Stillmatic

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MorganB
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    Nas proves he is the king of New York with uch songs as "Ether", "Got Urself A Gun", and an instant classic "Rewind".
  2. MahmoudR
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    This album is a classic PERIOD. The so called "experts" who rated this album were paid big bucks by def jam to do so
  3. RUBENF
    Mar 1, 2005
    8
    Nas has come back bitten. he has proved himself once more that he is one of the best. KING OF NEW YORK.
  4. RyanT.
    Jul 19, 2002
    8
    This is Nas best album since his debut Illmatic. There is some filler for example "Smokin". But overall this is Nas most introspective and consistent album since his debut.
  5. tiffanyb
    Sep 8, 2003
    10
    he is tha illest
  6. J.M.Sarabia
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Off course we all know that Nas will never make another Illmatic, and thats true he doesnt need too, but will he ever make another Stillmatic?! Now this is classic. This is one of the greatest rap albums ever created/assembled. I never though that Nas was going to hit me over head with this album. If I could I would give this album an 11/10! Theres only one word to describe this album... Off course we all know that Nas will never make another Illmatic, and thats true he doesnt need too, but will he ever make another Stillmatic?! Now this is classic. This is one of the greatest rap albums ever created/assembled. I never though that Nas was going to hit me over head with this album. If I could I would give this album an 11/10! Theres only one word to describe this album... Masterpiece! 1. Stillmatic (The Intro) 10/10 2. Ether 10/10 3. Got Ur Self A... 10/10 4. Smokin' 9.5/10 5. You're Da Man 9.5/10 6. Rewind 10/10 7. One Mic 9.5/10 8. 2nd Childhood 10/10 9. Destroy & Rebuild 10/10 10. The Flyest (w/ AZ) 10/10 11. Rule (w/ Amerie)10/10 12. My Country 10/10 13. What Goes Around 10/10 14. Every Ghetto 9.5/10 Expand
  7. BigD
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Fuck Asia Z, he don't know what he's talking about. Stillmatic is da bomb, and you know it.
  8. BryanO
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    People now a days don't know good rap if it bit them on the ass. Nas is a real rapper his lyrics are better than all the crap lyrics now in the present. It is sad how rap has evolved into a buisness were any shity piece of shit rapper can start talking about cars and turn millionare over night it is disgusting, just terrible, rap is on life support its no longer about who can People now a days don't know good rap if it bit them on the ass. Nas is a real rapper his lyrics are better than all the crap lyrics now in the present. It is sad how rap has evolved into a buisness were any shity piece of shit rapper can start talking about cars and turn millionare over night it is disgusting, just terrible, rap is on life support its no longer about who can actually rap with good lyrics. Now a good beat and flows that are terrible with no meanings are considered good. Ignorance made T.I. and Paul waul a rapper, it's sad. Nas is the best but these fools can't see because their fucking stupid idiots. "HIGHSCHOOL dropOUTS". Expand
  9. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    After Nastradamus, Nas was almost not king of NY. Well with Stillmatic, he redeemed himself and I'd say he still is king of NY and always will be when he is rapping with advanced lyricism, and good production which are two reasons why Nas is the best of the game today. This is the definition of his name Nasty Nas, striking with another classic.
  10. JonR.
    Jun 28, 2002
    5
    This is Nas' worst album yet. Since "I Am", his albums have gone straight downhill first with Nastradamus and then worse with this. He is my favorite rapper, "I Am" is one of my favorite albums, and this album is a serious disappointment.
  11. [Anonymous]
    Apr 27, 2002
    6
    Definitley not "Illmatic."
  12. AsiaZ
    Jun 13, 2004
    4
    This is supposed to be Nas' return to form? Both Illmatic and It was written highlighted his incredible storytelling chops over sample based beats. Stillmatic highlights Nas' arrogance over synthesized beats- yuck.
  13. May 8, 2011
    6
    i'm a huge nas fan. nas is my favorite rapper but this album wasn't that good to me. it was okay compared to his other albums. i liked a few songs on the album. overall it wasn't that good. his lyrics were still on point. but his production quality was lacking.
  14. kennethleratomavuso
    Apr 8, 2003
    7
    the album is amaizing man,all the tracks are fine.sometimes nas can be very emotional,thats what i like about him,especially in atrack called one mike.
  15. JackK
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    What is it with these so called critics, they are quick to rate somthing high if its supposedly 'en vogue' or 'different and fresh' which usually means a zany album cover with weird and 'abstract' video, but they cant see a classic rap album staring them in the face - just dope lyrics and dope rhymes with a strong attitude and message. People who reviewed are What is it with these so called critics, they are quick to rate somthing high if its supposedly 'en vogue' or 'different and fresh' which usually means a zany album cover with weird and 'abstract' video, but they cant see a classic rap album staring them in the face - just dope lyrics and dope rhymes with a strong attitude and message. People who reviewed are just wallowing in thier own importance and rate music highly when it seems cool to rate that album highly(see 'Arular' - a good album but rated ridiculously highly just because its a bit different.) Expand
  16. scottp
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    The best hip hop cd ever!! just amazing! from track 1 to 14 this is the best ever. other than every ghetto (the bonus track) i can't stop listening to this cd. of course one mic is amazing but others dominate as well, what goes around and got urself are still great! get this NOW!
  17. DonovanC
    May 20, 2004
    9
    This album is just sick! This is how your suppost to come back after a downfall. He came back aggressive and deep. Tracks 1-14 are ill. I think any rapper who can rap a whole song backwards makes an instant classic. Best rapper alive!!!!!!!!NAS
  18. jellydonutheadman
    Jun 25, 2004
    8
    a great album.
  19. RyanT.
    Jul 19, 2002
    8
    This is Nas best album since his debut Illmatic. There is some filler for example "Smokin". But overall this is Nas most introspective and consistent album since his debut.
  20. FelonyShine
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    This album is definitely a classic album by a masterful artist. An artist should be rated by his ability to adapt to his circumstances, which are constantly changing. No one does it better than Esco.
  21. alexc
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    i dont know what people are thinking this album is one of his best with songs like got your self a gun in which the vidieo shows respect for fallen soldiers like 2 pac and big is a banger for sure and lets not get into the diss song for jay z he destroyed him in that track and after words jay z said sorry to him. also the clean up song the bridge is over were hes telling his fellow queens i dont know what people are thinking this album is one of his best with songs like got your self a gun in which the vidieo shows respect for fallen soldiers like 2 pac and big is a banger for sure and lets not get into the diss song for jay z he destroyed him in that track and after words jay z said sorry to him. also the clean up song the bridge is over were hes telling his fellow queens bridge people how it is. and the classic 1 mic that almost took video of the year that song still gets played in my ear. Expand
  22. MCDish
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    I don't know what the critics are talking about, but Stillmatic is still the shit! It's got songs like One Mic, which'll hit you emotionally, cuz it's poignant, and Rewind is like Memento-the-rap song. This album is ingenious, it ain't like all that other pop, bland 50-cent materialism bullshit we hear on everyday radio.
  23. AlishaM
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    Practically every song on this album is perfect and unskippable. I can't say that for most albums. Classic.
  24. LeonT
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    This album is a TRUE CLASSIC!The critics reviewed it as bad because they like Jiggas "Girls,girls,girls",soft rap shit while Nas is too REAL 4 them!My favourite songs R Ether,My country & You`re da man...
  25. R
    Jul 23, 2006
    9
    I am pretty sure that a lot of these critics here are really more suited to reviewing Coldplay's albums rather than anything from the hip-hop genre. This album is widely regarded as Nas's 2nd classic album by 2006 critics as well as fans, and perhaps another historic contribution to hip-hop. There are various reviews of God's Son where they refer back to this as a great I am pretty sure that a lot of these critics here are really more suited to reviewing Coldplay's albums rather than anything from the hip-hop genre. This album is widely regarded as Nas's 2nd classic album by 2006 critics as well as fans, and perhaps another historic contribution to hip-hop. There are various reviews of God's Son where they refer back to this as a great album. Maybe its the title (relates to Illmatic) which immediately gives the thankful reviewers something to talk about, thankful because they don't know how to deal with it. Anyway, about the content. After three woeful albums since Illmatic where Nas tried and failed to go commercial, he tried to earn his fans' repect back and did a non-pop album again. He owes Jay-Z a favour though. If it wasn't for his dissing he may not have had the inspiration to make such a powerful record. Most of the songs are excellent, though not radio material (that's a good thing here). The only thing that lets Stillmatic down is one or two (and only one or two) filler tracks, the most notable being Rule which is just dreadful - like the stuff on his last album. One of the unique things about Illmatic is that it is under forty minutes long but despite being so relatively short, it is excellent; every track on that album is a gem. If he cut ten minutes in Stillmatic, it would be about as good I reckon. Sadly, the Coldplay-fan critics took these duff tracks way to far. The vast majority of this album is great - I am just completely confused as to why this album was slagged off so much when it was first released and hailed now. This is a rare example of where a Metacritic score is misleading. Expand
  26. AlexH
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    Nas wins, Jigga loses PERIOD
  27. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    This album brought Nas back to the forefront in Hip-Hop. Aside from maybe one track, this entire album brings that intensity that only Nas can bring.
  28. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    the fact that this recieved a 69 scares me. this was one of the strongest releases for hip hop in 2001. this is just as good if not better than the blueprint.some of the great tracks are youre da man ether one mic and destroy and rebuild. the only reason this doesnt get a ten is because it didnt match the greatness of illmatic but still a fantastic album
  29. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    It's not Illmatic, but that's like saying Othello isn't Hamlet. Just because it's not as good doesn't change the fact that Stillmatic is an amazing album. Weakest track on the album is probably smoking and that's still very good. Though I don't get all the hate on Every Ghetto.
  30. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    GREAT ALBUM. Great compostion, great song matter and of course with Nas' lyrical talent this album goes as far as being an album that truly represents rap for it's originality and purpose.
  31. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Nas is much like Ice Cube in a sense. They had made fantastic albums from the start, but then they had dropped their talents, and came back in a huge way. At first Nas was just a rapper trying to prove that he could be just as good as the legend. He did. Nas' debut album Illmatic is not only one of the greatest hip hop albums of the 90s, but it is also one of the greatest hip hop albums.Nas is much like Ice Cube in a sense. They had made fantastic albums from the start, but then they had dropped their talents, and came back in a huge way. At first Nas was just a rapper trying to prove that he could be just as good as the legend. He did. Nas' debut album Illmatic is not only one of the greatest hip hop albums of the 90s, but it is also one of the greatest hip hop albums. It was not only acclaimed by fans, but it was also acclaimed by critics as well. Then Nas, like many other acclaimed rappers, had to prove that he could keep his skill. Fortunately he did, with his fantastic sophmore album, It Was Written. Unfortunately, the album was seen as a sophmore slump by both critics and the hip hop community. Later, it would be seen as a classic. In 1999, Nas dropped the album I Am... It was a mediocre album that had a few great songs, but it wasn't the album that Nas should have dropped. It was originally supposed to be a double album, called I Am... The Autobiography. This is what the album should have been, but we were left with an average album. Then Nas was going to put out an album that was supposed to be a compilation album of songs from the original I Am... sessions. But Nas for some reason had decided to scrap this idea (fortunately he had released these songs in the classic compilation The Lost Tapes), and record entirely new songs. It was a big mistake, as the album was panned upon release. Nas had went from "top ten to not mentioned at all" and he was in trouble. Not only was his rival Jay Z getting critical and commercial praise on his album The Blueprint, but his personal life was falling apart. Amidst the chaos, Nas had recorded an album that would widely be known as a comeback. He dropped the instant classic, Stillmatic. It is not a sequel to his original masterpiece, but it is a very similar album in tone. Not only had Nas created an album that was as good as his original classic, but he had created an album that brought him back on top once again. Expand
  32. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    A classic Nas album. Stillmatic is a strong LP that contains some of Nas' greatest songs from the aggressive Jay Z diss "Ether" to the retrospective "What Goes Around", to the creative storytelling in "Rewind". The album only has one dud, and it is "Braveheart Party", however, everything else is greatness.
  33. May 5, 2013
    10
    This album is definitely a classic. As all songs are great or classic except for Braveheart Party (which was taken of thankfully on later releases). Here are the classic songs Ether (sh*tted on Jay-Z), Rewind, One Mic, What Goes Around, 2nd Childhood, Smokin', Got Urself A... (Gun), Stillmatic (The Intro), The Flyest, and Destroy & Rebuild. There's no way in the world the reviews from theThis album is definitely a classic. As all songs are great or classic except for Braveheart Party (which was taken of thankfully on later releases). Here are the classic songs Ether (sh*tted on Jay-Z), Rewind, One Mic, What Goes Around, 2nd Childhood, Smokin', Got Urself A... (Gun), Stillmatic (The Intro), The Flyest, and Destroy & Rebuild. There's no way in the world the reviews from the more major reviewers weren't bribed by Roc-A-Fella. Expand
  34. Jun 15, 2013
    7
    while i do believe that stillmatic is overrated, it is a comeback to form for nas. from one mic his best song since his illmatic days), to 2nd childhood, to the brutal ether, to the subtle disses in got ur self a, this album is amazing. production could've been better, but his lyricism makes up for it.
  35. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.0/10................................................................................................................................................
  36. Mar 28, 2015
    9
    This Album made Nas relevant again after that underwhelming Nastradamus and to some extent QB's Finest, the feud with Jay-Z reinvigorated him and but a fire inside of Nas which made him produce one of the best diss tracks in Ether, but besides that track there are many notable tracks off this album for example; Got Ur Self A..., Rule, You're da man, One Mic, Rewind and 2nd Childhood are myThis Album made Nas relevant again after that underwhelming Nastradamus and to some extent QB's Finest, the feud with Jay-Z reinvigorated him and but a fire inside of Nas which made him produce one of the best diss tracks in Ether, but besides that track there are many notable tracks off this album for example; Got Ur Self A..., Rule, You're da man, One Mic, Rewind and 2nd Childhood are my favourite. But in conclusion, Stillmatic will go down as not only one of Nas' best piece of work but one of the best Hip Hop albums of all time Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Stillmatic is all the proof anyone needs that Nas isn't as special as he was five years before the album's release.
  2. Blender
    60
    A surprising return to form. [Feb/Mar 2002, p.114]
  3. Vibe
    70
    It's infuriatingly inconsistent.... But this album's bittersweet beauty lies in the fact that Nas cares. [Feb 2002, p.120]