• Record Label: Nettwerk
  • Release Date: Mar 21, 2006
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanM
    Mar 27, 2006
    This album is a clear improvement from last year's Nashville, significantly trimming down the poppiness that Rouse has been investigating since 1972, finding more of a happy medium between his earlier, more raw material and his more recent experiments. It's a lot of fun.
  2. SarahB
    Jun 20, 2006
    I really enjoy this album. Every year I have a few albums that become my summertime music; smooth, light, well written, sunny music. So it's fitting that he includes the song "summertime" on this album! Written in Spain, this album is laced with the laid back feel Spain is all about. Get this album for car rides and beach time.
  3. Chris
    Mar 25, 2006
    it's not as good as nashville, but it's still great. i like it more than 1972. it's much more immediate than nashville but it doesn't have the depth. it's still reaally good though. rouse is in his prime
  4. madsl
    Mar 27, 2006
    No doubt Rouse is a gifted songwriter with a knack for harmoniuos melodies but on this outing it feels bland and unengaging. Nashville took the first step in this unfortunate direction and with Subtitulo Rouse has almost merged into that dreadful beast called Jack Johnson...ouch!
  5. BillF
    Mar 27, 2006
    Easy Listening? Yes, but in the best way.
  6. BillH
    Mar 29, 2006
    It's not as good as Nashville or 1972. 4 or 5 songs reach earlier peaks, but I think this was never going to be a classic, a bit rushed perhaps and short at 33 minutes. However, after a score of wicked albums and this one is ok, I'm happy to help pay for the mortgage on his new place in Spain. I feel the next one will see a big change in what he can do.
  7. BrandonH
    Apr 15, 2006
    Maybe it's because I haven't listened to much of Rouse's previous work, but I seem to enjoy Subtítulo more than most people. It's warm and soft-spoken and an absolute joy to listen to when you're feeling good about things.
  8. Cables
    Apr 18, 2006
    What's with all the knocks on 1972? That was by far his best work and in my opinion one of the most overlooked albums of the last 10 years. Anywho, this album is better than Nashville, but nowhere near the consistency or brilliance of 1972.
  9. JohnR
    Mar 25, 2006
    Eh. Compared to his best, this feels uninspired. Maybe living in Spain has made him too happy and lazy to produce music up to his previous standards...
  10. toddl
    Mar 28, 2006
    another fine effort for Josh. Would like to see up rock a lilttle more on the next one.
  11. BrianS
    Apr 13, 2006
    A solid album - not as good as Nashville, but still very good. "Looks like love" may be one of his best songs.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. With Subtitulo, Josh Rouse may just prove to be the missing link between Jack Johnson and Conor Oberst.
  2. Some of Subtítulo's 10 tracks float from relaxed to unengaging, and the brief run time makes it feel even more like a transitional album, but the best songs make up for the drift.
  3. Subtitulo certainly appears to be an accurate representation of where Josh Rouse is in his life: comfortable, confident, and beneath-the-radar contented. Good for him; bad for fans of Josh Rouse albums brimming over with great hooks.