Songs in A&E

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 2 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2011
    3
    I'm a big fan of some of their earlier work. This album may have been written at a tough time, but at least half the songs here sound like he just wrote down the first melody that popped into his head adn sound like they took all of 3 minutes to compose. Sadly, this band hasn't done anything of note since 2001's Let it come Down (and even that couldn't hold a candle to LAGWAFIS and LGM). II'm a big fan of some of their earlier work. This album may have been written at a tough time, but at least half the songs here sound like he just wrote down the first melody that popped into his head adn sound like they took all of 3 minutes to compose. Sadly, this band hasn't done anything of note since 2001's Let it come Down (and even that couldn't hold a candle to LAGWAFIS and LGM). I think, nostalgia, aside most fans of this once astonishing band would agree if they're being honest. Collapse
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    10
    This album is incredible, so raw and moving. One of my favorites. Maybe his best, people will hate that I said that but oh well. Why do these reviews have to be 150 characters long now?
  3. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    Great album, one of their best.
  4. Viks
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Best album of the year. That's sure!
  5. DeeS
    Aug 19, 2008
    8
    I'm really disappointed with Spiritualized fans this time around. I just can't get into this one like some of their best. Personally, Let it Come Down is their (his- Jason's) best and time will show that. This time around, some of the tracks are really good, most fall later in the album, but there is a self-conscious aspect to the songwriting (i.e. Yeah Yeah) that is a I'm really disappointed with Spiritualized fans this time around. I just can't get into this one like some of their best. Personally, Let it Come Down is their (his- Jason's) best and time will show that. This time around, some of the tracks are really good, most fall later in the album, but there is a self-conscious aspect to the songwriting (i.e. Yeah Yeah) that is a little heavy to bear upon subsequent listens. Just because J's music is better than a lot of the music being produced today doesn't mean that this deserves a 10. It doesn't, and I think even Mr. Spaceman himself can acknowledge that. His work with Harmony Korine on Mister Lonely is definitely worth a listen/viewing. Expand
  6. JonL
    Jul 5, 2008
    9
    Even if it's a tad fragmented, it's still a triumphant blast out of the darkness from Pierce, and it's familiar without feeling dull. Way better than Amazing Grace.
  7. Luke
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    Best album of the year so far.
  8. ChristianP.
    Jun 2, 2008
    9
    Feels more focused that earlier albums.
  9. SK.
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    I don't know how to explain it but from the first listen that album brought tears to my eyes.
  10. JonM.
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    It would be hard to achieve anything as perfect as the devastatingly beautiful 'ladies and gentleman' however this is not far off and head and shoulders above anything his contemporaries are doing.
  11. AlexH
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Spiritualized are possibly my favorite band so my expectations for this album were obviously high, and I'm happy to say it actually exceeded them. These are some of the most beautiful songs and arrangements of a long, great career, and the fact that Mr. Spaceman nearly died while making the album makes it even more powerful.
  12. FelipeP.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Fantastic Album!
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Pierce ties the dark to the light with poetic folk ballads like closing lullaby "Goodnight Goodnight," making A&E a strange and pleasing concoction of old and new.
  2. Mostly, though, this is music from someone who's been there and back, and now truly knows he prefers things here.
  3. Some may listen to Songs From A&E and dub Jason Pierce a one-trick pony. Which may be true, but what a trick he's managed to perfect.