User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 338 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 338

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2017
    10
    De los mejores albumes de la decada de los 2000 increible. muy original, creativo , divertido ,funky.
    un clasico del hip hop y de la musica en general.
  2. Nov 13, 2017
    8
    Not on the level of ATLiens or Aquemini, but still an excellent album by all means. Andre 3000 and Big Boi have bought a few 'classic Outkast tracks' in B.O.B and Ms Jackson to an already fantastic album.
  3. Jul 18, 2017
    9
    great album........................................................................................................................................................................
  4. Jul 11, 2017
    10
    Outkast pushes the boundaries of hip hop sonically to make one of the most ambitious and promising hip hop albums of all time. This is obviously one of there best albums, and may even be better than their previous project, Aquemini.
  5. Jan 27, 2017
    10
    One does not simply skip a song in this album. It's simply perfect! Original, funny and creative as you'd expect from the Outkast! The best album ever released in the Southern scene of rap, simply put!
  6. Oct 28, 2016
    9
    9.5 / 10 zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  7. Apr 11, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  8. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    8.8/10................................................................................................................................................
  9. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    The Cure for AIDS & EBOLA is OutKast's "Snappin' & Trappin'" Play that and You Will Be Cured No Kidding Don't Listen to The Four Tops - "Sugar Pie Honey Bunch" That song is infected with AIDS and you will die if you listen to it!
  10. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    Um dos melhores, senão o melhor álbum de hip hop da década de 2000, Stankonia é uma continuação dos álbuns de sucesso do fantástico grupo Outkast, apresentado num criativo album, com batidas inovadoras e no estilo da dupla, mas com uma intensidade maior.
  11. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    Not only one of the best hip-hop albums ever, but just quite simply one of the best albums ever.With a great message, story and sound this album was a revolution and still is totally original and unique. This is in my opinion the last great hip-hop album.
  12. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    Easily without a doubt the most creative album ever made. Nothing comes close to what Andre and Big Boi have created. Neo-soul, funk and obviously hip hop is all implemented and did justice
  13. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    A landmark album. I think of it as the Physical Graffiti of hip-hop. Each song is full of fresh ideas. It's a perfect combination of ambition and accessibility. Outkast consistently deliver their stunning, high-quality vocals over production that ranges from hardcore rap beats (Gangsta **** to salsa (Humble Mumble). Stankonia breaks all the rules while staying true to their roots. AA landmark album. I think of it as the Physical Graffiti of hip-hop. Each song is full of fresh ideas. It's a perfect combination of ambition and accessibility. Outkast consistently deliver their stunning, high-quality vocals over production that ranges from hardcore rap beats (Gangsta **** to salsa (Humble Mumble). Stankonia breaks all the rules while staying true to their roots. A classic album for the ages. Expand
  14. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest albums of all time by the greatest hip hop group of all time. Andre 3000 and Big Boi are a match made in hip hop heaven and this album only showcases their musical genius. It's a damn shame that the two are on hiatus; hip hop could use a little revitalization.
  15. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    funky album with great singles along with good songs just for the fans. As usual, outkast pushes the buttons of hip hop always experimenting with new sounds that turn out well for them.
  16. Apr 25, 2012
    4
    As a casual listener, there are some classic tracks on Stankonia, but not every experiment works. It's impossible to listen to this record straight through from beginning to end. Download the best tracks - "B.O.B", "Ms. Jackson", "So Fresh, So Clean", "Red Velvet" - but avoid the album as a whole.
  17. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    THE BEST ALBUM OF THE DECADE !!! It's mind blowing! Some of the most creative moments in music history can be found on stankonia. Also the biggest myth around here is that atliens is somehow outkast best album. Atliens is good, but it is nowhere near stankonia's level. I also find it funny to see the old post's people talking **** how music was garbage back then hahahaha people alwaysTHE BEST ALBUM OF THE DECADE !!! It's mind blowing! Some of the most creative moments in music history can be found on stankonia. Also the biggest myth around here is that atliens is somehow outkast best album. Atliens is good, but it is nowhere near stankonia's level. I also find it funny to see the old post's people talking **** how music was garbage back then hahahaha people always complain about the state of music. Anyway This is one of the greatest albums of all time. Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    "Stankonia, the place from which all funky things that come",far from an understatement, this album makes that believable. Funk is hardly the only thing that lives in Stankoina, with its many types of hip-hop, soul and some jungle beats, Stankonia is a thrilling listen. A-
  19. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Classy & Funky Album. This is the 2nd greatest Outkast album (ATLiens #1) very original style and lyrics. This album makes you realize that Andre 3000 & Big Boi can bring Hip-Hop & Music to a whole another level.
  20. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    amazed. the album is hilarious, clever, righteously weird (with the whole stankonia mythology going on), and the instrumentation cuts **** DEEP. The lyrics are dark and satirical.
  21. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    10
    One of my personal favorite Hip-Hop records and one of the best of the last decade. Just a classic, B.O.B., Gasoline Dreams, Ms Jackson, Xplosion, need I say more.
  22. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Jesus this and my beautiful dark twisted fantasy are what you show someone to get into rap. Fantastic, not a single disappointment at all. Big boi and Andre are the best.
  23. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    The most creative Hip-Hop album ever with incredibly fast and skilled rhyming and incredibly diverse range of lyrical subjects. This one puts Andre 3K and Big Boi both in my top 10 ever MCs
  24. May 15, 2011
    9
    OF COURSE IT GETS A 9............................................................................................. its one of the best albums of the decade
  25. Nov 21, 2010
    8
    A decent album of material, and while it can't really compete with the Speakerboxxx/The Love Below double-alum that would follow, it is still much more interesting than most other hip hop from this era.
  26. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    There really is no way to describe how amazing this album truly is, and the fact that someone has the nerve to say otherwise is crazy. It may sound like i am being self righteous or pretentious and I am, the cd allows that. It makes itself prevalent in every way. You don't like this, you don't like hip hop.
  27. justinm.
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    So fresh and so clean clean.
  28. hiphop
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Outkast , still very original and funky.
  29. AlexR.
    Aug 13, 2009
    0
    Horrible. Boring.
  30. Alex`R.
    Apr 21, 2009
    9
    Near Flawless.
  31. Davidh
    Feb 9, 2009
    10
    'You're so anne frank lets hit the attack and hide out for bout 2 weeks!' quite possibly the greatest hip-hop album ever made. Highly innovative and creative, expanding it's horizons to fuze many genres of music, it is an artistic triumph. Outkast are clearly the best, most original hip-hop group! the only weak tracks are snapping & trapping and possibly slum 'You're so anne frank lets hit the attack and hide out for bout 2 weeks!' quite possibly the greatest hip-hop album ever made. Highly innovative and creative, expanding it's horizons to fuze many genres of music, it is an artistic triumph. Outkast are clearly the best, most original hip-hop group! the only weak tracks are snapping & trapping and possibly slum beautiful. But this album is amazing! for all its flare and dare it is remarkable how amazing it is! unafraid to take risks, Outkast come out on top! best tracks- gasoline dreams,so fresh and so clean, miss jackson, i'll call before i come, bombs over baghdad, humble mumble! Expand
  32. justinm.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    So fresh and so clean clean.
  33. ChrisR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    I dig Andre 3000. His sidekick is just dead wait though if you ask me.
  34. scottw.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    The best style of hiphop out. Crazy, loud,fun and with lots of melody. Most importent to note is that this albume is very funny in an artistic way that seems to be out of reach of the hiphop gener.
  35. GregB
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    It's not as good as Aquemini, but at that time, this was the best album of the year.
  36. DanA
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    Simply put, Outkast gives us one of, if not the best Hip Hop album that's ever been created. Much of it is groundbreaking, while some tracks take cliche subject matter and make them compelling through Andre 3000 and Big Boi's insane lyrical talent.
  37. Mike
    Jun 6, 2007
    6
    This album is mediocre at best, but me and the many people I know who agree must be a minority. Don't get me wrong. "Gasoline", "Ms. Jackson", "So Fresh and So Clean" are all great songs. But there is an undeniable amount of track skipping material here. You want an Outkast album that deserves a 95 Metacritic score and an 8.4 user score? Try "Aquemini", "ATLiens", or even This album is mediocre at best, but me and the many people I know who agree must be a minority. Don't get me wrong. "Gasoline", "Ms. Jackson", "So Fresh and So Clean" are all great songs. But there is an undeniable amount of track skipping material here. You want an Outkast album that deserves a 95 Metacritic score and an 8.4 user score? Try "Aquemini", "ATLiens", or even "Southernplayalistic". The last two efforts by the duo have been underwhelming to me and other hip-hop fans I talk to, but everyone else seems to love these mediocre albums. Expand
  38. jd
    Mar 24, 2007
    10
    this album is stunning beginning to end. this is the best rap album ever made. even 7 years on it feels revolutionary. the beats are the stuff the neptunes and timbaland with they could do. it's down and dirty . it's bizzare and cool. no 2 tracks sound the same. album of the decade.
  39. SushiK
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    I just heard this for the first time this year (2006) and I feal really really cheated in that I could have been listening to this for 6 years now. Co-sign all statements above... it is A LOT better than I ever could have expected. Wow, still reeling in shock. There really hasn't been anything this good since in hip hop, including all the underground and "conscious" rappers. My goal I just heard this for the first time this year (2006) and I feal really really cheated in that I could have been listening to this for 6 years now. Co-sign all statements above... it is A LOT better than I ever could have expected. Wow, still reeling in shock. There really hasn't been anything this good since in hip hop, including all the underground and "conscious" rappers. My goal for the rest of the year is to pick up every Outkast album there is... Expand
  40. RoyDI
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Hardest, Funkiest album of OutKast's career. Give's hope for the grownth of Hip Hop.
  41. justind
    May 21, 2006
    9
    as much as i love this album... i wish the critics had started listening to outkast a long time ago. ATLiens is better than Stankonia and Aquemini might be the best rap/hip-hop album ever... Stankonia is probably a bit more accessible though. but then again, outkast is batting 5 for 5 right now, i dont think one of their releases would score under 90/100
  42. williamd
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    One of the best rest albums because of its juxtaposition. Removing all the tracks and just listening to the spoken interludes would leave the listener perplexed as how these differnt fragments could be connected. The fact is that this contrast IS outkast in all there funk/pop/rap glory. Sex, booze, partying, baby's mamas, politics and above all a flair for both the dramatic and the One of the best rest albums because of its juxtaposition. Removing all the tracks and just listening to the spoken interludes would leave the listener perplexed as how these differnt fragments could be connected. The fact is that this contrast IS outkast in all there funk/pop/rap glory. Sex, booze, partying, baby's mamas, politics and above all a flair for both the dramatic and the comedic tied together by one of hte most adventurous sounds of since the beatles, a revisioning of Funk and Rap into the 21st century that can be nothing less than landmark Expand
  43. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    I gave this cd to my older brother for Christmas and he liked it. Outkast is a really good hip-hoprapr&b group. I like the album "Stankonia" and the "SpeakerboxxLove Below" album. I give this a ten for terrific.
  44. JordanB
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    pure genious
  45. JustinR
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    OutKast is quite possibly the greatest hip-hop/ rap/ r&b/ rock group of all time. But that might just be because they're the only ones...
  46. MichaelC
    Dec 19, 2005
    10
    Easily one of the best albums in the past 5 years, but Stankonia just has a "Monumental" feel to it. Definatly one of the best rap albums ever, when i heard it it was like listening to Public Enemy's "It Takes A Nation Of Millions To Hold Us Back"...It's that good
  47. StashT
    Nov 27, 2005
    8
    "yowski wowski peeski weesk all aboard the stankonia express the underground smellroad everyones looking for an excuse to get loose whats your locomotive"- cant remember what track that is thats good shit tho
  48. marshallm
    Nov 3, 2005
    8
    its not as good as the love below/speakerboxxx. but still, very original.
  49. JasparC
    Oct 23, 2005
    10
    This album is incredible. Every single track is not only catchy and brilliant, but has a message. The album as a whole is put together so well. Listening to only one track on its own doesn't do the album justice. The lyrics are smart, deep, and funny, and I'd recommend this to anyone.
  50. BenedictXVI
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    This album should have been aborted.
  51. Satan
    Sep 11, 2005
    0
    Pure evil. Filth.
  52. SimonM
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Brilliant album, it's really good and Dizzle, who gave it a 2 must not have listened to it. It's brilliant and i would recommend to most hip hop fans.
  53. AlexYupp!!!
    Jun 26, 2005
    9
    This is a great album besides a few bad tracks such as "we luv deez hoez" and "snappin & trappin"... but songs like "B.O.B.", "Stankonia (Stanklove)", "Slum Beautiful", "Humble Mumble", "Ms. Jackson", "So Fresh, So Clean" and "Gasoline Dreams" are good enough that these tracks barely matter.
  54. JeremyJ.
    Jun 3, 2005
    10
    This album is simply genius. If you think otherwise, you are obviously in denial. It's not weird, it's innovative. It's something new and different. Hip hop is more than pop them thangs and spin them rims. Anyone who took hip hop seriously before Eminem knows this.
  55. logunblowme
    Dec 27, 2004
    9
    Not as good as southernplayalisticcaddilacmuzic or aquimeni but damn close. Good shit.
  56. SatraK
    Nov 23, 2004
    10
    This albums is wonderful with songs like bombs over baghdad which is like the best song in the world and songs like so fresh, so clean and ooh ms jackson 10/10 for this album
  57. icecold
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    Classic. This album was totally different from Aquemini(classic). No superproducers and its all an outkast vibe. No one can do it better thw Andre and Big Boi.
  58. AndrewF
    Oct 12, 2004
    9
    Its good
  59. Dizzle
    Aug 26, 2004
    2
    The most overrated album of the new millenium, period. Outkast made a weird album for the sake of being weird, while completely compromising any sense of quality hip-hop. Go get their earlier stuff, and try to forget this nightmare ever happened.
  60. Member27
    Jun 24, 2004
    10
    Its a little disappointing (to me at least) to see where OutKast have been going lately, but Stankonia represents Dre and Big Boi at their absolute best. Its an album that is incredibly daring in its philosophy and execution, but ultimately more than sucessful. I cant see any reason why this album will not go down as a classic.
  61. JarecoW
    Jun 8, 2004
    10
    Undisputable classic!
  62. nicolethegreatsmith
    May 27, 2004
    10
    Awesome!!~!!~!
  63. Anthonyfuckyounigger
    Apr 26, 2004
    0
    This cd sucks major donkey dick. It is the absolute worst peice of crap I have ever listened to in my entire life. By the end of the album i was sticking knives into my eyes and pounding my head against the wall trying to get the songs out of my head. If you want to hear a good rap album, listen to Raising Hell, or The Eminem Show.
  64. DanC
    Feb 1, 2004
    10
    One of the greatest hip hop albums ever!
  65. AndrewR
    Nov 21, 2003
    9
    A fine piece of work. Boi and Dre have impeccable chemistry, and their creative muse never rests on its laurels, resulting in a restless and often convoluted but thoughtful and endlessly entertaining piece of art. I love the deep Prince-ly funk that drives the largely satirical "So Fresh So Clean," the Bomb Squad-esque guitar workout behind "Gasoline Dreams" and the acid jungle groove on A fine piece of work. Boi and Dre have impeccable chemistry, and their creative muse never rests on its laurels, resulting in a restless and often convoluted but thoughtful and endlessly entertaining piece of art. I love the deep Prince-ly funk that drives the largely satirical "So Fresh So Clean," the Bomb Squad-esque guitar workout behind "Gasoline Dreams" and the acid jungle groove on the unfreakingbelievable "B.O.B."-- and I love what it stands for. Mos Def, Common, Talib Kweli, The Roots, and Blackalicious are all counteracting mainstream rap's lazy, piss-poor knuckle-dragging, and so are Outkast-- they've just come from Mars and rode in on Parliament's Mothership. Expand
  66. NateM
    Nov 2, 2003
    9
    An Instant Hip-Hop Classic! You cannot be a true hip-hop afficianado withouth this album in your collection.
  67. BrandonS
    Sep 16, 2003
    10
    Best Rap album ever!
  68. loveformusic
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    hot stuff
  69. natee
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    this album is for those few who understand true music and not no b.s. that make yo a$$ and head move, it's for the mind and the up bringing of the sprit
  70. PablosNerudas
    May 13, 2003
    5
    If you like this kind of music, I'm sure it's all very good. I personally thought it was pants - pretty derivative and ultimately without much soul. I'll give it a 5 because what do I know anyhow?
  71. RaoulD
    Mar 6, 2003
    9
    The sad fact about most who hear this album _ fans and detractors _ is that they don't have a grasp of the intellectual irony dripping from Stankonia. And therefore, sadly, they can't fully appreciate it. It is much more than just "dope" or "phat."
  72. Marc
    Dec 4, 2002
    3
    96! Give me a break. Ever watched these guys live? Stankonia is at least an effective adjective to describe them
  73. MusicLover
    Nov 18, 2002
    0
    How can such awful music get 96, that's a mistery to me
  74. LindsayT.
    Sep 28, 2002
    10
    IT IS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  75. JansenH.
    Sep 12, 2002
    10
    This album is off tha chain cause they r my favorite group
  76. JeffD.
    May 9, 2002
    8
    It's great, but not *that* great. It's no Aquemini.
  77. JonathanUnPronounceable
    May 8, 2002
    10
    Awesome Sh*t, Never was too much of a hiphop guru until i discovered this album. Andre3000 And Big Boi Shine brighter than ever. Listen up spot...get silly toe'd up while you audoize this shizzit, you'll see what i ravin about!
  78. spamspam
    Jan 7, 2002
    9
    Excellent album but you gotta start from the beginning with these guys. Nothing tops thier ATliens album.
  79. CyrusG.
    Oct 20, 2001
    9
    Just great upbeat hip-hop.
  80. RachelS.
    Oct 14, 2001
    9
    It was amazing, but it was no ATLiens... can't nothin be that good... I love Gasoline Dreams
  81. MichaelK.
    Sep 24, 2001
    10
    I have been hooked on outkast from the first time I saw their Southernplayalistic video. They blend spirituality with carnality and get reality.
  82. MarisaL.
    Sep 21, 2001
    10
    Outkast makes the sort of albums that not 3 or 4 songs are hot on it, but all of them are. Stankonia is no exception.
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Stankonia reeks of artful ambition rendered with impeccable skill -- or as one song title so concisely has it, ''So Fresh, So Clean.''
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    Experienced, acclaimed groups rarely make albums as bold and confrontational as Stankonia, because they have too much to lose. OutKast don't care.... The Atlanta duo coalesced the political and societal challenges of hip hop's past into what is one of the genre's most artistically unortodox releases so far. [12/2000, p.108]
  3. Scattered among the jewels are shiny bits of glass that aren't as valuable as they might be.