User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 4 out of 44

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jimboj
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    this album is sweeter than honey..
  2. JoelW
    Oct 5, 2004
    9
    I can listen to this album all the way through, on several different days in the week. There are VERY few albums I can do that with these days. Their harmonies are forged in blood. Love it.
  3. NancyY.
    Feb 23, 2006
    9
    Great album. Thanks to Grey's Anatomy for turning me on to this duo.
  4. ErinI
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    I can listen to this CD multiple times and never get tired of it. It always seems to put me in a great mood.
  5. JavierGE
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    So this is what guitar and power pop is all about. And what if the songs resemble past gems? They're all gems in their own right. It's very obvious to me: this is one of the albums of the decade (Well if you're a fan of Mouse On Mars then don't you even try to listen to it)
  6. Jessica
    Nov 1, 2004
    1
    this album is so brain destroying... sounds like tegan and sara sing with their noses pinched... extremely immature and annoying... perfect for any girl age 12-16... check out 1st and 2nd albums by this band and you will see how much this band has completely sold out... just like they said they would, in their own lyrics... "sign me up to sell me out"...
  7. LawrenceP
    Oct 3, 2004
    8
    Good music for hipsters, teenage girls and their mothers.
  8. CShelCShore
    Oct 5, 2004
    9
    This is a great record. Instantly accessable and full of gradual pleasures. I find this to be the best female pop-rock record to Liz Phair's self titled record. I am sure they hate the word "girlish" but Tegan and Sara are best described as maturing & girlish. They'll surprise you with their depth. This is a GREAT pop record, you can't go wrong with it.
  9. JimB
    Nov 8, 2005
    1
    It's..just...bad.
  10. Shannon
    Dec 1, 2005
    9
    This album is amazing
  11. AnnaS
    Mar 17, 2005
    10
    The best record released in ages.
  12. SamM
    May 1, 2005
    9
    The best indie pop since the Darling Buds. And better.
  13. MarkF
    Jan 12, 2006
    10
    An amazingly addicting album! I had to get their old albums. Although not as consistent as So Jealous, they've been coming out with amazing stuff for several years. It's about time they get more notice.
  14. NickE
    Apr 20, 2006
    1
    Come on. Don't even pretend like this stuff is remotely creative.
  15. NicholasT
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    OK... The lyrics and arrangements may be a bit sophopmore and derivative, but this is some fuggin' catchy music. Pop/Rock at it's damn near finest. "Downtown" is one of the best lovesongs of all time.
  16. MichelleK
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    ....amazing...
  17. KatrinaH.
    Aug 7, 2007
    3
    What IS there to like about this group? I mean, they could be worse, I suppose...but with grating vocals, repetitive song structures and ridiculously self-absorbed lyrics they could certainly be a lot better. Carrie Brownstein would shoot them one look and they'd melt into little puddles of power chords and bad haircuts.
  18. AlanR
    Nov 16, 2004
    8
    A bit on a digression from their last album but they're still trying.
  19. MMmm
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    This is truly the most interesting CD I've heard in years, from start to finish. I'm positively addicted.
  20. ChrisA
    Jan 23, 2006
    9
    favorite album of the year. How can anyone not like this.
  21. JasonD
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    I agree with Chris. How can you not like this?
  22. MagsT
    Nov 13, 2004
    10
    Great CD... Tegan and Sara just keep getting better and better!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. The key to 'So Jealous' is that it's a mall-prancing hit jukebox but with, y'know proper non-bubblegum pop sensibilities.
  2. An instantly loveable collection of sky-punching, new wave pop glory. [May 2005, p.117]
  3. Vocally weaving and ducking, they drag up memories of Voice of the Beehive, or a Siamese version of Susannah Hoffs from the Bangles. What stops them becoming an annoying pop hydra is their unadorned directness and sharp pop hooks.