stellastarr*

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2003
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyG
    Jan 4, 2004
    7
    A band that definitely feels like a sum of its influences, rather than one that has a unique sonic statement to make. Points to the frontman for his vocal style, demerits for (at times) boring songwriting.
  2. jeffm
    Dec 9, 2004
    9
    sure they sound like a lot of other band (mostly the cure and the pixies, i think), but the song are just so well written.....i can't help adoring this album. 'my coco' is one of my favourite tunes, building as it does to such an amazing crescendo. the sequencing on this album is great as well. 'untitled', while perhaps one of the least original tracks, plays like sure they sound like a lot of other band (mostly the cure and the pixies, i think), but the song are just so well written.....i can't help adoring this album. 'my coco' is one of my favourite tunes, building as it does to such an amazing crescendo. the sequencing on this album is great as well. 'untitled', while perhaps one of the least original tracks, plays like one of the best, placed where it is. Collapse
  3. NickyR
    Feb 1, 2004
    10
    This is now up there with my favorite albums oof all time it is flawless and i cannot stop listening to it i have seen them 4 times already and they blew ash of the stage that takes some balls!
  4. DavisW
    May 9, 2005
    8
    A genuinely fun album. I love it.
  5. Shane
    May 29, 2004
    8
    A couple elite rockin' pop tunes with a couple more catchy songs. The rest of the songs are just average and depth is the only thing that takes away from the album.
  6. ExecutionerJones
    Dec 24, 2005
    10
    One of my very favorite albums.It's crazy funny pretty and it rocks! It's what you'd get if you mixed the Talking Heads and the Pixies. Also Shawn Christensen's voice is powerful and unique.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. I know the whole ‘retro-rock’ thing is en vogue in about a bazillion different ways, but Stellastarr*’s take just seems a bit more energetic and vibrant than most. Considering the genre, this disc is a frighteningly solid listen.
  2. Uncut
    80
    Deviant, brainy re:teen angst, slightly arrogant, and they kick ass despite themselves. What's not to love? [Dec 2003, p.116]
  3. Under The Radar
    70
    A pure pleasure to listen to. [#5, p.103]