right up front, this is a superb piece of American pop music. With that said I am not ready to annoint this as the ultimate masterpiece. I have now listened to SMiLE about 10-12 times. All of us already knew how great "Heroes and Villains" and "Good Vibrations" were. And while there are cuts on this CD that rate among the greatest of all time, "Wonderful" comes to mind, there are parts of this work that almost sound forced to me. Like Brian was being weird just for the sake of being weird with no real meaning to back it up. Granted, those passages are few and far between but they are there none the less. The CD starts off strong with the first 3 tracks, "Our Prayer", "Heroes and Villains", and "Roll Plymouth Rock". Then "Barnyard" appears, and while fun to listen to it seems a bit out of place. This is followed by "Old MasterPainter/You Are My Sunshine", which even though corny Brian makes it work and uses it as the lead in to the interestingly quirky "Cabin Essence". This is followed by the strongest stretch of this CD, the cerebral "Wonderful" that leads smoothly into "Song For Children" and then "Child is Father of the Man". These 3 pieces will mesmorize you. All that is followed by a superbly haunting "Surf's Up", which I still think is one of the greatest songs Brian has composed. That wonderful stretch of music is followed by the portion of the CD that I think sounds too forced. While "I'm in Great Shape/I Wanna be Around/Workshop" and "Vega-Tables" are interesting listens, I question what they add. "On a Holiday" is next which does work quite well and brings to mind Paul McCartney's "Uncle Albert/Admiral Halsley" or "Sir Bodsworth Rugglesby III" by the Beatle rip off first album by Klaatu. Next is the pleasant "Wind Chimes" which would have made a terrific lead in to the CD's strong final 2 cuts, "In Blue Hawaii" and of course the classic "Good Vibrations", still one of the greatest pop songs ever written. Instead Brian gives us "Mrs O'Leary's Cow" in front of the final 2 tracks, a song that makes The Beatles "Revolution Number 9" sound like ear candy. I can only assume that this was Brian's answer to the bridge in the Beatles classic "A Day in the Life". But while the Beatles are able to evoke the emotions and mystery of "A Day in the Life" with the orchestral bridge, "Mrs O'Leary's Cow" falls completely flat and is grossly out of place. Does "SMiLE" stand up to "Sgt Pepper's" ? Yes it does, but Pepper gives it a good left hook and still retains the title. Expand
  18. NicB
    Jul 23, 2005
    9
    I wasn't a fan of the Beach Boys, I wasn't not a fan either - they were just always there in the background of my life, but that was until Glastonbury 2005 when I saw Brian Wilson play live. Now I'm a fan. An annoying one who won't shut up about him!
  19. JordanS
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    I was confused the first five times I heard this album. But as I started listening to it more and more, I came to realize the wonders of this album. When I first started listening to it, something struck my subconscious as this was the first recording that sounded completely "American." You can't explain it; you need to hear it. Listen to this album a few times; if you don't I was confused the first five times I heard this album. But as I started listening to it more and more, I came to realize the wonders of this album. When I first started listening to it, something struck my subconscious as this was the first recording that sounded completely "American." You can't explain it; you need to hear it. Listen to this album a few times; if you don't like it, it's because something has convinced you that pop music is bad. Give it a chance though. This could very well be the greatest endeavour in popular music. And I'm not exaggerating. Expand
  20. JamesSaysThis
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    Everyone who thinks this album is a loss or a blunder is full of beans. I was almost completely in the dark in regards to the SMiLE legend before it came out last year, but have eaten it up whole hog since first popping it in. I'm 22, and it's clear to me that everyone in my age group who doesn't understand what Brian Wilson is not only capable of, but has done (let's Everyone who thinks this album is a loss or a blunder is full of beans. I was almost completely in the dark in regards to the SMiLE legend before it came out last year, but have eaten it up whole hog since first popping it in. I'm 22, and it's clear to me that everyone in my age group who doesn't understand what Brian Wilson is not only capable of, but has done (let's be clear on that), must have shit for brains. Expand
  21. JohnW
    Aug 3, 2005
    4
    It's ok, but it's a far cry from anything great. It's just an update of the Beach Boys. Nothing new, nothing fresh.
  22. salomey
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    this is the best album ever released i would spent some time telling the people who gave this one 0 or hardly any points why they are so obviously ruled but i would end up using language that wouldn't be suitable :D + the music speaks for itself it would have been nice had brian been able to release this when his voice was still 100% (though i was pleasantly surprised really) but this is the best album ever released i would spent some time telling the people who gave this one 0 or hardly any points why they are so obviously ruled but i would end up using language that wouldn't be suitable :D + the music speaks for itself it would have been nice had brian been able to release this when his voice was still 100% (though i was pleasantly surprised really) but then again when that's the only possible flaw there's nothing to complain this album is a victory in every way Expand
  23. Mr.X
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    So Andy McD must think the crap that those retard rappers and pop artists put out is music. Today's music is such a de-evolution when it comes to musical progress that it makes me sick! It is a good thing I have Brian Wilson's Smile as my medicine. What an excellent album! Great musical and vocal arrangements.If you want to hear real music purchase this album.
  24. LeoS
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Simply the greatest album ever released
  25. RichardK
    Dec 15, 2006
    7
    This album is good, but how it got its ranking I'll never understand. I'm obviously missing something. On the other hand, why do some people give 1's and 2's? Is it just to offset the misplaced 10's? Metacritic's ratings always tend to the extreme.
  26. mike
    Jan 23, 2006
    10
    brian wilson is god
  27. karma
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    if i had to pick just one album to take with me to a desert island, this would be it.
  28. matthewk
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    The greatest music i have ever heard !
  29. CKbiggie
    Mar 26, 2006
    4
    wanted to like this, but 4 listens later was trying hard to stay awake. the critical fervor is completely baffling... a very mediocre album.
  30. SmittyP
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    The world is a much better place with the release of this album. Our and future generations should be eternally thankful to Darian and the band for helping push Brian over this hump. A true masterpiece on par with Gershwin. I have nothing but sympathy for those who are unable to truly appreciate the depth, complexity and innovation of this album.
  31. AncaM
    May 10, 2006
    2
    big disappointment! it's not the 60's or the 2000's, it's a very weird mixture that personally i don't understand and can't relate to it!
  32. DavidC
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    i understand why some people might not like it. It is a little nebulous and silly, but it appeals and satisfies every nerve ending in the comprehensional area of my brain. i don't know if i've ever been so memsmerized by a piece of music before. I'm not going to proclaim it the best album ever, not in my interest, and i think a lot of people get consumed by the mythology i understand why some people might not like it. It is a little nebulous and silly, but it appeals and satisfies every nerve ending in the comprehensional area of my brain. i don't know if i've ever been so memsmerized by a piece of music before. I'm not going to proclaim it the best album ever, not in my interest, and i think a lot of people get consumed by the mythology behind the album, and that may enhance the overall impression of the music in some strange sensory aesthetic, but without the legend withstanding, it is still and inticing piece of work. Expand
  33. MikeLove
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    Quite simply one of the masterpieces of rock music and only a reaffirmation of Wilson's genius. My favorite dissenting comment is from a poster who claims that musicians and knowledgeable composers would dismiss Brian Wilson as an "average songwriter." This is why such unknowledgeable musicians such as Paul McCartney have called Pet Sounds their favorite album of all time, Neil Young Quite simply one of the masterpieces of rock music and only a reaffirmation of Wilson's genius. My favorite dissenting comment is from a poster who claims that musicians and knowledgeable composers would dismiss Brian Wilson as an "average songwriter." This is why such unknowledgeable musicians such as Paul McCartney have called Pet Sounds their favorite album of all time, Neil Young has admitted to weeping when listening to Wilson's music, Bob Dylan has suggested the donation of Wilson's ear to the Smithsonian and Pete Townshend has "liberally" applied the term "genius" to Brian. Oh yes, and for those schooled in musical theory, Leonard Bernstein, the former famed composer and conducter of the New York Philharmonic spotlighted Wilson on a 1966 TV special performing "Surf's Up" to demonstrate to adults the artistry that was occuring in popular music at the time. By the time Brian Wilson was 24, he had secured his legacy by penning the majority of the Beach Boys hits as well as Pet Sounds and this, Smile. What did your so called "above-average" songwriter accomplish between 18 and 24? His music may not necessarily be your cup of tea, but please do not display such ignorance and belittle the man's accomplishments. Expand
  34. DaleB
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    When you listen to the arrangments, not just the music, but the vocal arrangments, this album towers above any other piece of pop music I have heard. You really need to watch the DVD concert video to take in all that is going on with this musical materpiece. SMiLE is brilliant! And to think Brian and Van Dyke did this at age 23? Mindboggeling!
  35. RobertA
    Sep 24, 2006
    10
    So good!
  36. stephj
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    music does not get better than this. kudos to Brian Wilson. If only there was music of this caliber today.
  37. MaxM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Who?
  38. SanderV
    Mar 17, 2007
    10
    Altough the original tapes sound warmer, the real winning point for this version is its cohesiveness. I never thought it could be pulled of, but it works and it's brilliant. It's a trip, from beginning to end.
  39. JPublius
    Apr 15, 2007
    2
    Horrid. The updated lounge band production of this album is so far from the mid-60s Beach Boys magic as to be unrecognizable. The great myth of "Smile" is that it was somehow unfinished, as if Wilson were on the cusp of writing great new material that would link everything together when pressure from his bandmates and label forced him to stop working on the record. This is ridiculous: Horrid. The updated lounge band production of this album is so far from the mid-60s Beach Boys magic as to be unrecognizable. The great myth of "Smile" is that it was somehow unfinished, as if Wilson were on the cusp of writing great new material that would link everything together when pressure from his bandmates and label forced him to stop working on the record. This is ridiculous: Smile was as finished as it was ever going to be, mostly due to its principal songwriter/producer having reduced himself to drug-addled mush. The Smile sessions were a story of diminishing returns, capped by endless studio tweakery at the end to produce the recording Wilson himself had promised Capitol by Jan 1967. The music was there--as numerous bootlegs and "rough mixes" conclusively prove. It wasn't the best pop album in history, and it was never going to be. But it was certainly far superior in every aspect to the mess the group released in its place, the career-killing disaster known as "Smiley Smile." It was also far superior to this slicked-up recording, with its mind-bogglingly awful version of Good Vibrations featuring lyrics not by Mike Love, which,given almost endless lawsuits that have marred the group's existence since the 60s, is probably the real reason why the original Smile never saw the light of day then, nor in the 80s, nor now. Sorry, Brian-worshippers. I just cannot get into a shallow re-recording of a famous lost album by a composer/singer long past his prime backed by studio musicians who just don't get it. The real Smile exists out there--it always has. You just have to look for it... Expand
  40. chirs
    May 25, 2007
    10
    are you people insane? this album is amazing. it's wonderfully weird and genius.
  41. fagr
    Jun 20, 2007
    4
    how did this shit get up here... it seems that when critics see the beatles or the rolling stones or such oldies they feel the obligation to slap a 100 on it. NOT GOOD, put me to sleep
  42. DaveM
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    BRILLIANT!!!!! It took me back twenty years, then forward the same. A true work of art. It definitely left me with "Good Vibrations".
  43. PeterD
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    An American classic. Like psychedelic Gershwin.
  44. Sophie
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    A really wonderful album, with some very slight faults. If only we had the original with us.
  45. CarlesI.
    Sep 26, 2007
    0
    This is the best album of 10 years ago, please close this web.
  46. RoyceL
    Nov 2, 2008
    0
    This album does absolutely nothing for me.
  47. PlatoS
    Dec 23, 2008
    8
    Well I guess I understand how critics feel - that this is one of the best pop albums of all time. Thats exactly how I feel, but all I can say is that pop isn't exactly the best music of all time, so I don't think that Smile gets a 97%. But for those Beach Boys fans, I am quite confident to say that this is another Pet Sounds, or perhaps even better, since its a concept album, Well I guess I understand how critics feel - that this is one of the best pop albums of all time. Thats exactly how I feel, but all I can say is that pop isn't exactly the best music of all time, so I don't think that Smile gets a 97%. But for those Beach Boys fans, I am quite confident to say that this is another Pet Sounds, or perhaps even better, since its a concept album, which makes it even stronger as a whole (the songs are also very good, such as Wonderful, Surf's Up, Good Vibration, etc.) Expand
  48. YaronS.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    Released in 2004 or 1967 doesnt matter...its simply a great ride through an inavative and genious masterpiece of music. I did'nt know the whole story behind Smile...I just approched it as a regular cd I wanted to listen to. I have to admit that it took me a few listens to really grasp it, because the melodic rythems are very complex and unique - this cd is not for all ears, but I Released in 2004 or 1967 doesnt matter...its simply a great ride through an inavative and genious masterpiece of music. I did'nt know the whole story behind Smile...I just approched it as a regular cd I wanted to listen to. I have to admit that it took me a few listens to really grasp it, because the melodic rythems are very complex and unique - this cd is not for all ears, but I found it very moving!!! Expand
  49. KenS.
    Mar 1, 2008
    1
    Were it not for "Good Vibrations", I would have given it a ZERO. What a disappointment. Pitiful.
  50. ThomH.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    This is the single most important work of musical art that has ever been produced. Thank you Brian Wilson.
  51. FredM
    May 21, 2008
    4
    I'm a massive fan of the Beach Boys, especially Pet Sounds, and for me they're second only to the Beatles in the revolutionary pop genius stakes, so before Smile came out I obviously waited expectantly to see if it measured up. It doesn't, the people who say it's a 'triumph' and other such words are writing about the album they wanted to hear. The album you I'm a massive fan of the Beach Boys, especially Pet Sounds, and for me they're second only to the Beatles in the revolutionary pop genius stakes, so before Smile came out I obviously waited expectantly to see if it measured up. It doesn't, the people who say it's a 'triumph' and other such words are writing about the album they wanted to hear. The album you do hear is very, very disappointing, I feel like the only sane person in a mad world writing that on here, but that's how I judge this album. Expand
  52. GavinF
    May 21, 2008
    2
    I downloaded this purely because of the high ranking it received on this site and I have to say I though it was dreadful. It's all bee-boop-a-doo-daa non sense. Good Vibrations being the only exception.
  53. MikeL.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Godhead!
  54. JonathanF.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Such a beautiful wondrous album so different to pet sounds yet strangely familiar and instant classic in 2004 although i fear it may be released for many year people giving it 0 out of ten im sure would not have if this was released in 1967 and i wish it was as i think pop music today would be a little (if not alot) different.
  55. nickc.
    Aug 25, 2008
    0
    it gets a zero because i felt duped by these experts. 97%?! how... did you listen to a version where brian wilson sounds good? i wanted to like this because this site has introduced me many a new group or singer. i KNOW who brian wilson is... and i was very disappointed after several listening sessions. i tried to like it... i think i even pretended to like it... then i just gave up. this it gets a zero because i felt duped by these experts. 97%?! how... did you listen to a version where brian wilson sounds good? i wanted to like this because this site has introduced me many a new group or singer. i KNOW who brian wilson is... and i was very disappointed after several listening sessions. i tried to like it... i think i even pretended to like it... then i just gave up. this doesn't deserve the critical praise its getting and is no where near Pet Sounds or even those trying to emulate the feel. Expand
  56. JonathanW.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    No originality? Maybe I'll post more later, but for now I'll just listen to "Surf's Up" one more time, i.e. my favorite song.
  57. PhilipD.
    Sep 22, 2008
    10
    I wish these people would stop giving this such low ratings in order to 'lower the average'. I mean, sure, if they think it's worth 6 then fine... but when they say '0' just to 'even things out' ...no. That's simply trying to make as much of a mark as possible on the score, it isn't helping to make a fair judgement. Why should one person's I wish these people would stop giving this such low ratings in order to 'lower the average'. I mean, sure, if they think it's worth 6 then fine... but when they say '0' just to 'even things out' ...no. That's simply trying to make as much of a mark as possible on the score, it isn't helping to make a fair judgement. Why should one person's 0 influence the score more than 5 peoples 10's if the score is averaging at about 9.7 ? Not fair. Expand
  58. JohnE.
    Nov 1, 2009
    0
    The most outdated sounding, overly cheesy, over the top, non subtle, non interesting, unappealing, uninspiring,wall of noise I have ever heard. I agree with Aaron S. the album will ultimately be forgotten along with the fake corporate hype. Who could possibly like this other than the easily brain washed? I listen to music pretty much all day long everyday, and I listen to every genera, The most outdated sounding, overly cheesy, over the top, non subtle, non interesting, unappealing, uninspiring,wall of noise I have ever heard. I agree with Aaron S. the album will ultimately be forgotten along with the fake corporate hype. Who could possibly like this other than the easily brain washed? I listen to music pretty much all day long everyday, and I listen to every genera, and i must say this is crap. I make better sounds come out of my ass after I eat huevos rancheros and give myself a coffee enema. Expand
  59. MIkeY
    Nov 20, 2009
    2
    I give it a 2 because there are only two real songs on the album. The two are excellent (Good Vibrations and Heroes and Villains). The rest does not make any sense.
  60. MikeA.
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    A true masterpiece of sound and emotion. It was well worth the wait!
  61. JamesH.
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    This is probably my favorite album to turn to at any time. I just love the songs and how they roll from one to the next. I can just hit play on the iPod and have an hour of total indulgence.
  62. SebastianW
    Dec 15, 2009
    6
    I may just not understand its context, I may just not be enough of a Beach Boys fan, but considering this album takes the throne on metacritic, I find it's simply too counter-modern and envisions its listeners too narrowly.
  63. BillW
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    I think it's the album of the decade. I love it more as the years roll on. I listen to it more now than ever. When I hear people dis it I get confused, how can this music not move you? THis is not even "my kind of music" yet when it's on I am in a semi-meditative state and it's one of the few peices of music that can stop my in my tracks.
  64. JohnC
    May 17, 2009
    0
    Now I understand why it has taken more than 30 years for it to be released. Because Brian knew it would go into the dustbin! I can't even believe some are comparing this to "Pet Sounds". And hey, folks, I'm 20 but that doesn't mean young people have no taste or worse, like I could read, that if we don't like it it's simply because we know nothing about music or Now I understand why it has taken more than 30 years for it to be released. Because Brian knew it would go into the dustbin! I can't even believe some are comparing this to "Pet Sounds". And hey, folks, I'm 20 but that doesn't mean young people have no taste or worse, like I could read, that if we don't like it it's simply because we know nothing about music or because we didn't receive a musical education. This album is made of random noises (and goddamn, I mean it, really!) put in various songs with an unlistenable voice. But Brian is the more intelligent between us: he knew that critics (who are absolute 60's music lovers) would love it simply because the music had an impact on them, an impact in people who wanted to change the world, because they wanted to change the History (and I would love to live those times too because of it). And guess what?! He was totally right! He succeeded!... But critics totally forgot what music is, and this is not music, only nostalgic noise for those who want to go back in time. Maybe Brian lost his mind, but here I see that the followers simply lost their objectivity. Expand
  65. DavidH.
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    A perfect composition.
  66. ShivaM.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Well worth the wait. It is definitely one of the best albums of the decade. Anyone not affected by this piece of art is probably just a 20 year old idiot with no taste at all.
  67. GlynnM.
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Reignited my faith in music and rediscovery of the Beach Boys.
  68. JohnY
    Jan 19, 2010
    7
    I dunno this album is pretty hard to rate for me. I think the people who are giving this a 1 or 0 are totally insane. On the other hand I think it's totally insane that this is the highest rated album of all time here. First I guess I have to say that I am not a huge Beach Boys fan, so that could have affected my enjoyment of the album. Sometimes I enjoy them a lot, other times I I dunno this album is pretty hard to rate for me. I think the people who are giving this a 1 or 0 are totally insane. On the other hand I think it's totally insane that this is the highest rated album of all time here. First I guess I have to say that I am not a huge Beach Boys fan, so that could have affected my enjoyment of the album. Sometimes I enjoy them a lot, other times I find them annoying or boring. Same can be said about the songs in this album. There are some REALLY good moments in here, but just when I thought a song was kick it up another notch on the catchy pop, the song changed pace and didn't do anything for me at all. The whole thing just seemed so uneven. Expand
  69. KamilK
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    "SMiLE" is the best album of 00`s & One of the greatest off all time. Definitely.
  70. DrakeT
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    This CD is more and less than could be hoped for. Brian's angelic voice from the 66/67 Smile sessions is absent, but his voice still sounds great, despite the diminished range. This version puts the Smile pieces in order and makes sense of everything that's circulated before. It's extraordinarily creative music that should elicit a Smile.
  71. LionelR
    Nov 12, 2004
    7
    I was 15 years old in 1967 and this album is not unlike a magic carpet ride back in time. It is clever, it is amusing but most of all it is deeply disturbing. I have downrated it by 2 points because I sense that it is technically inferior to "what it shud've sounded like" parts of it lack the tight control which is after all the beachboys' trademark
  72. MattP
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    A brilliant masterpiece that lives up to all the hype. Best album of the year and the decade. Don't listen to the naysayers.
  73. ErikN
    Oct 15, 2004
    9
    It's getting better and better each time I listen to it.
  74. JamesD
    Oct 15, 2004
    10
    best cd i ever owned
  75. ByronJ
    Nov 7, 2004
    9
    This cd may be the best one i've ever purchased. It's quite rewarding if you look deep beneath the surface, as sometimes with Brian Wilson's music(and a few other artists) so much is going on you can't take it all in, in one go. It will take multiple listens for you to fully grasp the reality of the situation.
  76. DannoJ
    Dec 1, 2004
    10
    Ha HA - that guy prefered Surfin Safari to Cabinessence. well that says it all doesn't it. SMiLE is the best album of the year - listen for yourself and hear
  77. robertv
    Dec 13, 2004
    4
    I listened to this album about three days ago, and I have no great urge to listen to it again. I wonder how we would rate this album if it DID come out in '67 or '68. It's hard to believe this performance of the songs would be considered better than 'Pet Sounds' or 'Sgt. Pepper'. I notice none of these glowing user reviews has said that 'Good I listened to this album about three days ago, and I have no great urge to listen to it again. I wonder how we would rate this album if it DID come out in '67 or '68. It's hard to believe this performance of the songs would be considered better than 'Pet Sounds' or 'Sgt. Pepper'. I notice none of these glowing user reviews has said that 'Good Vibrations' is better than the original. Maybe I'd rate this a '10' with enough drugs... Beach Boys freaks have already bought this, but the casual listener would be served better by putting this low on your priority list. I far more enjoyed the Brian Wilson & Van Dyke Parks album from the 90's, "Orange Crate Art". *There* is a cohesive, nostalgic view of a bygome American era. Expand
  78. ealonorrigby
    Dec 14, 2004
    10
    mack G poves he is a musical neanderthal, he/she most probably finds chopin,bach, mozart boring.....peasant
  79. ShaneW
    Dec 16, 2004
    10
    I never heard anything like it before. Brilliant.
  80. AndrewM
    Dec 20, 2004
    9
    I'm no fan of BB's. I always felt and still feel their music was shallow, empty, myopic, & representative of a scene I had no attachment to." ie. surfing". Sorry to fans of BB's, I don't mean to be catagorizing their sound, it just was so indicitive of a lifestyle most can't really relate to. Smile however, is. I'm Greek Australian, and these lyrics and the I'm no fan of BB's. I always felt and still feel their music was shallow, empty, myopic, & representative of a scene I had no attachment to." ie. surfing". Sorry to fans of BB's, I don't mean to be catagorizing their sound, it just was so indicitive of a lifestyle most can't really relate to. Smile however, is. I'm Greek Australian, and these lyrics and the sound made me feel American, & to the point, more identify with the small vitals of America lifestyle ,its innocence & its tarnished essence. Enough, with looking under the friggin surface & seeing life's dark stuff !!! Its can be so forced & fake. This album is pure & its honest & has a real everyday Americana feel about it. I love it for that. Cudos to Brian Wilson for never ever giving up on the dream!!! That is the most important message of all!! Never give up!!! So all you losers criticising its long wait please "look deeper than yourselfs". This guy has fought mental illness for 30 long years. He is an inspiration to me & to anyone who is stuggling to be true to their vision. Expand
  81. StevenL
    Dec 22, 2004
    10
    best cd ever.
  82. StephenB
    Dec 28, 2004
    10
    Quite simply, the greatest Pop/Rock album of all time. Nothing else even comes close!
  83. tommyg
    Oct 27, 2004
    9
    Beautiful. Warm. A down-filled concept record that dosen't weigh you down. Harkens back to when times were a little bit better, less confused, but still looks forward with confidence and opitimism. Absolutely gorgeous. California chamber pop.
  84. SeanJ
    Sep 28, 2004
    9
    No doubt, it's extremely good. However, after all the years of hype, I can't help but feel a bit disappointed? All this fuss for this?! It doesn't come anywhere near Pet Sounds in terms of sheer genius. It's certainly one of the best albums of the year, but the Arcade Fire's "Funeral" is miles beyond this.
  85. MikeC
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    Glorious sonic fireworks. Amazing!
  86. wart
    Sep 29, 2004
    10
    I can't stop listening to it.
  87. davek
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    I have been waiting for this along time ..I just wish it was done by the beach boys of the 60's
  88. JMoskal
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Couldn't have been better
  89. radar
    Oct 13, 2005
    3
    It sounds cold and overproduced. Go for the originals, folks. This was done just as good before.
  90. KentG
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    "Wunderful" to see that Brian is finally ok with his "Hero's and Villians". Beautiful music & Beautiful lyrics on an album flows better that Abby Road. The fact that Brian is 62 add's to the album making it sound like wisdom imparted and reflective. It's poetic justic that Brian would finish this grat album as a single being that he was the only Beach Boy who believed in "Wunderful" to see that Brian is finally ok with his "Hero's and Villians". Beautiful music & Beautiful lyrics on an album flows better that Abby Road. The fact that Brian is 62 add's to the album making it sound like wisdom imparted and reflective. It's poetic justic that Brian would finish this grat album as a single being that he was the only Beach Boy who believed in it. Thanks also go to the Wundermints who turned in an outstanding performance. Expand
  91. SteveH
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    Brilliant! Worth the wait
  92. PaulA
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    Perfection
  93. RyanB
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    Incredible, soak it in.
  94. GeorgeK
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    The most unique record that I have ever listened to
  95. FernandoM
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing, makes me give a smile every time that I put om my cd player. Strongly recomended
  96. EdwardB
    Jan 27, 2005
    10
    Puts to rest any reservations that Mike Love's an idiot. The Beach Boys became irrelevant as a result of this betrayal. Justice and Brian Wilson triumphs at long last. A great visonary work of immense importance.
  97. SharonD
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    Excellent. One of the greatest albums ever made. A true masterpiece.
  98. ScottH
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    The long awaited masterpiece proves that Brian Wilson is indeed a musical genius, comparable to nobody, INCLUDING The Beatles. In fact, Wilson is the only composer who matched the Beatles note for note, song for song in creative experiments and astonishing studio works. "Smile" and its predecessor, "Pet Sounds", must be in the same hallowed territory as "Revolver", and either easily The long awaited masterpiece proves that Brian Wilson is indeed a musical genius, comparable to nobody, INCLUDING The Beatles. In fact, Wilson is the only composer who matched the Beatles note for note, song for song in creative experiments and astonishing studio works. "Smile" and its predecessor, "Pet Sounds", must be in the same hallowed territory as "Revolver", and either easily outdoes "Sgt. Pepper." Only "Abbey Road" was a contender. Comparisons aside, it's a stunning CD that may only be surpassed if Wilson one day decides to release the original album with the Beach Boys, which would be truly a miracle. Expand
  99. JustinK
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    If you don't like this, you don't like music!
  100. CarlosB
    May 18, 2005
    10
    ROCK AND ROLL produced only TWO GENIUS until today : one white, BRIAN WILSON, and one black , JIMI HENDRIX. Listen to this album and you will have a demonstration of what I said.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Smile is quite simply the greatest triumph in the history of pop music.
  2. Smile's post-adolescent utopia isn't disfigured by Brian's thickened, soured 62-year-old voice. It's ennobled--the material limitations of its sunny artifice and pretentious tomfoolery acknowledged and joyfully engaged.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    100
    "Smile" emerges as a beautiful and cohesive work, at times deeply moving, at others oddly whimsical, at still others eerily disturbing but celebratory. [27 Sep 2004]