Street Horrrsing

  • Record Label: ATP
  • Release Date: Mar 18, 2008
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 66
  2. Negative: 16 out of 66

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Alex
    Mar 29, 2008
    5
    Ditto it was awful - only for relaxing when mega tired.
  2. MikeS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    There is nothing fantastic about this album, at times it reminds of me of 12 year old playing on a keyboard. Too simple.
  3. AdamO.
    Mar 26, 2008
    5
    Terribly overrated.
  4. RichardW.
    Apr 3, 2008
    5
    This is noise for people who don't listen to noise, drone for people who don't listen to drone, tribal beats for people who don't listen to tribal music and black metal vocals for harmless indie-kids. While the sum is mildly enjoyable, the parts pale in comparison to the bulk of the genres they are borrowed from. Boring.
  5. DaveG.
    Apr 5, 2008
    5
    Initially interesting and refreshing, it just isn't coherent enough to keep attention. the songs are overlong, and you find yourself wondering when something's going to happen. Has its cool moments.
  6. DW
    Apr 6, 2008
    6
    There is really nothing spectacular about this album, and this coming from a fan of both noise and drone. It's sort of like recent Black Dice with Wolf Eyes vocals thrown in, presumably for some kind of contrast with the otherwise pleasant, highly repetitive (re: monotonous) music. I just can't find anything to latch onto here. The textures are thin and uninteresting, and the There is really nothing spectacular about this album, and this coming from a fan of both noise and drone. It's sort of like recent Black Dice with Wolf Eyes vocals thrown in, presumably for some kind of contrast with the otherwise pleasant, highly repetitive (re: monotonous) music. I just can't find anything to latch onto here. The textures are thin and uninteresting, and the melodies and rhythms are mind-numbingly simple. I give it a 6 because it does have kind of a nice sunny vibe and is reasonably pleasant, but it's totally inessential. Expand
  7. HarryG
    Dec 12, 2008
    5
    Where do we place this album? Noise for the wannabe hip, is about right I think. This will see you through a listening or two but if you want a bit of meat behind the beat, try Plaid or Amon Tobin.
  8. KenH.
    Mar 31, 2008
    4
    Have to agree with Adam O. Lots of atonal noise and generally unlistenable. I have no idea what the official critics were thinking when they gave it positive reviews.
  9. AlexF.
    Apr 16, 2008
    4
    This album is interesting in what it TRIES to do, but ultimately comes up short. You can tell they are trying to experiment, but the results of this experimentation are often monotonous and flat out boring. This reminds me a lot of The Field's album from last year in which style prevailed over substance.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. It's not quite straight-up noise, and it's certainly not dance music, but if you like a bit of both, this debut from Fuck Buttons should make you a bit giddy.
  2. Though far from flawless, removed from any brouhaha Street Horrrsing sees Fuck Buttons carve their own niche and not only produce a debut record that will claw at any prejudices over its 40-minute span but show up their drone brethren as too often resiliently stuck in the mud.
  3. There are moments, however, when Hung and Power lock into something truly ecstatic, creating passages that more than account for the tremendous amount of pre-release hype that’s been softballed toward these two.