Something To Be

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Apr 19, 2005
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 60
  2. Negative: 9 out of 60

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. gails
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    fantastic
  2. DazH
    Apr 24, 2005
    9
    I like the album, very diverse and interesting.
  3. PamA
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    Loved the album. Rob's voice is amazing and just saw him in concert and there was no disappointment there either.
  4. TomS
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    Rob Thomas is his generation's best songwriter. This recording only magnifies that fact. Several of the songs would be a natural fit for his band Matchbox Twenty, but instead they get infused with a new spark and vitality. His voice has never sounded better. His lyrics are still head and shoulders above the crowd. If anything, the recording demonstrates that critics are just jealous Rob Thomas is his generation's best songwriter. This recording only magnifies that fact. Several of the songs would be a natural fit for his band Matchbox Twenty, but instead they get infused with a new spark and vitality. His voice has never sounded better. His lyrics are still head and shoulders above the crowd. If anything, the recording demonstrates that critics are just jealous artists who could never make it in the business. This is a great CD. Expand
  5. DebF
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    Love this CD. It Rocks!
  6. PaulD
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    I think this CD is great, obviously. I really do like the contrast between songs like "Lonely No More" and "Now Comes the Night." It's got great dance tracks all the way to mello thought-provoking songs.
  7. BrentP
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    This is a very nice mix of styles. Rob Thomas has soul, and that's all there is to it. Some great little numbers that would never have fit into the style of Matchbox Twenty, are made available to us through this solo album. This is How a Heart Breaks is probably the best of the up tempo songs with a great beat, and some soulful stylings on the vocals. While a couple of songs could This is a very nice mix of styles. Rob Thomas has soul, and that's all there is to it. Some great little numbers that would never have fit into the style of Matchbox Twenty, are made available to us through this solo album. This is How a Heart Breaks is probably the best of the up tempo songs with a great beat, and some soulful stylings on the vocals. While a couple of songs could certainly pass for Matchbox Twenty, most notably Problem Girl, this is a solid album that reflects some great song writing. Expand
  8. MattR
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    Thomas really takes the best of Matchbox and mixes it with an exploratory side of himself that made this album necessary. I'm certainly not let down.
  9. mels
    May 21, 2005
    10
    Rob Thomas it one of the most inspirational musicians and songwriters of all time. I love the diversity of the album. He just proves that he can do anything and be great at it. I absolutely love the new album.
  10. EddieZ
    May 24, 2005
    9
    Critics generally have been dissing matchbox 20 from the beginning, so it's not suprising this gets received moderately. I happen to think Rob's a very empathetic artist and it's that skillful ability to almost effortlessly emphasize with his listeners that has made him a cultural Top 40 staple, not to mention one of the most likeable Top 40 voices.
  11. Jenn
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Rob is a master song writer and I could sit and listen to his wonderful voice all day long.
  12. NancyS
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    Have always been a huge fan of Matchbox 20. Rob Thomas' new CD is excellent. I can listen to it over and over and over. Do not tire of it. Congratulations Rob!
  13. Ryan
    Nov 8, 2005
    9
    a great album, so many styles of tracks make it fresh. Ever The Same is one of those songs that you can listen to over and over
  14. RobynS
    Oct 21, 2005
    8
    Really like the C.D, not to crazy about the two songs about death, towards the end of the C.D. LOVE track # 3!!!
  15. CarlB
    Oct 3, 2005
    9
    Excellent CD! I've had it for months now and am still entralled with it. I especially love Lonely No More (despite it being played to death on the radio), I am an Illusion and the title track. Can't wait to see Rob perform these songs on tour.
  16. LynnB
    Apr 21, 2005
    10
    The cd is a musical pleasure from beginning to end. Different from Matchbox twenty and great! My favorites at the moment are "I am an Illusion" and "Problem Girl". There is so much to choose from whatever the mood. Great lyrics!!!!
  17. MaxS
    Apr 20, 2005
    10
    If you are a Matchbox 20 fan you'll love this album. Take away the "country" twang direction that their last album appeared to be headed for, and you get this great compilation. The ballads are very well done, I disagree with the backstreet boys comments. Every matchbox fan will attest to, that they love when they are unplugged.. need I remind of VH1 Storytellers? With it being a If you are a Matchbox 20 fan you'll love this album. Take away the "country" twang direction that their last album appeared to be headed for, and you get this great compilation. The ballads are very well done, I disagree with the backstreet boys comments. Every matchbox fan will attest to, that they love when they are unplugged.. need I remind of VH1 Storytellers? With it being a CD/DVD combo (5.1 soundtrack) makes this a definate buy for your collection. Expand
  18. BrettP
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    Terrific variety of music. Shows more sides to Rob Thomas that we were yet to see until "Something to Be". I highly recommend this album.
  19. JessicaB.
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    This cd is wonderful! If you love matchbox 20, you will love this also!
  20. NoahE
    Apr 27, 2005
    8
    "Something To Be" seperates itself far enough from matchbox twenty to reveal the artistic vision that is Rob Thomas itself. "Something To Be" is a courageous and pleasantly surprising effort as well in some ways. In listening to the first and final tracks of the record, "This Is How A Heart Breaks", a more up-tempo, edgier track, and "Now Comes The Night", a gentle piano ballad, these "Something To Be" seperates itself far enough from matchbox twenty to reveal the artistic vision that is Rob Thomas itself. "Something To Be" is a courageous and pleasantly surprising effort as well in some ways. In listening to the first and final tracks of the record, "This Is How A Heart Breaks", a more up-tempo, edgier track, and "Now Comes The Night", a gentle piano ballad, these tracks best showcase the range of Rob's incredible vocals. In watching the DualDisc DVD side, you can see his vocals perfrmed in action on both tracks. "Something To Be" doesn't necessarily strive for radio attention as much as a matchbox twenty record, yet it is a musically diverse record, with numbers to please the more Alternative-leaning fans ("This Is How A Heart Breaks", "I Am An Illusion", "Something To Be") ballads ("Ever The Same", "When The Heartache Ends") and exdperimental tracks ("All That I Am) which feature instruments you don't hear often in popular music. Rob Thomas also stays true to his songwriting schtick, yet he also makes an effort to be fresh and adventurous. "Streetcorner Symphony" reveals more of the happy songwriting spirit of Rob, which is destined to be a single. "Problem Girl" is the track that will most likely be the track that teenagers and young fans can relate too and will be playing on and on on their rooms. And "Now Comes The Night" is a sensitive number which reveals Rob's songwriting in its most honest, rawest form. Critics who haven't looked too kindly on matchbox twenty from the beginning may dismiss this as another lame duck effort from Rob Thomas. But even Rolling Stone, a publication which has had a fairly sour relationship with Rob Thomas these years, have stated it perfectly about Rob: "Underestimate Rob Thomas at your own peril." And "Something to Be" may very well only be the blueprint of an artistic vision quest Rob Thomas is bound to continue upon in the not-so-distant future. Expand
  21. Jilli
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    If you love Rob you'll love the CD. Not a song on the CD I didn't like. Definitely worth adding to your collection.
  22. JeremyJ
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    This album is great. I would of liked a little more rock, like his earlier albums, but there is a great mix of all different kinds of music, that all fit together very well.
  23. ChristyC
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    I love it!! From the first song to the last it kept me listening.
  24. vonb
    May 21, 2005
    10
    Are you people kidding with low scores? This is a great massive hit!
  25. LauraV
    May 24, 2005
    9
    Definately a great solo effort. His lyrics are beautiful, music is soulful. I definately recommend the album. For anyone who doesn't rate this cd at least an 8 seriously doesn't have good taste. Songs I especially like: "I'm an illusion" and "All that I am".
  26. ChrisC
    May 3, 2005
    10
    I thought it was Great! I think Rob Thomas is a wonderful songwriter and his talent is really show-cased here. 'All that I Am ' is one of my all time favorite songs now. All the songs are good and there are enough Great ones to make this cd a favorite. Buy it!
  27. TrishP
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Egomaniac or not, Rob's words and music move me. His songs touch parts of my heart and soul that others dont even come close to.
  28. CarolB
    May 9, 2005
    8
    Very good solo effort by Rob Thomas. I can't say there is a bad song on the entire album, though some I like more than others. Besides the lead single Lonely No More, I especially like the funky vibe of I Am An Illusion, Something to Be and This is How a Heart Breaks. These songs are a bit of a stretch for Rob, but he pulls them off. I know we'll be hearing one or more as Very good solo effort by Rob Thomas. I can't say there is a bad song on the entire album, though some I like more than others. Besides the lead single Lonely No More, I especially like the funky vibe of I Am An Illusion, Something to Be and This is How a Heart Breaks. These songs are a bit of a stretch for Rob, but he pulls them off. I know we'll be hearing one or more as singles. There are several very good ballads on the album too. I especially like the country/folk song Fallin to Pieces. Something to Be is a very eclectic collection of songs, from pop to funk to country to ballads. But it works and is a solid effort by a very talented singer/songwriter. Oh, and giving a 0 rating to an album that is getting pretty good reviews from a host of critics is just ridiculous and immature, IMO. And rating an album that you haven't even listened to is pathetic. Please try to be constructive in writing your reviews. Expand
  29. Chrystal
    Jun 15, 2005
    8
    I definitely love "Lonely No More". The album is really good. The video is even better. Overall I think that the beats of Rob's songs are fabolous and want to make you get up and get going.
  30. stich_77102
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    perfect album .wonderful job. his lyric are v beautiful.i especially like his songs are ever the same and street corner symphony.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Blender
    40
    The momentum collapses with ballads that would suit not only his band but even the Backstreet Boys. [May 2005, 124]
  2. Even Matchbox-ish numbers like "Ever the Same" sound fresh in this new context.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Alas, the nuance that infuses a good chunk of Something to Be eventually gives way to the hammy, overemotive gestures we've come to expect from Thomas. [22 Apr 2005, p.61]