Some Echoes

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Jan 6, 2007
    9
    A great album, full of excellent songs. "Come Home" is one of the best songs this year. I love the marimba.
  2. jonr
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    Beautiful album. This one definitely grew on me, and how can you not love the marimba? Brilliant.
  3. AaronQ
    Apr 28, 2006
    8
    Better than the last album. Not as improvisational as older Aloha, and I think I like that. Much more attention to detail. Absolutely incredible drumming. Solid.
  4. Chitown
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    brilliant. best album of '06
  5. Rubberchicken
    Jan 9, 2007
    10
    Amazing, it's a must have album of 2006. It's quite rare that you find such a solid consistant album such as this, if anything the songs go from strength to strength. A band to keep your eye on.
  6. Andy
    Nov 25, 2006
    6
    A few songs I really dig. 3 stars.
  7. geog
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    it amazes me that the world has yet to accept aloha as the greatest band of the past 8 years. this album is prooves their relevence.
  8. ramonn
    May 19, 2006
    9
    a delightful album that brings a new kind of genesis but shraper
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Each moment is devoted to the continuing shifts in dynamics and song, and Aloha sounds sharper than ever before.
  2. Like a computer geek with a romantic streak, Ohio's Aloha straddle the line between trad songcraft and proggy virtuosity.
  3. While it starts a bit slowly, Aloha’s fourth proper album is filled with signature pieces that are stunningly relentless.