User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 53
  2. Negative: 1 out of 53

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, powerful music, and the nearest thing to a sonic epiphany i've had in years. Just get it - tracks like 'Heart in the Hand of the Matter' and the title track are just sublime rock music.
  2. May 28, 2011
    10
    An incomprehensibly great album. It's got semi-orchestral rock down better than anyone could ever dream. Lyrically, try and find a better song than the last track on this album.
  3. Heypeople
    Jan 20, 2007
    9
    It's just great. The songs are beautiful, strong, with wonderful arrangements... It's impossible not to like this. Buy it!
  4. DudeLOVE
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    This album is phenomelajgag.wgr. love it.
  5. ChristopherS
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    excellent album
  6. BobbyK
    Sep 4, 2006
    10
    Absolutely brilliant...
  7. SeamusS
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    Near Perfect A Masterpiece of this time
  8. NelsJ
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    Nothing can compare to the unapologetic idiosyncratic rock of this album. Implacable and awesome.
  9. EricM
    May 26, 2005
    10
    One of the great rock albums of the 21st century, drowned in melody, fury, complexity, and subtlety. Trail of Dead's "White Album."
  10. gregb
    May 10, 2005
    9
    The only problem with this album is that at times the singing is too low and drowned-out by the instruments. Aside from that, it's great.
  11. ElricAr
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    This album will go down as one of the top five albums of this decade, much like albums such as "OK Computer"
  12. LawrenceP
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    If you don't like the type of music these guys have made...after a couple listens you will. Nothing short of amazing.
  13. JonH
    Jun 30, 2004
    7
    Good, but not great, overrated for sure.
  14. AdamE
    Apr 30, 2003
    10
    Absolutely incredible album, furious, beautiful, anguished and resolutely triumphant.
  15. brody
    Dec 18, 2002
    9
    great album. it holds together surpisingly well as an entire album rather than just a collection of songs. deftinitely better than i expected.
  16. Mikeh
    Nov 20, 2002
    10
    the intriquite melodies and broadness of this album makes me want to listen to it over and over, its just one of those very awesome albums that comes along only once in awhile
  17. DingBat
    Nov 15, 2002
    7
    Worst band name ever.
  18. MikeF.
    Sep 17, 2002
    10
    very very good
  19. EilisK.
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    Brilliant! Everyone must hear this music and see this art work!
  20. ALex
    May 16, 2002
    10
    This is a really good album.. It's one of those albums that surprises you... it gets better every time you listen to it.
  21. MikeS
    May 3, 2002
    9
    I picked this one up based on the decent reviews here and after enjoying the video for "Another Morning Stoner" on MTV2. Being new to the band, I did think it was a little noisy at first and can easily see why people might not get it. However after completely listening to the CD, all I wanted to do was play it over an over again. The songs really grow on you, track 5, "How Near How Far" I picked this one up based on the decent reviews here and after enjoying the video for "Another Morning Stoner" on MTV2. Being new to the band, I did think it was a little noisy at first and can easily see why people might not get it. However after completely listening to the CD, all I wanted to do was play it over an over again. The songs really grow on you, track 5, "How Near How Far" is amazing, a very cool song! This CD is definitely worth a try, just give it a chance and you'll see. Expand
  22. AndyC
    Apr 12, 2002
    10
    Simply the best rock album since the early 90s. Anybody who disagrees is just trying to sound smart.
  23. CarloL.
    Mar 30, 2002
    9
    This is a scorcher. A great road album that prompts you to take the long way home. Harsh gritty music coupled with loud graceful melodies, creating an odd concoction which results in a peaceful wall of sound. They revel in this contradiction throughout the album, as lead singer belts out "let me hold you in my arms dear, and let me melt in the heat of your gaze", amid a flurry of raucous This is a scorcher. A great road album that prompts you to take the long way home. Harsh gritty music coupled with loud graceful melodies, creating an odd concoction which results in a peaceful wall of sound. They revel in this contradiction throughout the album, as lead singer belts out "let me hold you in my arms dear, and let me melt in the heat of your gaze", amid a flurry of raucous guitars. Each song is butted up against each other, giving the album a relentless appeal without wearing the listener out. Source Tags & Codes is somehow soothing, even though I find myself breaking out into random sweats as the album winds up and down. Expand
  24. SusanH.
    Mar 6, 2002
    10
    Revolutionary, powerful, dangerous, a breath of something new, rock-n-roll's last exhilarating lunge... or it's next great lunch.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. An album that absolutely cannot be ignored.
  2. Throughout, Trail Of Dead make off like indie rock legends at the top of their game.
  3. The group plays imaginative alt-rock with intense passion, and Source Tags & Codes lets the pressure build exquisitely.