User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 2 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexV
    Apr 14, 2009
    9
    A wonderful piece of art that is unique in its own way. Silversun didnt try to make an over the top album, they made a dark, mysterious, powerful album with Brian Aubert's (vocalist/lead guitarist) high voltage and innovative guitar playing and the rest of band playing just as hard. Then it becomes a delicate and quiet sound. A bold album that will grow on you just as Carnavas. 9/10
  2. MattN
    Apr 19, 2009
    8
    A gorgeous album. Great continuation of the Carnavas sound with some new layers. The addition of an orchestra to tracks is great, if a little overdone in places. It's let down by the order of the songs, the best ones are all in the first half. Not an immediate album, but a real grower that gets under your skin.
  3. StephenL
    May 4, 2009
    8
    On Swoon SSPU are great, i wish i could elaborate in some over the top literary manner but i'm kinda struggling for the appropriate wording. Carnavas and Pikul do the slow songs much better, but this one has the hard and heavy ones down. My only complaint is that draining sounds a little underworked. Its not bad but could have been agood bit more. enjoy though great album!!
  4. whatever
    May 9, 2009
    8
    interesting reviews. sound too much like the smashing pumpkins? hmmm no...there are hints yes, but one cannot deny their influences. do heavy metal bands get criticized for sounding too much like black sabbath? this is something i have been waiting for the last few years: rock with a pulse. you can feel this music, as opposed to just listening to it. rock on.
  5. Miguelo
    Apr 14, 2009
    10
    It's a great album, just when all the bands are forgetting to really rock and we are drowned with beats and synts.
  6. JamieW
    Apr 14, 2009
    9
    What a surprise, Pitchfork talking bollocks again. 'They sound too much like themselves'? Is that supposed to be a sniggering dig at the band or is it meant to have weighty, intelligent meaning? Either way, it's an embaressingly written summation.
  7. Joe
    May 24, 2009
    10
    This is the band's best release yet. I really don't see similarities with them and the Pumpkins and I am a fan of both.
  8. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    This album changed the way I look at life. Brian Aubert performed strong vocals and the rest of the band completely blew me away with their instrumentals.
  9. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    Silversun Pickups have this distinct way of playing music that I have never heard any other band play. The guitar sounds so different and I've never heard a guitar sound the way it does until I heard this album. It's pretty neat. But anyways, Swoon is a pretty good album. Every song is catchy and the rock and roll single "Panic Switch" is one of the best rock songs I've ever heard. BrianSilversun Pickups have this distinct way of playing music that I have never heard any other band play. The guitar sounds so different and I've never heard a guitar sound the way it does until I heard this album. It's pretty neat. But anyways, Swoon is a pretty good album. Every song is catchy and the rock and roll single "Panic Switch" is one of the best rock songs I've ever heard. Brian Aubert has a great voice and it sorta sounds like Billy Corgan. All In All, Silversun Pickup's "Swoon is a worthy album and I recommend it. B+ Expand
  10. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    This is the best album ever! The vocals are great! The songs are amazing and well written! The cd is pure gold and the only cd (not counting metacritic cause i rate it different on here) that ive given a 10
  11. May 25, 2012
    9
    Swoon is the album that made me love SSPU. From the emotional "Growing Old Is Getting Old" to the upbeat, distortion and effects-heavy "Panic Switch", this album is fantastic. My only gripe is that I felt "Surrounded" was a somewhat average song in an almost perfect record, which brought down the score a bit for me. This is still one of my favorite albums and I would recommend this recordSwoon is the album that made me love SSPU. From the emotional "Growing Old Is Getting Old" to the upbeat, distortion and effects-heavy "Panic Switch", this album is fantastic. My only gripe is that I felt "Surrounded" was a somewhat average song in an almost perfect record, which brought down the score a bit for me. This is still one of my favorite albums and I would recommend this record to anyone and everyone. Expand
  12. Feb 13, 2014
    10
    The Puckups, well, pick up a lot of flack for sounding like Gish-y Pumpkins, but this album has an atmosphere- a density- that calls to mind a Kevin Shields production. Still, solid songwriting and the ability to manipulate mood really shine through the dense sonic fog. "The Royal We" is our favorite track, but "Panic Switch" gets the most attention, perhaps for its urgent delivery.The Puckups, well, pick up a lot of flack for sounding like Gish-y Pumpkins, but this album has an atmosphere- a density- that calls to mind a Kevin Shields production. Still, solid songwriting and the ability to manipulate mood really shine through the dense sonic fog. "The Royal We" is our favorite track, but "Panic Switch" gets the most attention, perhaps for its urgent delivery. Overall, Swoon tastefully serves up a well-balanced tracklist, leaving the listener full after 51 minutes of flavor. Producer Dave Cooley seems to be the secret ingredient as evidenced by the lack of flavor in SSP's Cooley-free third album. So, don't write reviews when you're hungry, but do pickup this album and listen all the way through. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Swoon, then, is a mixed listening experience, with the solemnity and over-seriousness of the general tone and the occasionally grating nature of that voice being more or less mitigated by some lovely melodies and first-rate guitar riffs.
  2. Swoon improves on the Pickups' 2006 debut, Carnavas, with less slavish writing and more articulated dynamics.
  3. 70
    The Pickups also pile on the sophomore-album enhancements here, deepening a sound that scarcely wanted for depth beforehand.