Snakes & Arrows

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: May 1, 2007
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 67
  2. Negative: 1 out of 67

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveH.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    After gradually feeling progressively further and further let down with every album after Counterparts Snake and Arrows simply rocks. Whilst feeling fairly ambivilent initially, each tracks little hook sunk in deeper and deeper with each listen until I can't keep the album out of my head. These guys are in their 50's and they're scorching the alt.rock scene like a band half After gradually feeling progressively further and further let down with every album after Counterparts Snake and Arrows simply rocks. Whilst feeling fairly ambivilent initially, each tracks little hook sunk in deeper and deeper with each listen until I can't keep the album out of my head. These guys are in their 50's and they're scorching the alt.rock scene like a band half their age. Neil's lyrics have snapped back into full focus, with Geddy giving them their dues with passion and meaning. Edgy, raw sounds permeate the album, standing at a pleasing counter-point with Rush's outstanding technical talents. However I do find 'Armour and Sword' skippable after several listens and 'The Larger Bowl' a little flat, it doesn't detract from the overall pacing of the album. I'm finding myself promising to make a playlist consisting of Rush's instrumentals and Snakes and Arrows will make this playlist a truly aural extravaganza. Expand
  2. Eventhorizon
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    Looking at the majority of the comments and I see true Rush fans, then I read "Todd W's" comment and I see not a loyal Rush fan but a "one hit wonder" type of music fan. REAL musicians do not pop on the charts for 15 minutes with their new songs then disappear forever; real musicians are consistent over the long haul. Rush has been consistent, loyal to their fans, and has always had Looking at the majority of the comments and I see true Rush fans, then I read "Todd W's" comment and I see not a loyal Rush fan but a "one hit wonder" type of music fan. REAL musicians do not pop on the charts for 15 minutes with their new songs then disappear forever; real musicians are consistent over the long haul. Rush has been consistent, loyal to their fans, and has always had amazing music value for your dollar. I truly cannot believe someone would whine about spending a few bucks on the release of a new CD Expand
  3. Terry
    May 16, 2007
    10
    Geddy Lee could crap on a platter and I'd love it! I give it a 10!
  4. CoquiR
    May 18, 2007
    10
    This CD Rocks! Great stuff from RUSH once again!
  5. JonO
    May 18, 2007
    8
    Very strong effort from Rush.
  6. PatM
    May 22, 2007
    10
    As a long time Rush fan, but by no means a fan of everything they've done, I can say with a fair degree of critical detachment that Snakes and Arrows ranks among Rush's very best work. Pretty good for a bunch of old farts.
  7. MarkG
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This is an incredible work of art. Rush never cease to amaze. Can't wait for the concert!
  8. toms.
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    for those of you who may not be to hip on this disk please give it a chance the more you get to know it the more i think youll love it.lots of feel! truly a very strong rush cd.
  9. HexumS
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    All good music needs to sink in before you love it :)
  10. JamesW.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    The best album they have ever done with Niel Peart still playing really good and for me he is the best drummer going.
  11. JimM
    May 17, 2007
    9
    I must be one of the few people whose opinion of Rush changed from indifferent to favorable within the past decade. Geddy Lee's solo album, followed by Vapor Trails (which I thought was musically solid and lyrically brilliant), then seeing them perform live several times converted me to an admirer. Now, Snakes and Arrows. So many bands lose their edge with age; how do these guys get I must be one of the few people whose opinion of Rush changed from indifferent to favorable within the past decade. Geddy Lee's solo album, followed by Vapor Trails (which I thought was musically solid and lyrically brilliant), then seeing them perform live several times converted me to an admirer. Now, Snakes and Arrows. So many bands lose their edge with age; how do these guys get even better? I think it's because they are first and foremost musicians and Peart is an intellectual with impressive writing skills. Anyway, this album is really growing on me the more I listen. And I can't wait to see/hear them live again. Good work guys. Collapse
  12. ChrisC
    May 18, 2007
    9
    A better recorded piece than Vapor Trails with surprisingly "traditional" Rush songs. Accoustic guitars abound with the three instrumentals being the true highlight.
  13. GD
    May 19, 2007
    8
    This album is defintely one of their best since Counterparts. The music picks up where "Vapor Trails" left off and is intricate and at times, brilliant, showing adventure and tightness. The instrumentals, "The Main Monkey Business", "Hope", and Malignant Narcissism" are all incredible. The problem, I believe, lies in the lyrics. Peart has crafted some great songs, "Armor and Sword"," This album is defintely one of their best since Counterparts. The music picks up where "Vapor Trails" left off and is intricate and at times, brilliant, showing adventure and tightness. The instrumentals, "The Main Monkey Business", "Hope", and Malignant Narcissism" are all incredible. The problem, I believe, lies in the lyrics. Peart has crafted some great songs, "Armor and Sword"," Workin' Them Angels" and "Spindrift" but overall the album felt a little too preachy. This is the man that wrote "Tom Sawyer", "Freewill", "Closer to the Heart", and "The Trees" to name a few. Maybe I'm unfairly holding them to a higher standard but I expected they could write an album like this effortlessly. Expand
  14. DanB
    May 21, 2007
    9
    Easily the best Rush album since Signals. One of the top five Rush records of all time. Just brilliant.
  15. Tarindel
    May 21, 2007
    10
    Oh man, this is good stuff. If you're a Rush fan, you'll dig this. If you're not, this probably won't convert you.
  16. seano
    May 23, 2007
    10
    f**k rolling stone, neophites
  17. ToddW
    May 24, 2007
    5
    As a Rush fan for more than 30 years, I have to laugh at those hyperventilating about their new album. Simply put, this offering is merely O.K., and that's pretty much what we've been getting every time out from the Toronto rockers for the past two decades. Me? I expect so much more from a band backed by one of the best rock drummers of all time. (Although Mastodon's Brann As a Rush fan for more than 30 years, I have to laugh at those hyperventilating about their new album. Simply put, this offering is merely O.K., and that's pretty much what we've been getting every time out from the Toronto rockers for the past two decades. Me? I expect so much more from a band backed by one of the best rock drummers of all time. (Although Mastodon's Brann Dailor is currently the King of the Kit.) There is nothing on here remotely in league with "Moving Pictures," "Signals," "2112," or "Presto." Heck, there's nothing on here as good as anything on "Hold Your Fire" or "Counterparts." What Rush does well is play live, as witness the shows I have seen and their many live albums I have purchased. I gave up hope for them in the studio long ago. Oh sure, I'll keep forking over the bucks to hear another effort, but only to see if Neil Peart still has a heart. Expand
  18. CDE
    May 26, 2007
    10
    This is VERY good. There's a good chance that A LOT of the professional reviewers above didn't even listen to the entire record based on a personal bias against this band (I know this is true for Rolling Stone). You owe it to yourself to listen if you think you might like prog rock. This is exemplary of the genre.
  19. rikkiL
    May 28, 2007
    9
    This album by far exceeds anything they have done in years. It is heavy and and great rythym.The lyrics are profound, in which we all can relate to and not out in the stratosphere.If the music keeps you coming back you know its good. Great job guys!
  20. joeb
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Best rush album since Moving Pictures
  21. BaronL.
    Jun 11, 2007
    8
    I would put S&A as my 7th or 8th favorite Rush release. It's very good for the boys and, as always, it beats the pants off most of what's released today.
  22. MikeM.
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    Symphonic.
  23. Potsos
    Jun 25, 2007
    7
    A very worthy Rush album. In my opinion, better than Vapor Trails. Taste is obviously subjective, but there are at least six songs on this album I play repeatedly -- more than expected from a band in their twilight. The instrumentals definitely rub me the right way, especially Malignant Narcissism. I wish it were three times as long. Unfortunately, there are still the now obligatory 3 or A very worthy Rush album. In my opinion, better than Vapor Trails. Taste is obviously subjective, but there are at least six songs on this album I play repeatedly -- more than expected from a band in their twilight. The instrumentals definitely rub me the right way, especially Malignant Narcissism. I wish it were three times as long. Unfortunately, there are still the now obligatory 3 or 4 mid-tempo fillers, but at this stage in their career, that's not awful. Expand
  24. owi
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    the best album in the universe
  25. joshr
    Jul 28, 2007
    9
    This is technically one of rushs tightest albums, the songwriting uses rushes intellegence in songwriting as opposed to their incredible skill. It is still dissapointing in some aspects, especially the over layering. songs only occasionally visit rushs great raw energy of yesterday. still a great album, rushs best since presto hands down
  26. TommyM.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    It will become another of their classics!
  27. LeeM
    May 16, 2007
    9
    Best since Counterpart
  28. shawnm
    May 18, 2007
    10
    great album buy several copies
  29. SatiskasD
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Geddy Lee is my hero. That said, this album is by far their best release since Permanent Waves. I understand some may not understand the genius of Rush and namely Geddy Lee, but I do. I can't wait to see this live. It will be my first time out of Ma's house in a while. Hurry up Geddy. I'm stoked!!!
  30. ChrisK
    May 23, 2007
    7
    First impresions,a return to the Lifeson traditional guitar sound, no bad thing! fade ins (a la red barcheta).Overall the sound of a band at ease with itself and once again flexing its creative and adventurous wings.
  31. FrancisH
    May 24, 2007
    10
    I think this is their best album since Signals and I look forward to seeing them live this summer. I find myself listening to the tracks over and over hearing new things everytime. A well written and melodic album. Yes I love the Rush of old and while many wish them to regress, this is not what Rush is all about. No two albums sound the same and this is what intrigues their fans and I think this is their best album since Signals and I look forward to seeing them live this summer. I find myself listening to the tracks over and over hearing new things everytime. A well written and melodic album. Yes I love the Rush of old and while many wish them to regress, this is not what Rush is all about. No two albums sound the same and this is what intrigues their fans and inspires many other artists (though they may not acknowledge it). In this day of fluff rock with one hit wonders that will not last more than 2 to 3 years, Rush rocks on and are a credit to good values and integrity. These guys should be your kids role models, not some others out there today where bling is king and it's all about me attitude. Buy the album, you'll never regret it and don't miss them live because they are better live than recorded and only one other band I've seen I can say that for - U2. Great effort and I hope we get another album in the not too distant future. Expand
  32. ScottW
    May 25, 2007
    9
    Fantastic. Intricate and beautiful. Geddy sings with emotion and immediacy. Pearts lyrics are heartfelt and sobering. Alex seems to work in every sound and style a guitar is capable of making. The group dynamics and playing remain impeccable. Bravo fellas' Bravo!
  33. charless
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Keep listening. Rush is like good wine. It gets better with age. As each new album is released I think "bummer, this isn't as good as the last one." But it has to sink into your brain and connect on its own and after a time ... if you are patient ... it reveals itself to be genius, ie Entre Nous, Time Stand Still and now Main Monkey Business ... all genius ....
  34. Mar 29, 2012
    8
    This albums has many great tunes. They include great hard rock songs with prog elements such as "Far Cry" and "Armor and Sword" and magnificent instrumentals such as "The Main Monkey Business", "Malignant Narcissism", "Hope". But half of the songs are boring and they are really hard to remember (such as "Faithless", "Spindrift", etc). Instrumental lines are good as usual: guitars riffs areThis albums has many great tunes. They include great hard rock songs with prog elements such as "Far Cry" and "Armor and Sword" and magnificent instrumentals such as "The Main Monkey Business", "Malignant Narcissism", "Hope". But half of the songs are boring and they are really hard to remember (such as "Faithless", "Spindrift", etc). Instrumental lines are good as usual: guitars riffs are heavy and mean, bass is a growling monster! "Snakes & Arrows" is more hard-rocky than previous works, but it sure is a good album and I'd recommend it to people who want to get acquainted with this band. Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Snakes & Arrows is one of the tightest conceptual records the band has ever released.
  2. A return to their former glory days, Snakes and Arrows shows this seminal prog rock band reclaiming some of the sonic territory that they'd lost over the past few years.
  3. Billboard
    70
    Most of the proceedings are fairly clean-cut and midtempo, with guitars only intermittently attaining heavy density. [5 May 2007]