So Jealous

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 5 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichelleK
    Apr 8, 2007
  2. JavierGE
    Sep 5, 2006
    So this is what guitar and power pop is all about. And what if the songs resemble past gems? They're all gems in their own right. It's very obvious to me: this is one of the albums of the decade (Well if you're a fan of Mouse On Mars then don't you even try to listen to it)
  3. NicholasT
    Aug 29, 2006
    OK... The lyrics and arrangements may be a bit sophopmore and derivative, but this is some fuggin' catchy music. Pop/Rock at it's damn near finest. "Downtown" is one of the best lovesongs of all time.
  4. ErinI
    Jun 3, 2006
    I can listen to this CD multiple times and never get tired of it. It always seems to put me in a great mood.
  5. NancyY.
    Feb 23, 2006
    Great album. Thanks to Grey's Anatomy for turning me on to this duo.
  6. JasonD
    Feb 22, 2006
    I agree with Chris. How can you not like this?
  7. ChrisA
    Jan 23, 2006
    favorite album of the year. How can anyone not like this.
  8. MarkF
    Jan 12, 2006
    An amazingly addicting album! I had to get their old albums. Although not as consistent as So Jealous, they've been coming out with amazing stuff for several years. It's about time they get more notice.
  9. Shannon
    Dec 1, 2005
    This album is amazing
  10. SamM
    May 1, 2005
    The best indie pop since the Darling Buds. And better.
  11. AnnaS
    Mar 17, 2005
    The best record released in ages.
  12. AlanR
    Nov 16, 2004
    A bit on a digression from their last album but they're still trying.
  13. MagsT
    Nov 13, 2004
    Great CD... Tegan and Sara just keep getting better and better!
  14. MMmm
    Oct 26, 2004
    This is truly the most interesting CD I've heard in years, from start to finish. I'm positively addicted.
  15. jimboj
    Oct 20, 2004
    this album is sweeter than honey..
  16. JoelW
    Oct 5, 2004
    I can listen to this album all the way through, on several different days in the week. There are VERY few albums I can do that with these days. Their harmonies are forged in blood. Love it.
  17. CShelCShore
    Oct 5, 2004
    This is a great record. Instantly accessable and full of gradual pleasures. I find this to be the best female pop-rock record to Liz Phair's self titled record. I am sure they hate the word "girlish" but Tegan and Sara are best described as maturing & girlish. They'll surprise you with their depth. This is a GREAT pop record, you can't go wrong with it.
  18. LawrenceP
    Oct 3, 2004
    Good music for hipsters, teenage girls and their mothers.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. The key to 'So Jealous' is that it's a mall-prancing hit jukebox but with, y'know proper non-bubblegum pop sensibilities.
  2. Q Magazine
    An instantly loveable collection of sky-punching, new wave pop glory. [May 2005, p.117]
  3. Vocally weaving and ducking, they drag up memories of Voice of the Beehive, or a Siamese version of Susannah Hoffs from the Bangles. What stops them becoming an annoying pop hydra is their unadorned directness and sharp pop hooks.