Street Horrrsing

  • Record Label: ATP
  • Release Date: Mar 18, 2008
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 66
  2. Negative: 16 out of 66

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnMcC.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    Brilliant!
  2. MattH
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    This album may take a few listens to sink in (and really should be consumed all in one sitting), but under these conditions is as stirring and gorgeous at turns as it is abrasive and harrowing at others. One of the most inventive records in years.
  3. MichaelS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    7
    Some noise for noise's sake but mostly engaging.
  4. ChrisC.
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    A strong listen from start to end. Not going to appeal to people who get their expectations from some specific genre, but many of those who haven't pre-biased themselves with the expectation to sound like some specific other thing will enjoy it.
  5. JohnB.(2)
    Apr 11, 2008
    8
    All the other reviews are basically complaining that the album doesn't pigeonhole properly into their genre of choice. But it's a really good album.
  6. OliverC.
    Apr 22, 2008
    8
    I think this album should be called "why death sounds like" because i think it is.
  7. GC
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    If you can listen to "Sweet Love For Planet Earth" and delete it from your mind, than this is not a release for you. But then again, you might not be the kind of person that understands when people talk about MBV, Coil, and the intellectual and emotional safety of typical sound structures.
  8. MattK
    May 10, 2008
    10
    I've been waiting for an album like this... it's scary how good this is.
  9. AnthonyO.
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    This album is neither straight up noise (it is not as exploratory or varied as anything "noise" these days) but uses techno's approach of actual rhythm and tempo to convey its sense of immediacy. The album as a piece varies enough among its 6 tracks to provide a great listening experience. If you're not expecting Set Fire to Flames or Yellow Swans and take the album for what it This album is neither straight up noise (it is not as exploratory or varied as anything "noise" these days) but uses techno's approach of actual rhythm and tempo to convey its sense of immediacy. The album as a piece varies enough among its 6 tracks to provide a great listening experience. If you're not expecting Set Fire to Flames or Yellow Swans and take the album for what it is, it's quite a great disc. Expand
  10. fr3055
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This album is simply spectacular, not made for easy ears. Instead, you could try with Tokio Hotel.
  11. KikoM.
    Sep 1, 2009
    8
    Good album, it really draws you in. Obviously it's not too everybody's taste, you need to like drone and noise. I also see people complain about the screams.. personally I love them.
  12. EduardoD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    9
    This is the perfect soundtrack for the end of the world.
  13. EricMM.
    May 16, 2008
    8
    Definately pushes my fuck buttons! The tribal beats and chants are very sexual. Add in the drone and noises and you have a unpredictable wonderment of sound.
  14. WillR.
    May 27, 2008
    9
    One of my favourite records this year, perfect from start to finish, not the most easy album to appreciate but very rewarding in the long run.
  15. FrankieB.
    May 28, 2008
    9
    It's actually good, despite the at-times-admittedly obnoxious vocals and long stretches of repetitive beats!
  16. tw
    May 28, 2008
    10
    The term "simplistic" should not have such pejorative connotations. song writing has nothing to do with this kind of music: this stuff is pseudo-generative, focusing on the struggle and tension of sound and song craft rather than the clarity of the finished product. be patient, play it loud, play it frequently, maybe invest in some decent headphones. this record will not convert The term "simplistic" should not have such pejorative connotations. song writing has nothing to do with this kind of music: this stuff is pseudo-generative, focusing on the struggle and tension of sound and song craft rather than the clarity of the finished product. be patient, play it loud, play it frequently, maybe invest in some decent headphones. this record will not convert non-noise-nicks, (and will likely repel skeptics even further) but those sweet-toothin' for brash sonics might find this record as a revelation. its really daring, intense records like these that get the ire up on both sides of the dividing line. i, myself, fly the "fuck" flag high. if you're one of the many people saying you can make a record this good in your sleep (or whatever euphemism you favor when degrading music you refuse to approach, grapple, or challenge yourself with) then i say: go make it! someone might enjoy it! Expand
  17. TomW.
    May 29, 2008
    9
    Fantastic album. It's repetitive but gets stuck in your head and is a joy to listen to. Listen to Bright Tommorow from the album to see what I mean. Also the screaming makes it better. It sounds awesome especially at the end of bright tommorow.
  18. JohnF
    Jun 7, 2009
    8
    Certainly feels like teh hatorz have come out en masse..."I like/ have respct for electronic music...dissonance" ... bet they have lots of gay friends too...*grin* Certainly it has its flaws. Sure, bits are a bit cliched. Overall, however, it envelops and immerses - what more could you ask for. I do get the feeling though that this will be a very ploarising release and middle ground will Certainly feels like teh hatorz have come out en masse..."I like/ have respct for electronic music...dissonance" ... bet they have lots of gay friends too...*grin* Certainly it has its flaws. Sure, bits are a bit cliched. Overall, however, it envelops and immerses - what more could you ask for. I do get the feeling though that this will be a very ploarising release and middle ground will be more of a no-man's land sourced with mines. Expand
  19. AskeP.
    Nov 12, 2008
    9
    This is such a fantastic piece of music. Sweet Love for Planet Earth is one of the most gripping tracks I've heard this year. Get this album now!
  20. MattG.
    Mar 29, 2008
    8
    "Far from flawless" is about right. It's not perfect, but it's definitely worth a listen. Terrific dreamy blend of ambient electronica and noise pop.
  21. RobertA.
    Jun 12, 2008
    8
    Really good album. Some people might get turned off by how it is..but the ones that stick with it and listen and enjoy it..those are the ones that will like it. lol i'm totally wasting your time..stop reading my review..i like the album..Sweet Love For Planet Earth makes this album for me. It is just a brilliant piece of work..if you listen to just one song by Fuck Buttons it should Really good album. Some people might get turned off by how it is..but the ones that stick with it and listen and enjoy it..those are the ones that will like it. lol i'm totally wasting your time..stop reading my review..i like the album..Sweet Love For Planet Earth makes this album for me. It is just a brilliant piece of work..if you listen to just one song by Fuck Buttons it should be that one. Expand
  22. ZacC.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    As of June, this tops all the 2008 albums I've heard. Drones to rival Steve Reich and Brian Eno. Hypnotic minimalism that never gets boring, but rather adds and builds at the exact right moment to keep it from becoming dull and tedious. The vocals, screams subdued by static, are almost inaudible and incomprehensible, and are just that much more magical for it. Each songs flows into As of June, this tops all the 2008 albums I've heard. Drones to rival Steve Reich and Brian Eno. Hypnotic minimalism that never gets boring, but rather adds and builds at the exact right moment to keep it from becoming dull and tedious. The vocals, screams subdued by static, are almost inaudible and incomprehensible, and are just that much more magical for it. Each songs flows into the next perfectly, keeping the beautiful glitchy rhythm constant. (I really love this album, but DAMN do I feel like a pretentious hipster for liking it this much.) Expand
  23. joshf
    Apr 25, 2009
    9
    Most mind-melding release of 2008
  24. AndrewR.
    May 27, 2009
    9
    Spectacular. There are plenty of beautiful melodies here, and rather than disappearing behind the noise, they are augmented and amplified by the disorienting contrast. It's funny to see this described as "noise for the wannabe hip" as some of the finest albums in history have been marked by the experimental meeting the accessible halfway.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. It's not quite straight-up noise, and it's certainly not dance music, but if you like a bit of both, this debut from Fuck Buttons should make you a bit giddy.
  2. Though far from flawless, removed from any brouhaha Street Horrrsing sees Fuck Buttons carve their own niche and not only produce a debut record that will claw at any prejudices over its 40-minute span but show up their drone brethren as too often resiliently stuck in the mud.
  3. There are moments, however, when Hung and Power lock into something truly ecstatic, creating passages that more than account for the tremendous amount of pre-release hype that’s been softballed toward these two.