Southeastern - Jason Isbell
Southeastern Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Produced by David Cobb, the latest solo release for former Drive-By Truckers guitarist includes guest appearances by Kim Richey and his wife, Amanda Shires.
  • Record Label: Relativity
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Alternative Country-Rock, Roots Rock, Southern Rock
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    100
    Listening to this stunning album will provide you with your own moment of clarity. Don’t let it slip away.
  2. Jun 11, 2013
    91
    For the most part Southeastern is pretty serious business. Then again, so is life and the one that Isbell has lived thus far is certainly worth documenting, especially when the songs supporting it are this stunning.
  3. There’s a real dynamic arc here, not just for the album as a whole, but also within each and every individual song, and whether or not you’ve gravitated toward county music in the past, that unrivaled depth of passion makes this record an absolute essential.
  4. 80
    The result of his efforts is a celebration of the strength of his character and like his personal journey, Southeastern is story full of meaning and it commands the listener’s full attention.
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    80
    It's Isbell's best album yet, and suggests that he'll do better still. [Dec 2013, p.64]
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    What makes the album itself addictive is Isbell's fusing of gothic Memphis blues and Nashville tenderness. [Nov 2013, p.90]
  7. Jun 18, 2013
    70
    Here, he mostly dials back the volume to plumb heavy emotions.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I "discovered" Isbell with this album and I am hooked. Great lyrics, haunting melodies and Isbell's distinctive style make each song uniquely memorable. I can't play this album enough. Every word has value and you will want to contemplate each story again and again. Blues/folk/country fans...this is the intersection of all. Enjoy! Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Not since Bruce Soingsteen's "Tunnel of Love" has an entire album captured so perfectly a moment of change in a songwriter's life--and "Southeastern" does it better. The lyrics are deeply emotional and personal, his voice conveys the significance, and his guitar punctuates it all. It is the best album of the year, and will be the milestone by which his career is measured. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Excellent front to back. There's not a weak song on this record. Finally Jason gives us a glimpse inside rather than just telling stories. This is well into my top 10 list for this year. Expand
  4. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    Great song writing, great guitar playing, terrific voice. Really worth a listen. If his name isn't familiar, you might be familiar with his work with the Drive-By Truckers. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Thank goodness for Jason Isbell. While Nashville has become safe, over produced and overly sentimental, Isbell continues to writes from the gut and can set a story that will stay with you long after you listen to each song. Live Oak, Cover Me Up, Yvette, Songs in the Shower, Stockholm. he's at the top of his game. Isbell deserves Album of the Year. Expand
  6. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    On his new album “Southeastern” singer/songwriter Jason Isbell looks “through the fires and the farmers diggin’ dusty fields alone and offers a wonderfully constructed, highly personal collection of songs that chronicle his battle with alcohol addiction and the new life he is striving to adjust to. Isbell is a songwriter cut out of a Ryan Adams and Bruce Springsteen cloth with strong leanings towards his Alabama roots. While with the Drive By Truckers he admittedly drank himself into oblivion during every live performance. After parting ways with the band in 2007, and ending his marriage with bassist Shonna Tucker, he began a solo career and released 3 albums. A friendship with fellow musician Ryan Adams, his marriage to singer/violinist Amanda Shires and a commitment to rehab all laid the groundwork for the feelings and ideas expressed on Southeastern. Perhaps his battle over addiction unearthed a mighty store of creative energy because this is the finest album Jason Isbell has ever made. The songs are confessional “There’s a man who walks beside me. It is who I used to be and I wonder if she sees him and confuses him with me.” without ever becoming maudlin. There is also an unflattering authenticity about them that give them greater allure. “Elephant” is a poignant recounting of a relationship with a woman dying from cancer which concludes with Isbell surmising There’s one thing that’s real clear to me, no one dies with dignity. 
We just try to ignore the elephant somehow.” That being said one elephant of an album we definitely should not ignore is “Southeastern” by Jason Isbell. Expand
  7. BKM
    Jun 12, 2013
    8
    Isbell's latest effort is his most personal work to date and features his most consistently excellent songwriting. His smoky, broken voice is perfect for these tales of heartache, loss and loneliness; especially Elephant which may be one of the most shattering narratives he's ever composed. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2013

    The Best Albums of 2013 Image
    Published: December 19, 2013
    We reveal our final official list of 2013's highest-scoring albums.