SMiLE

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: Sep 28, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 460 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 460

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanD
    Feb 13, 2010
    1
    It sounded like Brian Wilson threw mud at the wall while high on drugs through this entire album until "Good Vibrations" magically appeared. Frankly it was the only track where the mad combination of his doo-wops and strings and novelty sounds worked together. I'm sorry, but even a monkey could type the Iliad if he tried enough times.
  2. DuncanL.
    Jan 2, 2010
    3
    The great thing about this being the best rated album by the music critics is that it shows very clearly just how superficial and sheep like those critics actually are. This is no more than a piece of fluff good for a couple of spins and then put away at the back of the cupboard with that Nirvana record. But hey there are plenty of other sheep who agree with them so they must be right.
  3. MIkeY
    Nov 20, 2009
    2
    I give it a 2 because there are only two real songs on the album. The two are excellent (Good Vibrations and Heroes and Villains). The rest does not make any sense.
  4. ConnorM
    Nov 4, 2009
    0
    Looking at the comments I think either nostalgia has taken this website by storm, or a company was hired to vote positively, comment positively, etc. this album on websites.
  5. JohnE.
    Nov 1, 2009
    0
    The most outdated sounding, overly cheesy, over the top, non subtle, non interesting, unappealing, uninspiring,wall of noise I have ever heard. I agree with Aaron S. the album will ultimately be forgotten along with the fake corporate hype. Who could possibly like this other than the easily brain washed? I listen to music pretty much all day long everyday, and I listen to every genera, The most outdated sounding, overly cheesy, over the top, non subtle, non interesting, unappealing, uninspiring,wall of noise I have ever heard. I agree with Aaron S. the album will ultimately be forgotten along with the fake corporate hype. Who could possibly like this other than the easily brain washed? I listen to music pretty much all day long everyday, and I listen to every genera, and i must say this is crap. I make better sounds come out of my ass after I eat huevos rancheros and give myself a coffee enema. Expand
  6. JohnC
    May 17, 2009
    0
    Now I understand why it has taken more than 30 years for it to be released. Because Brian knew it would go into the dustbin! I can't even believe some are comparing this to "Pet Sounds". And hey, folks, I'm 20 but that doesn't mean young people have no taste or worse, like I could read, that if we don't like it it's simply because we know nothing about music or Now I understand why it has taken more than 30 years for it to be released. Because Brian knew it would go into the dustbin! I can't even believe some are comparing this to "Pet Sounds". And hey, folks, I'm 20 but that doesn't mean young people have no taste or worse, like I could read, that if we don't like it it's simply because we know nothing about music or because we didn't receive a musical education. This album is made of random noises (and goddamn, I mean it, really!) put in various songs with an unlistenable voice. But Brian is the more intelligent between us: he knew that critics (who are absolute 60's music lovers) would love it simply because the music had an impact on them, an impact in people who wanted to change the world, because they wanted to change the History (and I would love to live those times too because of it). And guess what?! He was totally right! He succeeded!... But critics totally forgot what music is, and this is not music, only nostalgic noise for those who want to go back in time. Maybe Brian lost his mind, but here I see that the followers simply lost their objectivity. Expand
  7. DenisL
    Mar 17, 2009
    1
    Absolutely useless.
  8. RoyceL
    Nov 2, 2008
    0
    This album does absolutely nothing for me.
  9. nickc.
    Aug 25, 2008
    0
    it gets a zero because i felt duped by these experts. 97%?! how... did you listen to a version where brian wilson sounds good? i wanted to like this because this site has introduced me many a new group or singer. i KNOW who brian wilson is... and i was very disappointed after several listening sessions. i tried to like it... i think i even pretended to like it... then i just gave up. this it gets a zero because i felt duped by these experts. 97%?! how... did you listen to a version where brian wilson sounds good? i wanted to like this because this site has introduced me many a new group or singer. i KNOW who brian wilson is... and i was very disappointed after several listening sessions. i tried to like it... i think i even pretended to like it... then i just gave up. this doesn't deserve the critical praise its getting and is no where near Pet Sounds or even those trying to emulate the feel. Expand
  10. ButchAutomatic
    Aug 11, 2008
    2
    Ouch! Brian, like Paul McCartney, should relaize when it is time to sit back and enjoy their spoils. Guys - you did well - it's time to stop before you implode and totally ruin what could be fond memories for us. LEARN A NEW HOBBY!
  11. kaylix
    Aug 9, 2008
    2
    What is going on here? This wasn't as great as the reviewers claim. I could barely listen to the whole album. Based on the reviews I kept hoping there was something better in the next track. I gave up and deleted it from my music library.
  12. ClifC.
    Jun 22, 2008
    1
    Is this a joke?! It's not because he's from The Beach Boys band and that he produces music that were good for 60's and 70's that this album deserves 97 of 100 in average of all music critics. It's a shame! This album has nothing to do in the 2000's (I really love 60's and 70's music too, but keep in mind that this album is old-fashioned and with no Is this a joke?! It's not because he's from The Beach Boys band and that he produces music that were good for 60's and 70's that this album deserves 97 of 100 in average of all music critics. It's a shame! This album has nothing to do in the 2000's (I really love 60's and 70's music too, but keep in mind that this album is old-fashioned and with no interest! It's an "already heard". No originality, N-O-T-H-I-N-G!). Expand
  13. GavinF
    May 21, 2008
    2
    I downloaded this purely because of the high ranking it received on this site and I have to say I though it was dreadful. It's all bee-boop-a-doo-daa non sense. Good Vibrations being the only exception.
  14. KenS.
    Mar 1, 2008
    1
    Were it not for "Good Vibrations", I would have given it a ZERO. What a disappointment. Pitiful.
  15. CG
    Jan 23, 2008
    0
    Completely overrated, unless it is placed in the children's section. By the way, I still think "Pet Sounds" is as charming as ever. I would normally give this a 4 or so, but it seems my duty to help average out all of the Wilson worship. The only musical "genuis" more overrated is Frank Black and that whole Pixies mess.
  16. MaxM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    Who?
  17. CarlesI.
    Sep 26, 2007
    0
    This is the best album of 10 years ago, please close this web.
  18. erikb
    May 7, 2007
    3
    one of those albums that you'll force yourself to hear all the way through because you "should," and then realize it is totally impossible to listen to. Can't really say I enjoyed this one at all, which is tough to admit given all the hype. Maybe I don't "get it" but I think the emperor's new clothes comment got it right.
  19. danielb
    May 3, 2007
    1
    What a disappointment! All time highest score in Metacritic? Now I get it, Rock "critics" only give value to their own nostalgia and deep in their hearts they despise any music created after 1969. This album is not bad in the same way that some elevator songs are acceptable and even catchy. I don't care about the lyrics, the music in Smile is plain boring and no grandstanding about What a disappointment! All time highest score in Metacritic? Now I get it, Rock "critics" only give value to their own nostalgia and deep in their hearts they despise any music created after 1969. This album is not bad in the same way that some elevator songs are acceptable and even catchy. I don't care about the lyrics, the music in Smile is plain boring and no grandstanding about now genius Pet Sounds was will convince me of the contrary. Let me say it again: the music is utterly boring. It is the same annoying high pitched whining for 40 minutes. Can Rock critics talk about the music of the albums they review for once? If I wanted Expand
  20. BenC
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    The original is incredible, this is mediocre at best. It has so many stops and starts in the middle of songs that it gets annoying. Tedious is the one word i would use to describe this new album
  21. JPublius
    Apr 15, 2007
    2
    Horrid. The updated lounge band production of this album is so far from the mid-60s Beach Boys magic as to be unrecognizable. The great myth of "Smile" is that it was somehow unfinished, as if Wilson were on the cusp of writing great new material that would link everything together when pressure from his bandmates and label forced him to stop working on the record. This is ridiculous: Horrid. The updated lounge band production of this album is so far from the mid-60s Beach Boys magic as to be unrecognizable. The great myth of "Smile" is that it was somehow unfinished, as if Wilson were on the cusp of writing great new material that would link everything together when pressure from his bandmates and label forced him to stop working on the record. This is ridiculous: Smile was as finished as it was ever going to be, mostly due to its principal songwriter/producer having reduced himself to drug-addled mush. The Smile sessions were a story of diminishing returns, capped by endless studio tweakery at the end to produce the recording Wilson himself had promised Capitol by Jan 1967. The music was there--as numerous bootlegs and "rough mixes" conclusively prove. It wasn't the best pop album in history, and it was never going to be. But it was certainly far superior in every aspect to the mess the group released in its place, the career-killing disaster known as "Smiley Smile." It was also far superior to this slicked-up recording, with its mind-bogglingly awful version of Good Vibrations featuring lyrics not by Mike Love, which,given almost endless lawsuits that have marred the group's existence since the 60s, is probably the real reason why the original Smile never saw the light of day then, nor in the 80s, nor now. Sorry, Brian-worshippers. I just cannot get into a shallow re-recording of a famous lost album by a composer/singer long past his prime backed by studio musicians who just don't get it. The real Smile exists out there--it always has. You just have to look for it... Expand
  22. JasonF
    Jan 10, 2007
    1
    Complicated? Yes. Good? Helllll no. One of the worst albums I've ever heard. I really wanted to like it too.
  23. AH
    Nov 20, 2006
    2
    Credit must be given to the level of creativity and variety on this album. In saying that however, variety without purpose and cohesion can be a bad thing and this album, after about Track 11, becomes really tiresome. Track 12 Vega-tables is just a montage of goofy sounds and nonsense.
  24. GiovanniO
    Aug 17, 2006
    2
    Why are most reviewers giving this album a 10? When you rate an album do you consider overall enjoyability for adults that did not grow up in the 60's? As an open minded individual I can appreciate any music regardless of age or type, but as a reviewer I could not give a 10 to an album based on its history or lenght of creation. Rome was not built in a day but it fell in one...
  25. JereW
    Jul 18, 2006
    0
    Brian Wilson's "Smile" is ridiculous. I laughed when I saw this score...
  26. EricY
    Jun 17, 2006
    0
    why critics always against the good musics, this is the E era, young peoples are the main consumer of the music industry!!
  27. AncaM
    May 10, 2006
    2
    big disappointment! it's not the 60's or the 2000's, it's a very weird mixture that personally i don't understand and can't relate to it!
  28. NathanG
    May 6, 2006
    1
    The Emporer Has No Clothes
  29. BrianS
    Apr 9, 2006
    2
    Bought this album based on Metacritic review - deeply dissapointed
  30. NickW
    Mar 22, 2006
    0
    I agree with Drew M
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Smile is quite simply the greatest triumph in the history of pop music.
  2. Smile's post-adolescent utopia isn't disfigured by Brian's thickened, soured 62-year-old voice. It's ennobled--the material limitations of its sunny artifice and pretentious tomfoolery acknowledged and joyfully engaged.
  3. Los Angeles Times
    100
    "Smile" emerges as a beautiful and cohesive work, at times deeply moving, at others oddly whimsical, at still others eerily disturbing but celebratory. [27 Sep 2004]