• Record Label: ATP
  • Release Date: Mar 18, 2008
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 66
  2. Negative: 16 out of 66

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlanR.
    Apr 16, 2008
    1
    It's a sad day when this lack of song-writing ability and sound design is so highly praised. "Hypnotic" is another word for boring you to sleep.
  2. JohnMcC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    Brilliant!
  3. MattH
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    This album may take a few listens to sink in (and really should be consumed all in one sitting), but under these conditions is as stirring and gorgeous at turns as it is abrasive and harrowing at others. One of the most inventive records in years.
  4. Alex
    Mar 29, 2008
    5
    Ditto it was awful - only for relaxing when mega tired.
  5. MichaelS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    7
    Some noise for noise's sake but mostly engaging.
  6. ChrisC.
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    A strong listen from start to end. Not going to appeal to people who get their expectations from some specific genre, but many of those who haven't pre-biased themselves with the expectation to sound like some specific other thing will enjoy it.
  7. JohnB.(2)
    Apr 11, 2008
    8
    All the other reviews are basically complaining that the album doesn't pigeonhole properly into their genre of choice. But it's a really good album.
  8. OliverC.
    Apr 22, 2008
    8
    I think this album should be called "why death sounds like" because i think it is.
  9. MikeN.
    Apr 3, 2008
    0
    Wow... I cannot believe somebody made a 50 minute album with 40 minutes of overbearing electronic distortion. They could've put anything behind that annoying sound, and it would have been the same album. If this is what music is becoming, I'm gonna be rich. I could make 5 of these things a day.
  10. MikeS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    4
    There is nothing fantastic about this album, at times it reminds of me of 12 year old playing on a keyboard. Too simple.
  11. WillC.
    Apr 4, 2008
    2
    This is unlistenable.
  12. Tony
    Apr 6, 2008
    3
    yeah, this is not interesting at all. This is music I think almost anyone could create with just a bit of computer sampling knowledge and a keyboard. Overrated like crazy, as many people have said.
  13. GC
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    If you can listen to "Sweet Love For Planet Earth" and delete it from your mind, than this is not a release for you. But then again, you might not be the kind of person that understands when people talk about MBV, Coil, and the intellectual and emotional safety of typical sound structures.
  14. MattK
    May 10, 2008
    10
    I've been waiting for an album like this... it's scary how good this is.
  15. AnthonyO.
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    This album is neither straight up noise (it is not as exploratory or varied as anything "noise" these days) but uses techno's approach of actual rhythm and tempo to convey its sense of immediacy. The album as a piece varies enough among its 6 tracks to provide a great listening experience. If you're not expecting Set Fire to Flames or Yellow Swans and take the album for what it This album is neither straight up noise (it is not as exploratory or varied as anything "noise" these days) but uses techno's approach of actual rhythm and tempo to convey its sense of immediacy. The album as a piece varies enough among its 6 tracks to provide a great listening experience. If you're not expecting Set Fire to Flames or Yellow Swans and take the album for what it is, it's quite a great disc. Expand
  16. JamesT.
    Jun 20, 2008
    0
    Lol u know getting a good critic score is worthless when this shit gets a 8/10 and rap gets like uber popularity lmao sad times we live in.
  17. fr3055
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This album is simply spectacular, not made for easy ears. Instead, you could try with Tokio Hotel.
  18. KikoM.
    Sep 1, 2009
    8
    Good album, it really draws you in. Obviously it's not too everybody's taste, you need to like drone and noise. I also see people complain about the screams.. personally I love them.
  19. MickyC.
    Nov 17, 2008
    2
    This is just another example of indie music disappearing up it's own posterior. I agree with both Remington Steel and Kurt on this. They will be both quickly forgotten and a cause of embarrassment to those who briefly "claimed" to enjoy this.
  20. EduardoD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This is the perfect soundtrack for the end of the world.
  21. AdamO.
    Mar 26, 2008
    5
    Terribly overrated.
  22. DavidR.
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    Okay, I've just heard the samples on MySpace, but I assume they picked their best material for their page. I am a fan of a lot of indie/experimental type music, but this band makes me feel like an old man: who listens to this crap!?? Whats with the token screaming you get at the end of each bland, boring track? I give them a 3 in the off chance I may have missed the point.
  23. SteveO.
    Apr 11, 2008
    2
    WOW this stuff is completely horrible. No melody, stupid name... just complete garbage... they get a 2 only because they at least TRIED to do something different... don't bother with this!
  24. MarcG.
    Apr 11, 2008
    0
    It's enough to say that Fuck Buttons is for noise and drone what Trent Reznor is for industrial.
  25. JD
    Apr 23, 2008
    3
    Sorry critics, but this is emperor is stark naked.
  26. RichardW.
    Apr 3, 2008
    5
    This is noise for people who don't listen to noise, drone for people who don't listen to drone, tribal beats for people who don't listen to tribal music and black metal vocals for harmless indie-kids. While the sum is mildly enjoyable, the parts pale in comparison to the bulk of the genres they are borrowed from. Boring.
  27. DaveG.
    Apr 5, 2008
    5
    Initially interesting and refreshing, it just isn't coherent enough to keep attention. the songs are overlong, and you find yourself wondering when something's going to happen. Has its cool moments.
  28. DW
    Apr 6, 2008
    6
    There is really nothing spectacular about this album, and this coming from a fan of both noise and drone. It's sort of like recent Black Dice with Wolf Eyes vocals thrown in, presumably for some kind of contrast with the otherwise pleasant, highly repetitive (re: monotonous) music. I just can't find anything to latch onto here. The textures are thin and uninteresting, and the There is really nothing spectacular about this album, and this coming from a fan of both noise and drone. It's sort of like recent Black Dice with Wolf Eyes vocals thrown in, presumably for some kind of contrast with the otherwise pleasant, highly repetitive (re: monotonous) music. I just can't find anything to latch onto here. The textures are thin and uninteresting, and the melodies and rhythms are mind-numbingly simple. I give it a 6 because it does have kind of a nice sunny vibe and is reasonably pleasant, but it's totally inessential. Expand
  29. JohnB.
    Apr 8, 2008
    3
    Ummm, this is really awful. I am all for dissonance but this is simplistic and not very interesting. Not all songs feature a nice underlining rhythm and the screams really do kill these songs. Nice try, but I was expecting something more complex.
  30. EricMM.
    May 16, 2008
    8
    Definately pushes my fuck buttons! The tribal beats and chants are very sexual. Add in the drone and noises and you have a unpredictable wonderment of sound.
  31. kurt
    May 22, 2008
    1
    STAY AWAY! The album has no substance. Incomprehensible, no rhythm, another noise band that thinks its art. I saw them with Caribou and had to listen to this horrible droning noise for over 30 minutes. I felt so embarrassed having to put my girlfriend through this awful opening act.
  32. WillR.
    May 27, 2008
    9
    One of my favourite records this year, perfect from start to finish, not the most easy album to appreciate but very rewarding in the long run.
  33. FrankieB.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    It's actually good, despite the at-times-admittedly obnoxious vocals and long stretches of repetitive beats!
  34. tw
    May 28, 2008
    10
    The term "simplistic" should not have such pejorative connotations. song writing has nothing to do with this kind of music: this stuff is pseudo-generative, focusing on the struggle and tension of sound and song craft rather than the clarity of the finished product. be patient, play it loud, play it frequently, maybe invest in some decent headphones. this record will not convert The term "simplistic" should not have such pejorative connotations. song writing has nothing to do with this kind of music: this stuff is pseudo-generative, focusing on the struggle and tension of sound and song craft rather than the clarity of the finished product. be patient, play it loud, play it frequently, maybe invest in some decent headphones. this record will not convert non-noise-nicks, (and will likely repel skeptics even further) but those sweet-toothin' for brash sonics might find this record as a revelation. its really daring, intense records like these that get the ire up on both sides of the dividing line. i, myself, fly the "fuck" flag high. if you're one of the many people saying you can make a record this good in your sleep (or whatever euphemism you favor when degrading music you refuse to approach, grapple, or challenge yourself with) then i say: go make it! someone might enjoy it! Expand
  35. TomW.
    May 29, 2008
    9
    Fantastic album. It's repetitive but gets stuck in your head and is a joy to listen to. Listen to Bright Tommorow from the album to see what I mean. Also the screaming makes it better. It sounds awesome especially at the end of bright tommorow.
  36. RemingtonSteel
    May 30, 2008
    2
    This is just another collection of talentless hack-hipsters. this "band" will forgotten sooner than you can see fleet foxes.
  37. JohnF
    Jun 7, 2009
    8
    Certainly feels like teh hatorz have come out en masse..."I like/ have respct for electronic music...dissonance" ... bet they have lots of gay friends too...*grin* Certainly it has its flaws. Sure, bits are a bit cliched. Overall, however, it envelops and immerses - what more could you ask for. I do get the feeling though that this will be a very ploarising release and middle ground will Certainly feels like teh hatorz have come out en masse..."I like/ have respct for electronic music...dissonance" ... bet they have lots of gay friends too...*grin* Certainly it has its flaws. Sure, bits are a bit cliched. Overall, however, it envelops and immerses - what more could you ask for. I do get the feeling though that this will be a very ploarising release and middle ground will be more of a no-man's land sourced with mines. Expand
  38. AskeP.
    Nov 12, 2008
    9
    This is such a fantastic piece of music. Sweet Love for Planet Earth is one of the most gripping tracks I've heard this year. Get this album now!
  39. HarryG
    Dec 12, 2008
    5
    Where do we place this album? Noise for the wannabe hip, is about right I think. This will see you through a listening or two but if you want a bit of meat behind the beat, try Plaid or Amon Tobin.
  40. Brian
    Mar 27, 2008
    3
    I was not thrilled with this album. 3 stars for some delightful moments, but please eliminate the scream, for it really makes this album a trite release and way too dependent on influence.
  41. T.K.
    Mar 28, 2008
    2
    I'm perplexed by why "professional critics" like this. Keep in mind, I don't dismiss electronic music nor do I dismiss experimental music. I love Animal Collective and I really like The Field (among others). But this is just soulless pap. I give this a 2 rather than a 0 because to be fair I do need to go back and listen a few more times. It may grow on me...but based on my first I'm perplexed by why "professional critics" like this. Keep in mind, I don't dismiss electronic music nor do I dismiss experimental music. I love Animal Collective and I really like The Field (among others). But this is just soulless pap. I give this a 2 rather than a 0 because to be fair I do need to go back and listen a few more times. It may grow on me...but based on my first two listens, I seriously doubt it. Expand
  42. MattG.
    Mar 29, 2008
    8
    "Far from flawless" is about right. It's not perfect, but it's definitely worth a listen. Terrific dreamy blend of ambient electronica and noise pop.
  43. KenH.
    Mar 31, 2008
    4
    Have to agree with Adam O. Lots of atonal noise and generally unlistenable. I have no idea what the official critics were thinking when they gave it positive reviews.
  44. AlexF.
    Apr 16, 2008
    4
    This album is interesting in what it TRIES to do, but ultimately comes up short. You can tell they are trying to experiment, but the results of this experimentation are often monotonous and flat out boring. This reminds me a lot of The Field's album from last year in which style prevailed over substance.
  45. RobertA.
    Jun 12, 2008
    8
    Really good album. Some people might get turned off by how it is..but the ones that stick with it and listen and enjoy it..those are the ones that will like it. lol i'm totally wasting your time..stop reading my review..i like the album..Sweet Love For Planet Earth makes this album for me. It is just a brilliant piece of work..if you listen to just one song by Fuck Buttons it should Really good album. Some people might get turned off by how it is..but the ones that stick with it and listen and enjoy it..those are the ones that will like it. lol i'm totally wasting your time..stop reading my review..i like the album..Sweet Love For Planet Earth makes this album for me. It is just a brilliant piece of work..if you listen to just one song by Fuck Buttons it should be that one. Expand
  46. ZacC.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    As of June, this tops all the 2008 albums I've heard. Drones to rival Steve Reich and Brian Eno. Hypnotic minimalism that never gets boring, but rather adds and builds at the exact right moment to keep it from becoming dull and tedious. The vocals, screams subdued by static, are almost inaudible and incomprehensible, and are just that much more magical for it. Each songs flows into As of June, this tops all the 2008 albums I've heard. Drones to rival Steve Reich and Brian Eno. Hypnotic minimalism that never gets boring, but rather adds and builds at the exact right moment to keep it from becoming dull and tedious. The vocals, screams subdued by static, are almost inaudible and incomprehensible, and are just that much more magical for it. Each songs flows into the next perfectly, keeping the beautiful glitchy rhythm constant. (I really love this album, but DAMN do I feel like a pretentious hipster for liking it this much.) Expand
  47. joshf
    Apr 25, 2009
    9
    Most mind-melding release of 2008
  48. AndrewR.
    May 27, 2009
    9
    Spectacular. There are plenty of beautiful melodies here, and rather than disappearing behind the noise, they are augmented and amplified by the disorienting contrast. It's funny to see this described as "noise for the wannabe hip" as some of the finest albums in history have been marked by the experimental meeting the accessible halfway.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. It's not quite straight-up noise, and it's certainly not dance music, but if you like a bit of both, this debut from Fuck Buttons should make you a bit giddy.
  2. Though far from flawless, removed from any brouhaha Street Horrrsing sees Fuck Buttons carve their own niche and not only produce a debut record that will claw at any prejudices over its 40-minute span but show up their drone brethren as too often resiliently stuck in the mud.
  3. There are moments, however, when Hung and Power lock into something truly ecstatic, creating passages that more than account for the tremendous amount of pre-release hype that’s been softballed toward these two.