Some Nights

  • Record Label: Elektra
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2012
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 115
  2. Negative: 16 out of 115

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    6
    fun.'s first album was pretty much perfection and didn't get any attention. For this album, they had the good fortune of getting a single into Glee and other areas of the public sphere, which brought them recognition. However, I'm sorry to say that they disappoint a bit with this second album. They're a little less ... well, fun. They also apparently got ahold of an auto-tuner and went tofun.'s first album was pretty much perfection and didn't get any attention. For this album, they had the good fortune of getting a single into Glee and other areas of the public sphere, which brought them recognition. However, I'm sorry to say that they disappoint a bit with this second album. They're a little less ... well, fun. They also apparently got ahold of an auto-tuner and went to town. Auto-tuning is for people who don't have good voices to sound at least bearable or interesting. Lead singer Nate Ruess doesn't have that problem, but he started using his new toy anyway, for some reason. Otherwise awesome songs are riddled with auto-tuning, sometimes to literally annoying levels, to the point that I have to skip tracks halfway through. It's weird, because I'll be loving a song, and then I'll have to end it. I'd say there are two songs of comparable quality to Aim and Ignite, then another handful that are above average compared to modern music, and then half are verging upon unlistenable. =[ Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    6
    Some people say that this second Fun's album is great. In my opinion, I don't see any greatness in it. I think that this album contains the best song of the year (We Are Young), however much songs of the album are kind of uninteresting and sometime, even annoying. I only like three songs in the album: the amazing (I admit) We Are Young plus Some Nights and It Gets Better. The rest of theSome people say that this second Fun's album is great. In my opinion, I don't see any greatness in it. I think that this album contains the best song of the year (We Are Young), however much songs of the album are kind of uninteresting and sometime, even annoying. I only like three songs in the album: the amazing (I admit) We Are Young plus Some Nights and It Gets Better. The rest of the songs are not bad at all but they are not strong sounds. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2015
    6
    Like many other indie rock bands, Fun.'s album "Some Nights" makes the mistake of having one or two songs that are catchy and well crafted, while the rest of the album consists of unimpressive filler
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    5
    This album is flawed. One Foot is incredibly repetitive, It Gets Better is plain bad and the "T-Pain effect", auto-tune, is used in all the wrong ways. However, I'm glad they found success with this album. The album balances out at a five because I love some tracks (Some Nights, We Are Young, Some Nights Intro), some a okay (Why Am I the One, All Alone, All Alright, Carry On, Stars) andThis album is flawed. One Foot is incredibly repetitive, It Gets Better is plain bad and the "T-Pain effect", auto-tune, is used in all the wrong ways. However, I'm glad they found success with this album. The album balances out at a five because I love some tracks (Some Nights, We Are Young, Some Nights Intro), some a okay (Why Am I the One, All Alone, All Alright, Carry On, Stars) and some tracks are unbearable (It Gets Better, One Foot). It's not a recommended purchase, but I'm still rooting for them to rack up more hits. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    6
    SOME NIGHTS by Fun. is unique compared to other now mainstream artists that you hear on the radio. These songs are actually good for a change, these still get stuck in your head, but they are not crappy and annoying. This album is actually quite good, but there are some things that I do not like about it, such as some of the songs are oddly written and totally ruined by auto tune. The leadSOME NIGHTS by Fun. is unique compared to other now mainstream artists that you hear on the radio. These songs are actually good for a change, these still get stuck in your head, but they are not crappy and annoying. This album is actually quite good, but there are some things that I do not like about it, such as some of the songs are oddly written and totally ruined by auto tune. The lead singer of Fun. can obviously sing, so why use the auto tune? He sounds good without it. Overall, SOME NIGHTS is refreshing and a break from other mainstream rubbish. Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2012
    5
    The bottomline: it's all of The Format's pop sensibilities without any of the underlying musicianship or deep meaning that made frontman Neil Reuss' songs on The Format's Dog Problems album so damn enjoyable to listen to. Once the hooks work their way out of the listener's eardrum, all that remains is a very hollow and shallow pop rock record frantically humping the Hot 100 chart. OfThe bottomline: it's all of The Format's pop sensibilities without any of the underlying musicianship or deep meaning that made frontman Neil Reuss' songs on The Format's Dog Problems album so damn enjoyable to listen to. Once the hooks work their way out of the listener's eardrum, all that remains is a very hollow and shallow pop rock record frantically humping the Hot 100 chart. Of course, with a name like "fun." and songs like these, it's pretty clear that is all Reuss was gunning for here. It's not bad, but it isn't good, either; it's mildly interesting at first, and then bores. Expand
  7. Oct 13, 2012
    5
    Oddly, fun. got famous with a huge step back from their predecessor. The first two songs and 'One Foot' are pretty good, but the rest is poor. Nate Ruess's voice achieves an extra-point but this CD is really nothing special. 'It Gets Better' for example, works totally contrariwise: the song is by far the worst on the album.
  8. Mar 10, 2013
    4
    A great work, but it doesn't evolute, like all the songs treat about the same thing, I get tired listening to it, there's no objective in the songs. Pretty bad.
  9. Oct 25, 2012
    5
    I'm not sure if this album just is not my kind of thing but I didn't really enjoy it. The mainstream hits that everyone knows (Some Nights & We Are Young) were the only ones I genuinely enjoyed and would listen too again.
  10. Mar 24, 2013
    5
    fun. makes their debut as a band resembling 1980's classic rock groups like Super Tramp, REO Speedwagon and Triumph. The large amount of backing vocals are sometimes overused in this album, where only a few tracks stand out.
  11. Feb 1, 2014
    4
    Okay, before I start. I have to say that I loved the song "We Are Young". But trust me, it's the only good track on the album. Every song on the album is Auto-Tuned except WAY, or at least has an Auo-tuned part. The song Some Nights was good but was ruined by that auto-tuned part at the bridge. I hate Auto-Tune. It's unpleasant to the ears and it makes the singer sound like a robot. AndOkay, before I start. I have to say that I loved the song "We Are Young". But trust me, it's the only good track on the album. Every song on the album is Auto-Tuned except WAY, or at least has an Auo-tuned part. The song Some Nights was good but was ruined by that auto-tuned part at the bridge. I hate Auto-Tune. It's unpleasant to the ears and it makes the singer sound like a robot. And it's sad because Nate Ruess has an amazing voice. Expand
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Oct 12, 2012
    40
    Some Nights is ultimately a confused, turgid tangle of ideas. [Jul 2012, p.100]
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    60
    Against all odds, 'Some Nights' is a hoot: huge-sounding, packed with tunes and not lacking in humour.
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    60
    For every ELO-meets-Panic!-At-The-Disco pop gem that makes you think Fun. are great, there's also an Auto-Tuned-to-buggery vocal or irksome trumpet riff that simply grates. [26 May 2012, p.53]