Sunbather

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 341 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 341
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    10
    I've honestly never heard anything like this. Granted, I'm not as seasoned in metal, but it skews more post-rock than anything. That being said, as an album, this is truly a remarkable effort from a group that has something interesting to say. There's a lot of complex songwriting, and enough of a dynamic experience that this is as an accessible of a challenge any newcomers are ever goingI've honestly never heard anything like this. Granted, I'm not as seasoned in metal, but it skews more post-rock than anything. That being said, as an album, this is truly a remarkable effort from a group that has something interesting to say. There's a lot of complex songwriting, and enough of a dynamic experience that this is as an accessible of a challenge any newcomers are ever going to find. One of the best of the year. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    One of the best records this year for sure. Regardless of genre.
    It plays like a huge metal symphony: elegant, intelligent & furious.
    The negative user reviews reek of close mindedness & a lack of understanding.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    If you are unsure of this album, please disregard the backlash from all those "purists" out there. I'm referring to the people giving this album 2's and 0's, and for what, their album cover? Their vocalist's trendy haircut? Oh, brother...

    Granted, I don't feel this album exactly lives up to its hype, it certainly delivers on several, albeit familiar (think Mogwai meets Ulver w/Blast
    If you are unsure of this album, please disregard the backlash from all those "purists" out there. I'm referring to the people giving this album 2's and 0's, and for what, their album cover? Their vocalist's trendy haircut? Oh, brother...

    Granted, I don't feel this album exactly lives up to its hype, it certainly delivers on several, albeit familiar (think Mogwai meets Ulver w/Blast Beats), levels. Everything from the production to the instrumentation is stellar. The album's seamless ebb and flow, from gorgeous soundscapes to desperate moments of tension, make it an extremely enjoyable journey for any fan of heavy music.
    Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    Wonderful album. Meant to be taken as a whole. Vocals are great and it's a great listen all the way through. Along with The Mire, my favorite metal album of 2013 onward. People hating on Sunbather probably don't understand the concept or sound of the album.

    Hate on, while we listen with glee.
  5. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    I've never heard an album like this is truly unique and has a certain attraction that I like, is an exquisitely produced album. Sunbather flows like air, is a long drive but it is a fast album, trances toughest interspersed perfectly. You may drop them sticks everywhere, but I think Deatfheaven deserves a big opportunity to shine with his music and I think everyone should take theI've never heard an album like this is truly unique and has a certain attraction that I like, is an exquisitely produced album. Sunbather flows like air, is a long drive but it is a fast album, trances toughest interspersed perfectly. You may drop them sticks everywhere, but I think Deatfheaven deserves a big opportunity to shine with his music and I think everyone should take the opportunity to listen. Expand
  6. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I made an account just to review this album. It is hardly deserving of the numerous 0's it is receiving by the users. Please note that anyone who gives this album a 0 is either a troll or a very closed minded person who does not appreciate/understand black metal. For this reason, while I normally would've given the album a 9, I gave it a 10 to balance out the reviews.

    This work is truly
    I made an account just to review this album. It is hardly deserving of the numerous 0's it is receiving by the users. Please note that anyone who gives this album a 0 is either a troll or a very closed minded person who does not appreciate/understand black metal. For this reason, while I normally would've given the album a 9, I gave it a 10 to balance out the reviews.

    This work is truly an emotional masterpiece-it brought tears to my eyes the first time that I heard it. It cannot be described in words; it can only be felt. So do yourself a favor and go listen to it/buy it and support these artists and their incredible work of art.
    Expand
  7. Kas
    Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Yo, do yourself a favor and ignore the comments and user score because it's all just a bunch of reactionary and amateur-level trolling. I'm guessing Sunbather will end up between 80 to 90 once all the reviews come in, so I'm rounding up to 9 to correct for the trolls. Hey, if album-ratings politics is your thing then you'll get a kick out of this thread, but if you don't want to takeYo, do yourself a favor and ignore the comments and user score because it's all just a bunch of reactionary and amateur-level trolling. I'm guessing Sunbather will end up between 80 to 90 once all the reviews come in, so I'm rounding up to 9 to correct for the trolls. Hey, if album-ratings politics is your thing then you'll get a kick out of this thread, but if you don't want to take anyone's word for it which you have every right not to then maybe you should, I dunno, LISTEN TO THE GODDAMN ALBUM. Expand
  8. Jan 30, 2014
    10
    Just because you are not a fan of a genre does not mean the album isn't good. These 0's that this album is getting are ridiculous. This is one of the best albums of 2013. It is a beautiful mix between post-rock and black metal. I seriously suggest people that cant get past the screaming vocals try to look past them and hear the music that is already washing out the vocals anyways.
  9. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Best record in at least 10 years, maybe longer. Period. Listen for yourself. If you're not moved, check that, if you're not blown away by every aspect of this record, then you'd better check yourself for a pulse to make sure your still alive. Finally, some "NEW" stuff.
  10. Jun 29, 2013
    10
    This is a breakthrough album along the lines of Husker Du's Zen Arcade. Yes, the skinhead purists of the American hardcore scene shouted "sellout" in the summer of 1984 when the Minneapolis trio released that sonic masterpiece, changing forever the landscape of American punk rock. Sunbather transcends genres and subgenres. It is thrash that is both melodic and intense with chord changesThis is a breakthrough album along the lines of Husker Du's Zen Arcade. Yes, the skinhead purists of the American hardcore scene shouted "sellout" in the summer of 1984 when the Minneapolis trio released that sonic masterpiece, changing forever the landscape of American punk rock. Sunbather transcends genres and subgenres. It is thrash that is both melodic and intense with chord changes that recall Unforgettable Fire/Joshua Tree era U2. Deafheaven emerges from the black metal underground with a record that would also be at home on Will Johnson's or Glenn Branca's turntable. Expand
  11. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    From post-hardcore guitars to metal drums to elegant piano-- it is a wonderful collage of genres narrated by George's screaming voice. Excellent. Listen and re-listen.
  12. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Metal for non metal fans. Metal for open-minded fans of metal. Sweeping, majestic, delicate, beautiful, painful, haunting, violent, visceral: everything a forward-thinking metal album should be.
  13. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Ugh; already reactionary bad reviews are piling on. Guess I'll add to the fire in hopes of nullifying all the super low votes which are obviously just backlash garbage reviews based on their brevity. So it's not quite "Black Metal" but it has it's dense and heavy moments which even with some fairly technical playing can be kind of jarring in a chaotic kind of way the first few listenUgh; already reactionary bad reviews are piling on. Guess I'll add to the fire in hopes of nullifying all the super low votes which are obviously just backlash garbage reviews based on their brevity. So it's not quite "Black Metal" but it has it's dense and heavy moments which even with some fairly technical playing can be kind of jarring in a chaotic kind of way the first few listen through's. It's not quite "Post-Rock" with all the eagle screeching which you come to expect from Black Metal, but it has the ebb and flow of a compacted GY!BE album and definitely doesn't drown the sound out with double bass which I can dig. I'm more a fan of the post rock side of that equation but I can appreciate what these guys accomplished here and do find it fills a unique niche If that sounds interesting to you, check it out. I know some people do generally dislike this kind of music but those aren't the kind of people that write garbage reviews like the negative ones here; those reviewers are trying to tell the reader how they're cooler than whats cool and how we're all sheep for liking something that was reviewed so well. Get a life guys. mumubare any review of a band's MUSIC, that starts by critiquing it's ALBUM ART is already too pretentious to read beyond that point. Deafheaven are the musicians who made the music here, not the cover art, geez. Expand
  14. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    As someone who loathes metal, I have no idea how this album appeals to me, but it does. Love the post-rock feel. The "singer", who just screams through the entire album is somehow compatible with the music. Yet I still question whether or not the album would work better if the lead singer of the band used a less death-metal style of vocals.
  15. Jun 22, 2013
    9
    One of the best of the year. The instrumentation and pacing of the album are just incredible. If you don't normally like metal, seriously give this one a go (especially if you like My Bloody Valentine, the shoegaze feel to the album is a big positive).
  16. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Never heard this band before until I saw Sunbather's metacritic score and it lit my interest. I've been listening to black metal, death metal etc for over 15 years so I've heard pretty much it all.. but Deafheaven was something different.. It was a crossover between Darkthrone and Oasis, which both I liked very much.. well, Darkthrone not so much but still.. Since the first song ofNever heard this band before until I saw Sunbather's metacritic score and it lit my interest. I've been listening to black metal, death metal etc for over 15 years so I've heard pretty much it all.. but Deafheaven was something different.. It was a crossover between Darkthrone and Oasis, which both I liked very much.. well, Darkthrone not so much but still.. Since the first song of Sunbather started to play, I was sold.. It just was so great and all those great reviews are earned. Expand
  17. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    I really wasn't sure what to expect from this album going into it. With the critics just fawning over the product, especially with the "Black Metal" label, made me curious to listen to it but not go out of my way to do so. Therefore, I left this sitting in my Spotify queue for the past week or two.

    This was not what I expected. It's an interesting fusion between black metal and
    I really wasn't sure what to expect from this album going into it. With the critics just fawning over the product, especially with the "Black Metal" label, made me curious to listen to it but not go out of my way to do so. Therefore, I left this sitting in my Spotify queue for the past week or two.

    This was not what I expected. It's an interesting fusion between black metal and post-rock. Melodic, raw, and powerful sum up this release. I do recommend giving it a try as I believe it is a good record. The more I think and listen to it, perhaps the potential exists for it to become a great record, canonical for a more mainstream version of this genre of music, but I have yet to be convinced. All said, it's a fun one.
    Expand
  18. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    For anyone who loves traditional black metal AND post rock. If you're a fan of Burzum and also a fan of Explosions in the Sky, I recommend this album.
  19. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    I don't know if this music even has a genre. Some songs are pretty slow with weird samples, but the others reach instrumental perfection, coming from a fan of post-rock and post-hardcore. But it is definitely neither of those. It is something else entirely, and you will need a very open mind to stomach it. Once accessed though, it is the most powerful music you'll ever experience in years.I don't know if this music even has a genre. Some songs are pretty slow with weird samples, but the others reach instrumental perfection, coming from a fan of post-rock and post-hardcore. But it is definitely neither of those. It is something else entirely, and you will need a very open mind to stomach it. Once accessed though, it is the most powerful music you'll ever experience in years. Just don't expect any lyrical value. This is chaos unravelled. Expand
  20. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Incredible album. Its as if angels decided to try black metal, of all genres. But its amazing. Record of the year so far hands down.
    To all the black metal purists out there, I understand that you feel the need to defend your genre, but just because this isn't one of your Norwegian old school black metal bands doesn't mean you need to bash it. Deafheaven is not trying to be straight up
    Incredible album. Its as if angels decided to try black metal, of all genres. But its amazing. Record of the year so far hands down.
    To all the black metal purists out there, I understand that you feel the need to defend your genre, but just because this isn't one of your Norwegian old school black metal bands doesn't mean you need to bash it. Deafheaven is not trying to be straight up black metal. It is what it is.
    Expand
  21. Jul 24, 2013
    9
    The best album of the year with post punk and heavy metal sounds......I generally do not prefer listening tracks that last over 6 min but the tracks in this album are intriguing and exceptional.
  22. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite album of the year. If you are not predisposed to extreme music, best give it some listens before buying. But if you are adventurous, the type of album that rewards repeated listens.
  23. Jul 2, 2013
    10
    I had never heard of Deafheaven before, but I feel like I've been waiting for this album for years.

    A necessary redirection of instrumental post-rock, combined with the welcome recent resurface of shoegazing. Jaw-dropping.
  24. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    Sunbather is a masterpiece that somehow manages to be crushingly heavy and ethereally beautiful for the entire 60 minutes that it lasts. It's very nature is polarizing, and I wouldn't say this album is accessible, even to fans of the genres it takes takes its influence from. It's not necessarily a new idea either, but it provides some of the most epic moments I've heard in recent memory.Sunbather is a masterpiece that somehow manages to be crushingly heavy and ethereally beautiful for the entire 60 minutes that it lasts. It's very nature is polarizing, and I wouldn't say this album is accessible, even to fans of the genres it takes takes its influence from. It's not necessarily a new idea either, but it provides some of the most epic moments I've heard in recent memory. The title track stands out especially with it's airy beginning and the shift in the middle of the song that absolutely explodes into apocalyptic fury. The slower moments in between the heavier tracks don't have a lot to say on their own, but really tie the album together nicely as a whole. The greatest strength of the album is scope and ambition, as it takes quite a few listens to swallow, but will give you still give you goosebumps after the 20th time you've listened to it. Easily the best album of 2013 so far, and I don't see it being beat. Expand
  25. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    As the other reviews, and my own personal experience, infer, Sunbather is an impossible album to classify as one specific kind of music. Though the screamed vocal and pounding guitars suggest their earlier black metal, the slowed down moments of the album are clearly more attuned to post-rock like Tortoise, and the wall-of-sound feel of a majority of the album suggests shoegazing in theAs the other reviews, and my own personal experience, infer, Sunbather is an impossible album to classify as one specific kind of music. Though the screamed vocal and pounding guitars suggest their earlier black metal, the slowed down moments of the album are clearly more attuned to post-rock like Tortoise, and the wall-of-sound feel of a majority of the album suggests shoegazing in the vein of My Bloody Valentine. However, one thing that is certain is that this album is one of the most unique and emotionally intense (almost too much so) additions to metal ever, and is hopefully the sign of a new movement in metal music to bring to a new level of art (since, in my opinion, most metal now barely qualifies as music, much less art). If I was to describe this album to someone interested, the only comparison I could possibly think of is that it like Explosions in the Sky if they released a heavy metal album. Expand
  26. Jun 1, 2016
    10
    This is possibly the most polarizing album I've ever seen/heard. In my opinion, this album is an instant classic. I remember listening to this the day it came out and being in complete awe after it was over. I still feel the same way nearly 3 years later. The sad part is that it doesn't seem like 3 years since it came out. "The Pecan Tree" and "Sunbather" are particularly noteworthy.This is possibly the most polarizing album I've ever seen/heard. In my opinion, this album is an instant classic. I remember listening to this the day it came out and being in complete awe after it was over. I still feel the same way nearly 3 years later. The sad part is that it doesn't seem like 3 years since it came out. "The Pecan Tree" and "Sunbather" are particularly noteworthy.

    Sure it may take some inspirations from here and there, but ultimately it turns it into something new. Really and truly and album of this caliber only comes out once or twice a decade, and I'm so thankful for it. Overall, I think that the majority giving it bad reviews don't understand the music or haven't given it the time. It's both accessible and inaccessible at the same time. If you're not into this type of music, its quite hard to get into. If you have somewhat of a background in 90's screamo and a little metal, you'll fall in love. This album is one of my favorites in a long time. It's a trippy, trancy, hazy, heavy wonderland of an album. I can understand not digging it, but I think anyone passing it up because of the "hipster metal" description that this album has apparently developed is seriously closed-minded and missing out on one of this decade's best albums
    Expand
  27. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    Black metal, shoegaze, emo/sceamo, hardcore, and post-punk. Throw all those genres together and to most bands would completely butcher, but for Deafheaven, it's one of the most ambitious, loud, and beautiful records of 2012 so far. Sunbather is a hit from left field, completely throwing you for a loop the first few times you listen to it. Patience unravels this album with bliss. It's aBlack metal, shoegaze, emo/sceamo, hardcore, and post-punk. Throw all those genres together and to most bands would completely butcher, but for Deafheaven, it's one of the most ambitious, loud, and beautiful records of 2012 so far. Sunbather is a hit from left field, completely throwing you for a loop the first few times you listen to it. Patience unravels this album with bliss. It's a rewarding record once you understand it and it clicks. It's an hour long album consisting of only seven tracks that absolutely assault the senses from start to finish. The times they decide to slow down and have soft melodic instruments also show off some of the best parts.

    All In All, Sunbather is a great record that will be looked upon highly a few years from now. B+
    Expand
  28. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    Lots of genre junkies will hate this because it is not purely this or that. Don't fuss so much guys, open your mind and ears and just listen to the complexity, beauty and skill offered by Deafheaven on this new release.
  29. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    It's annoying seeing people rating this album while prefacing "Was never a big fan of metal to begin with" blah blah blah. Then what were you expecting?
  30. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    A great metal album, rock album, noise, progressive rock, whatever you want to call it. I like that it uses influences from many other sounds in the same family while making them seem coherent. Though some tracks steer too traditionally to it’s family members and even sounding similar to some of the tracks on the same album, this LP is a great listen for long time metal fans, and is evenA great metal album, rock album, noise, progressive rock, whatever you want to call it. I like that it uses influences from many other sounds in the same family while making them seem coherent. Though some tracks steer too traditionally to it’s family members and even sounding similar to some of the tracks on the same album, this LP is a great listen for long time metal fans, and is even accessible to those not as familiar to the genre. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 2, 2013
    90
    Sunbather is an emotionally overwhelming but truly absorbing listen. But best of all, it’s cleansing.
  2. Aug 12, 2013
    60
    The mood stays ominous, even as sonic details thrill headphone-equipped headbangers.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    90
    Many bands go through their entire career without making an album as well crafted, fully realized, and downright gorgeous as Sunbather, and somehow, Deafheaven have managed to nail it on their second outing, with an album that seems to get bigger and more affective with each listen.