Something Else - Tech N9ne
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    I've been a technician (devoted Tech N9ne fan) for quite awhile now, and I am not being biased when I say that Something Else is definitely rap album of the year in my opinion. I have heard Born Sinner, Yeezus and Magna Carta so I'm not stating this with nothing to compare it to, but Tech absolutely kills it here. He's truly the only artist to just get better and better with every albumI've been a technician (devoted Tech N9ne fan) for quite awhile now, and I am not being biased when I say that Something Else is definitely rap album of the year in my opinion. I have heard Born Sinner, Yeezus and Magna Carta so I'm not stating this with nothing to compare it to, but Tech absolutely kills it here. He's truly the only artist to just get better and better with every album release, even after 13 studio releases. Something Else is exactly what the title says. It is nothing like you've heard before. It blends almost every genre. Tech's flow and lyricism is stronger than ever. He goes from battling personal demons (I'm not a saint) to calling out the Vatican (My Haiku-Burn the world) to adding in a club track (Dwamn) and as well a heavy metal mixed with rap track (Love 2 dislike me). It honestly has everything. My only issue with the cd overall is there were too many features, Wiz Khalifa was certainly a mistake on See Me although it's stil one of my favorite tracks due to Techs 2 verses and B.O.B. on the hook. If I had to pick my top 5 tracks it'd certainly be 1. Fragile (Kendrick Lamar's verse was amazing) 2. Straight out the gate (Serj Tankien of System of a down on the hook killed it of course!) and it is by far Techs best opening track to an album to date. 3. Believe, such a powerful song and everybody thinks its Beyonce on the chorus but its Kourtney Leveringston who I must admit sounds strangely identical to Beyonce so the confusion is certainly understandable. 4. Strange 2013, Techs dream finally came true with this track, he got to work with the doors, his favorite group and his inspiration for Strange music and they did an amazing job on this track for sure and number 5 has to be I'm not a saint, this song should inspire people everywhere dealing with their own personal demons as Tech broke the news of how he was molested in the 7th grade by his teacher, much respect for him to come out with that, especially on a song. Tech always said he'd never go mainstream, mainstream will go Tech and that's exactly what is now happening with the release of Something Else, it's just ridiculous that it's taken this long for people to recognize Tech's incredible one of a king talent. 10/10 Expand
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Tech nines album is definitely "something else" tech fans. Of course his chopper style rhyming is as excellent as always. Bur Something Else is very diverse in the tone of each song, the heavy features in this album is definitely a highlight. Best tracks are Fragile, So Dope, See me Dwamn, and straight out the gate.
  3. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    techn9ne evolve and prosper, more shockvalue on ur next album. PLEASE. this would make a great pizza for me man but i want more of that shockvalue man so i can fulfill this hunger man. I am so hungry right know that i would eat a couch but man, this album was at the very least appetizing unlike the other crappy music i'm forced to listen to.
  4. Sep 8, 2013
    4
    This album isn't anything new from Tech N9ne. I found the majority of the choruses in the album to bring down the tracks. He desplayed great rhyme patterns though out the album. The features on this album kept it interesting but didn't improve the album.
  5. Sep 24, 2013
    5
    This album is among Tech's worst. I feel like Tech is only doing music to stay relevant, and not because he genuinely feels inspired. Early in his career Tech didn't fit in, and he embraced it. Nowadays, Tech is doing everything in his power to conform to standards in rap music. Aesthetically, this album is enjoyable. Emotionally, you don't feel the sincerity. Usually you don't haveThis album is among Tech's worst. I feel like Tech is only doing music to stay relevant, and not because he genuinely feels inspired. Early in his career Tech didn't fit in, and he embraced it. Nowadays, Tech is doing everything in his power to conform to standards in rap music. Aesthetically, this album is enjoyable. Emotionally, you don't feel the sincerity. Usually you don't have to skip songs on Tech N9ne albums, but Dwamn and Thizzles are just unlistenable. At this point in his career, Tech has money, he has armies of fans, and he has respect, but he's striving for acceptance. Tech does not have a reason to do music anymore, and this album proves it. Most of the topics of the songs are cookie-cutter, almost generalities. It seems like he has a formula for every album (Fast rapping song, Party Song, Sad Song, etc). If Tech doesn't change things up soon, he's going to become boring and eventually fizzle into irrelevance. Expand
  6. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    Before listening to this album, I had never listened to Tech N9ne before. I was expecting it to be Yeezus and Doggystyle put together but disappointingly it wasn't. However, I did like Tech's flow on the tracks, it's definitely one of the best I've heard. Tracks varied from slow beats to hardcore heavy metal screeches. The features were nothing special and I felt Tech N9ne really made theBefore listening to this album, I had never listened to Tech N9ne before. I was expecting it to be Yeezus and Doggystyle put together but disappointingly it wasn't. However, I did like Tech's flow on the tracks, it's definitely one of the best I've heard. Tracks varied from slow beats to hardcore heavy metal screeches. The features were nothing special and I felt Tech N9ne really made the album his own. Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    80
    The visuals that come along with the music and skits create a Cirque du Soleil-meets-Hip-Hop atmosphere as Tech N9ne and his star-studded cast propel you through ups and downs throughout the album all while staying on track with fire, water, earth theme. [Sep 2013, p.99]
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    80
    Whether Tech wants the bigger fame or not is unclear, but it’s safe to say the growth he displays here is one step nearer. He’s strange, he’s provocative, but the lesser shock value on this album marks it as his true debut to a larger audience.
  3. Aug 1, 2013
    80
    Big and bold the whole way through and with nary a stumble, Something Else is another triumph from Tech.